Unmake

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Duel Decks: Sorin vs. Tibalt (DDK) Common
Archenemy (ARC) None
Eventide (EVE) Common
Promo Set (000) Common

Combos Browse all

Unmake

Instant

Exile target creature.

Unmake Discussion

BS-T on Lost - a challenge of ...

1 week ago

OK so I'd not been active on TO for a little while and after clearing up a bunch of notifications I popped over to my list of decks to find.... this nonsense:

I'd titled the list: "Lost".

Now. I'm pretty sure I've only stuck a 5c commander into the list because I had to put something, however, I now have no memory or idea what I was thinking of or where this was going - any thoughts on what my connection was!!??

Deathfeather1321 on Long may she reign *Optimized*

2 weeks ago

Crib Swap was a consideration of mine, and if I were to put in 1 kill spell, that would be it. I need colors, so Arcane Lighthouse is a no-go. Unmake is a little color restrictive as well, but still good. I may run it but again, Crib Swap is on a whole new level.

Azeworai on Long may she reign *Optimized*

2 weeks ago

Unmake is good, too.

Rhadamanthus on Who gets priority in the ...

3 weeks ago

Yes, the play you want to make will work.

The key thing to know is that declaring blockers is the very first thing that happens at the beginning of the declare blockers step. This means that if anyone wants to do something that could affect the declaration of blockers, they need to do it before the declare blockers step actually starts. Also, the game can only move on to the next step or phase of the turn if all players pass over an empty stack. If your opponent crews Smuggler's Copter before declaring blockers, you will be able to Unmake it before the game moves on to the declare blockers step.

cdkime on Who gets priority in the ...

3 weeks ago

Kogarashi already mentioned this in their post, but "you will still gain priority at least once between your opponent crewing Smuggler's Copter and your opponent declaring it as a blocker, and thus be able to cast Unmake on it."

Since you seem a bit confused on this point, I wanted to elaborate a bit on this. At the risk of being over-informative, I'm going to cover the basics as well.

Players can only cast spells when they have priority. Times when players gain priority are carefully defined within the rules. Within a round of priority, the active player begins with priority; they then can cast spells, activate abilities, or pass priority to the next player in APNAP order. When all players pass priority while the stack is empty, you move to the next step or phase of the game. If all players pass priority while something is on the stack, the top item on the stack resolves, then the active player gains priority. (Rule 116 and subsections).

In this case, there is a round of priority during the Declare Attackers Step (Rule 508.2). You pass priority during this step to your opponent, who activates Smuggler's Copter 's crew ability. Until this ability resolves, Smuggler's Copter is not a creature.

Priority passes back to you with the crew ability on the stack. You pass priority and the ability resolves and the Smuggler's Copter becomes a creature.

You now gain priority. Here is when you will cast Unmake , targeting the Smuggler's Copter . If they do not have an answer, the Unmake will resolve, and the Smuggler's Copter will be exiled.

Priority passes back to you. You pass priority; they pass priority; you move on to the step where they will declare their blockers. At this point, the Smuggler's Copter has been exiled, so is not able to block your creatures.

vic on Who gets priority in the ...

3 weeks ago

Kogarashi, we were typing at the same time. Yes, I do know to say "Going to combat..." before declaring attackers. But thanks. So how exactly will I go about making it work? When do I cast my Unmake ?

vic on Who gets priority in the ...

3 weeks ago

Thanks Madcookie. That's helpful to know. But it begs a followup question. Since my opponent, in this scenario, will obviously be able to crew his Copter during the Declare Attackers step (assuming he knows the rules), is there some way that I CAN use my Unmake to get rid of the Smuggler's Copter and make it so that my flyer is unblocked and deals damage? That's what I'm really after, here.

Kogarashi on Who gets priority in the ...

3 weeks ago

The short answer is this: you will still gain priority at least once between your opponent crewing Smuggler's Copter and your opponent declaring it as a blocker, and thus be able to cast Unmake on it.

With Madcookie's explanation, it's important to note that you can't shortcut straight to declaring attackers in order to prevent your opponent from doing something in the beginning of combat step. If you skip from your first main phase to saying something like, "And now I attack with this creature," your opponent is allowed to say "Wait, before you declare attacks, I do this thing." Best to first indicate you're moving to combat so they can opt to do things during the beginning of combat step if they want (such as killing that Ballista Charger before it can be declared as an attacker).

Load more

Unmake occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.01%