Select for Inspection

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Casual Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Kaladesh (KLD) Common

Combos Browse all

Select for Inspection

Instant

Return target tapped creature to it's owner's hand. Scry 1.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

KLD

Ebay

Have (2) hosshughes , Falte
Want (1) Myris

Select for Inspection Discussion

OpenFire_V2 on Grixis control

6 days ago

For speed I would recommend getting your hands on more cheap ramp. Sol Ring (obviously), the other signets. For performance mostly I would try to identify the cards that don't do enough or don't fit with the plan of the deck and looking for cheap replacements. Select for Inspection or Spiteful Motives are examples of each. Some sorts of cards I'd recommend looking at are more board wipes and more counterspells, especially "hard" ones like Counterspell itself. Mostly you should be trying to exchange conditional cards for better value ones.

djnewellmit on The Ex-Wife Strikes Again

1 week ago

For sideboard options, my favorite cards right now are Aethersphere Harvester against any aggro decks, and Lifecrafter's Bestiary against just about everything else. You could almost swap out Rashmi, Eternities Crafter in the mainboard for two Lifecrafter's Bestiary in your current build since you are generating most of your value with creatures, not instants; I would definitely consider sideboarding her out against any black or red matchup that will bring in more creature removal in the second game.

Unsummon and Select for Inspection can also help against aggro decks, but be wary about returning creatures with good ETB triggers. These spells can also be used to protect your own creatures.

supersalamandar on SuperBait181 V2

1 month ago

Unstable Obelisk- Its mana intensive to do, but this effect is very valuable to have in your colors. I recommend having it just in case.

Bedlam Reveler- A very good topdeck late in the game, as well as an efficent beater for that refills your hand. Not so good if you're early on and dont have self mill

Bloodwater Entity- for a Reclaim and an evasive body with prowess is not a bad rate. Downside of course is having to use your jori trigger or a cantrip to get the card into your hand (but thats not so hard).

Jace, Vryn's Prodigy  Flip- Card selection is King. This fuels your delve spells and smooths out your draws in the early game, while relieving pressure and ensuring you get your jori triggers late

Torrential Gearhulk- This is the only gearhulk that is seeing modern play for a reason. It lets us keep using our graveyard as a resource, while being a big body. Very often you can flash it in to block and cast a random spell in your graveyard FOR FREE to get a jori trigger. Thats a 3 for 1. And now you have a 5/6.

Chaos Warp- see Unstable Obelisk

Magma Jet- Part of my efforts to find interaction that gives card advantage. 2 damage isn't a lot, but its an instant speed play that can pick off utility creatures while giving us powerful card selection

Oona's Grace-Particularly powerful with your cost reducers, gives us a way to use our excess lands to hit jori triggers. Also an excellent card to discard.

Remand- Tempo play that digs you deeper. I'd probably fire this one off at the first chance i'd get.

Think Twice- Similar to Oona's Grace.

Voyage's End- Instant speed bounce with scry. Similar options discussed later.

Riptide Laboratory- mana is actually a big issue with this deck, but I think this effect is powerful enough

Anchor to the Aether- Sorcery speed, but going to the top of the library messes up your opponent's next draw, while the scry digs you further through the deck. I haven't played with this one yet, but it might be good to test.

Pieces of the Puzzle- is a lot and sorcery speed sucks, but this is a powerful draw spell that has the advantage of also filling your graveyard

Spite of Mogis- This is the addition that I am most proud of. I can't believe we didn't know this card existed.

Desperate Ravings- Good rate on this card and instant speed with flashback is nice. random is bad though

Lat-Nam's Legacy- similar rate to Desperate Ravings, but doesn't get you the card immediately

Perilous Voyage- Excellent if it hits something with cmc or less, underwhelming if not. Meta call. Also note that it has cyclonic rift's restriction.

Repulse-Bounce with draw. I think this is the best rate for this effect.

Select for Inspection-A bit troublesome to use, but the scry bounce for only is nice

Stymied Hopes- I'd consider this one a tempo play. Hit the first thing you can, so you can get that sweet sweet scry.

Unsubstantiate- Versatile spell, but the lack of card advantage on it is a minus

Baral's Expertise- Big bounce spell, will trigger Jori. But costs .

Mystic Speculation- Could be ok. Scry 3 is a lot, but thats all it does. I dont see you buying this back all that often.

Shreds of Sanity- 2 cards back for 3 mana + a card. Sounds interesting

Strategic Planning- sorcery speed impulse, but fills your yard.

Void Snare- 1 mana bounce

Argy on UB control - you shall not cast

1 month ago

Trespasser's Curse isn't effective against some decks.

It got my Worthy Minotaurs deck down to 11, but by that time I was hitting for 13 each go, so I didn't care.

I would replace it with a good, old fashioned, Cancel.

Nowhere near as good as Disallow, but a thousand times cheaper/easier to grab.

Fetid Pools would be an excellent add, unless you are aiming for most of your lands to enter untapped. 3 or 4 would be ideal.

It does help Drowned Catacomb to enter untapped (as it is an Island and a Swamp), and the draw it allows in the mid to late game is not to be underestimated.

I would swap a Select for Inspection for another Walk the Plank. It's good to return a Creature to hand, but better to outright get rid of it.

You struggle against Creature-heavy decks. Returning Creatures to hand only stalls for so long. You need to include some more Win Conditions (win cons).

Dreamcaller Siren might be worth looking at. It fits your disruption theme and gives you another flier. Siren Stormtamer helps to trigger its tap effect.

Oh, and your Sideboard obviously needs to be whittled down to 15 cards.

musicman3310 on Grixis Stockholm Syndrome

3 months ago

I had something similar to this but it was really focused on Hostage Taker and Gonti, Lord of Luxury blinking with things like Siren's Ruse, Select for Inspection and even Baral's Expertise. I'm transitioning from Modern to Standard and would like some advice.


Luxury Taker

Standard* musicman3310

SCORE: 1 | 6 COMMENTS | 95 VIEWS


Also +1 from me for this awesome deck.

Rex_JB24 on Riddle Wrapped in an Enigma!

3 months ago

Select for Inspection is strictly better than Unsummon and you should be running it instead.

Rex_JB24 on Standard Counter/Energy Deck

3 months ago

Four copies of Select for Inspection. This is strictly better than Unsummon but for your purposes should probable replace all three Disperse and only one of the Unsummon.

William333 on Ye Olde Mill

3 months ago

It looks like you've found all the playable mill cards in standard right now. Unfortunately, black doesn't have much to offer, so it might not be worth including. It provides some removal options, but since you only really need to slow down your opponent, blue will probably be good enough on its own.

I'm not sure how good counterspells will end up being. Things like Engulf the Shore will probably work better just because counterspells require you to leave mana unused "just in case" but you're going to want to play your mill cards.

If you want the deck legal in standard, Battle for Zendikar and Shadows Over Innistrad will be rotating out once Ixalan comes out. On the bright side, Ixalan features Fleet Swallower and Navigator's Ruin.

Some cards suggestions: Desert of the Mindful, Decision Paralysis, Galestrike, Imaginary Threats, Select for Inspection

Load more