Select for Inspection

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Kaladesh (KLD) Common

Combos Browse all

Select for Inspection

Instant

Return target tapped creature to it's owner's hand. Scry 1.

Select for Inspection Discussion

eyes2sky on Temur Ramp

3 weeks ago

Since you have such heavy draw and land fetch I think your deck might benefit from cards like Arboreal Grazer , Elvish Pioneer or Explore . Some other helpful creatures might be: Augur of Bolas or Spellkeeper Weird . As for your win-conditions I could see adding a couple Fireball 's to the list. On the control/creature hate side, I think adding some removal like Select for Inspection or Lightning Bolt could easily fit in.

Iehovah on I Made a deck but ...

9 months ago

Sideboards are where you put your more narrow answers that might be good against a few decks.

Aethersphere Harvester against aggro

Sleep Against tokens

Also it could be handy to have different removal like:

Deep Freeze, Ice Over, Expel from Orazca, Select for Inspection, or Spell Pierce.

Good luck

BioProfDude on Mono-blue Tempest Djinn

1 year ago

hardhitta71194, thanks for the suggestions! I'll consider those carefully and play around with the deck!

I like Select for Inspection as it gets an attacking creature and allows me to scry (that's the part I like-- the scry), but it's true that not all creatures are necessarily attacking and thus aren't targets (e.g., sometimes freakin' The Scarab God just sits there and does its BS).

Yeah, adding additional Negates to the side does seem like a pretty good idea. What do you think of Syncopate? Seems like it could be good???

hardhitta71194 on Mono-blue Tempest Djinn

1 year ago

Looks good to me! I’m not sure about Select for Inspection, too conditional for a bounce spell, I would run the full 4x Blink of an Eye.

I would also add some Negates to the sideboard for control mirrors. (I love a good control mirror)

belugawhaleonthefloor on

1 year ago

I would add a playset of Glistener Elf as well. Probably take out the Cornucopias for them because Im not sure what purpose they play in this deck. (Its too slow and you dont reall need ramp.) Another reason for adding the Elves is because having only 8 creatures is way too risky especially since they are so weak. A lot of decks now are running playsets of Fatal Push which would just destroy all your creatures. ALSO, if you add glistener elf, youll actually be able to get a turn 2 win. Forest, Glistener Elf on turn 1, and two Groundswell or Might of Old Krosa and a Mutagenic Growth on turn two, swing for 11 infect.

Also, Invigorate is another free spell and the life gain doesnt effect poison counters, so it wont matter.

I would also recommend Unsummon over Select for Inspection. Being able to bounce a blocker is way better than being able to Scry 1.

magicsheep on 1st Control

1 year ago

Unsummon or Select for Inspection are strictly better than Galestrike. Frankly, Depths of Desire isn't worth leaving 3 mana open to only gain a treasure for Unsummon.

ellie-is on Approach of the Second Counterspell

1 year ago

Very fun! I played against a similar deck a while back (and it kicked my butt), and one thing it did that helped it a lot besides the control aspects, is that it did a looot of scrying. Maybe look into things like Opt, Perilous Voyage, Select for Inspection, Mystic Speculation, Preordain and Serum Visions. That way you can keep throwing things back to the bottom until you draw your Approach of the Second Sun if you don't have one in hand already.

Also: Echoing Truth > Boomerang. It can clear a board out of tokens, get rid of creatures that your opponent has in multiples, and costs 1U instead of UU, good since you have two colors. Not being able to bounce lands is usually not much of a problem. And a personal favorite of mine for this kind of thing is Vapor Snag, but whether or not that's good for this deck is up to you.

Podkomorka on Pauper EDH Deck Compendium

1 year ago

@wraya2 I recall some removal that hits tapped creatures. Betrayal, Excoriate, Select for Inspection, Sheer Drop, Stonybrook Schoolmaster, Theft of Dreams. You can run creatures with Inspired to reap their abilities.

Load more

No data for this card yet.