Raging_Squiggle Deckspert

Hello all! Squiggle here. I've played Magic for a little while now, and started in Born of the Gods. People are usually surprised that I'm still technically a new player with the experience and how I play.

My first deck was the pre-built mill deck from Gatecrash(?). I enjoyed it a lot, but have since expanded my views and play styles.

I now mainly focus on playing commander (EDH), but I do still have 60 card casual decks. You can most commonly find me on the Q&A; area of the site.

I am technically a Rules Adviser, but officially not since the Rules Advisor test was taken down. Right now I'm working towards my L1 exam and eventually becoming an L1 judge, so if any questions arise, I will do my best to answer them! It'll help with my knowledge and experience for the exam. :)

Welcome to my profile, and as always, have good draws!

Please login to comment

Also, in the future, please ask unrelated questions in separate threads.

January 21, 2017 1:27 p.m.

Said on Is Primal Vigor ......

#2

Your answer lies within.

January 21, 2017 12:14 a.m.

If you mean you'll have a total of 6 (because you already had 3), then yes.

If you mean that the second Pummeler entering will give you 6 counters (in addition to what you already have), then no. Once again, whenever an ability references its own name in its ability, it doesn't include other permanents you control that may have the same name. It only means "this card that had the ability on it trigger."

January 19, 2017 1:35 p.m.

Yes. It's trigger condition is whenever a clue is sacrificed. If multiple clues are sacrificed at the same time, it will trigger that many times.

January 19, 2017 12:35 p.m.

702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. "Equip [cost]" means "[Cost]: Attach this Equipment to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery."

You can equip it to any creature you control. It doesn't have to be another creature. Note that the equipment itself will not unattach itself, its equip ability will simply do nothing.

January 18, 2017 9:26 p.m.

Electrostatic Pummeler

Whenever a card references itself in its text, it's inferring "this card right here that the ability is on." It doesn't also affect other cards you control that may have the same name. Otherwise it'd say something like Detention Sphere, where it specifically mentions other cards named "this card".

January 18, 2017 3:31 p.m.

Sources to peruse:

116.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that players mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.

305.1. A player who has priority may play a land card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesnt use the stack (see rule 115). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesnt go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players cant respond to it with instants or activated abilities.

January 17, 2017 2:17 p.m.

In order to change steps and phases, each player must pass priority in succession without taking an action.

This means that in order for the active player to move from the draw step to main phase 1, he/she must pass priority to their opponent. This gives them the opportunity to cast a Lightning Bolt or similar spell to destroy your creature.

Note that if the opponent chooses to wait and not to cast Lightning Bolt on the draw step, it will be too late. This is because the active player gets priority at the start of main phase 1, and playing a land for the turn is a special action that cannot be responded to.

January 17, 2017 2:12 p.m.

Metallic Mimic.

From Gatherer:

2/9/2017 If a creature entering the battlefield wont have the chosen type until another cards effect gives it that type after it has entered the battlefield, it wont enter with a +1/+1 counter. Creatures that have the chosen type due to their own abilities, such as a second Metallic Mimic with the same creature type chosen, will enter with a +1/+1 counter.

January 17, 2017 11:36 a.m.

Note that its ability does trigger and goes on the stack, but it is removed from the stack due to lack of legal target.

January 16, 2017 2:48 p.m.

If X=1, so the CMC of Spell Burst was 2, then Redirect would be a legal target for also having a CMC of 2. Otherwise, Redirect isn't a legal target.

January 15, 2017 7:47 p.m.

8/15/2010 You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you cant choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

Because Spell Burst has to target a spell with CMC 5, you can't change its target to Redirect because Redirect isn't a legal target.

You could, however, use Misdirection instead, as that would be a legal target because it's CMC is also 5.

January 15, 2017 6:30 p.m.

The Abyss is great at stalling.

January 15, 2017 3:08 p.m.

Source:

116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.

116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends.

608.1. Each time all players pass in succession, the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves. (See rule 609, Effects.)

January 14, 2017 9:37 p.m.

In order for each object to resolve off the stack, each player, starting with the active player, must pass priority in succession. This happens for each object on the stack, so each player will get priority before the next object resolves.

January 14, 2017 9:34 p.m.

Also note that the stack doesn't resolve at once. Each object on the stack resolves one at a time in reverse order in which they entered the stack, with a round of priority in between each one.

January 14, 2017 3:30 p.m.

Question like this should be asked in the Q&A section.

As stated, Conjurer's Closet can only target a creature you control.

When Conjurer's Closet's ability attempts to resolve, it will see its target is no longer a legal one, because you no longer control it, and will fizzle. None of its effects will occur.

January 14, 2017 3:29 p.m.

No. Animating Sarkhan does not make him re-enter the battlefield. He's only changing/adding characteristics, which doesn't cause him to leave and re-enter.

January 13, 2017 11:58 a.m.

Also note that a player doesn't control any cards that aren't on the battlefield, he/she owns them.

January 12, 2017 8:14 p.m.

Said on Nissa's Judgment...

#20

701.5a To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesnt resolve and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owners graveyard.

January 12, 2017 8:12 p.m.

Decks

Blue Player May I?

Commander / EDH Raging_Squiggle

SCORE: 13 | 1 COMMENT | 1766 VIEWS | IN 8 FOLDERS

And the Earth Shall Tremble

Commander / EDH Raging_Squiggle

SCORE: 10 | 21 COMMENTS | 1620 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS

Enchantments. All the time.

Commander / EDH Raging_Squiggle

SCORE: 8 | 15 COMMENTS | 794 VIEWS | IN 4 FOLDERS

Ulamog's Antiquities

Commander / EDH* Raging_Squiggle

SCORE: 10 | 26 COMMENTS | 1495 VIEWS | IN 4 FOLDERS

Ring Around the Rosey...

Commander / EDH Raging_Squiggle

SCORE: 19 | 9 COMMENTS | 4470 VIEWS | IN 19 FOLDERS

Bio Digital Jazz

Commander / EDH Raging_Squiggle

SCORE: 3 | 18 COMMENTS | 352 VIEWS

Finished Decks 59
Prototype Decks 11
Drafts 0
Playing since Born of the Gods
Avg. deck rating 5.00
T/O Rank 10
Helper Rank 314
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Planechase, Casual
Good Card Suggestions 266
Venues Uncle's Games Bellevue, Games and Gizmos, Uncles Games Redmond, Mox Boarding House, Let's Play! Cafe
Last activity 1 day
Joined 2 years