|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Commander 2019 (C19)||Mythic Rare|
|Khans of Tarkir (KTK)||Mythic Rare|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Shapeshifter
You may have Clever Impersonator enter the battlefield as a copy of any nonland permanent on the battlefield.
|Have (5)||pskinn01 , , Forkbeard , CampbellStev , Cosmonautilis|
|Want (7)||earthwave97 , Taylosun , fernz , Skinanbones , looneyclan , Ellana , vallis|
Clever Impersonator Discussion
1 day ago
Personally, I think you're only looking at the ceiling of the walkers and not all of what they do. You won't always be ahead. Hell, sometimes you won't even be able to stick a Walker more than a turn or someone may have such an impressive lead on resources and you need to answer it or you lose; ugin offers that utility. Not sure what your pods or play groups bring to the table but being able to nuke a harvester-animar board or getting rid of the core pieces of a Yisan deck feels fantastic and it clears the way to dump more walkers. Also, Liliana, Dreadhorde General does not out right win the game; it's a tremendous tempo swing but they still get to keep one of each permanent type and all resources will be pointed at you. You have about as much of a chance to whiff with Ral Zarek as you do with ugin. However, ugin is already digging you deeper than Ral Zarek . Even if you win every coin flip without the aid of anything else you're going to only be going 5 deeper. Ugin gets you 7 deep and you don't have to commit any mana to playing out permanents. Jace, Architect of Thought does a lot for 4 mana; mini fact or fiction, soft locks go wide token decks and has an almost game winning ultimate.
5 days ago
I'm thinking of removing Brainstorm , Leafcrown Dryad , Whispersilk Cloak , Sigil of the Empty Throne , Clever Impersonator , Rampant Growth , Explosive Vegetation , Growth Spiral , Long-Term Plans , Hubris , Enlightened Tutor , Nylea's Colossus and Finest Hour .
For Song of the Dryads , Kenrith's Transformation , Metamorphic Alteration , All That Glitters , Ethereal Armor , Argothian Enchantress , Arcane Signet , Darksteel Mutation , Frogify , Kasmina's Transmutation , Skyshroud Claim , Duelist's Heritage and Farseek
1 week ago
Shared Animosity I'd use over Coat of Arms.
You also have access to Clone s. Stunt Double , Spark Double , Dack's Duplicate , and Clever Impersonator are some of your better budget friendly options. Seeing as this is pretty casual, also consider Altered Ego .
2 weeks ago
Lastly, if my first suggestion for adding mana rocks is taken, you should be able to reduce your land count to ~39 and add more cards in their place. These are my suggestions for those swaps: Crypt of the Eternals < Toxic Deluge , Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth < Swiftwater Cliffs < Clever Impersonator , Highland Lake < Negate
2 weeks ago
As Clever Impersonator enters the battlefield and becomes copy of something he is considered to be identical copy of that permanent. He assumes the copied object color, type, mana cost, and if its a planeswalker even his starting loyalty. So in your case as long as he is copying Rhystic Study he isn't considered a creature, but a blue enchantment with CMC=3. On the other hand Mimic Vat can only exile objects (I'm saying objects as that includes manifested instants for example) that are creatures while on the battlefield. Therefore when he is destroyed he doesn't trigger "whenever nontoken creature dies" ability of Mimic Vat and cannot be exiled. The only on-death triggers that would be triggered are from something like Starfield Mystic .
2 weeks ago
Your Mimic Vat doesn't trigger. "Dies" abilities are leaves-the-battlefield abilities that are specifically when a creature is put into a graveyard. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities are one of a few different types of abilities that use how objects existed before the trigger event to determine if they trigger. Your Clever Impersonator was not a creature on the battlefield.
603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:
603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.
2 weeks ago
So, let's imagine this scenario: I'm playing EDH and I have a Clever Impersonator copying my opponent's Rhystic Study . My opponent which has a Mimic Vat destroys my "rhystic study". Does it triggers the Mimic Vat, or another death trigger when the impersonator goes to the graveyard?
4 weeks ago
Riku has two abilities that are great, the trick to him is either balancing these two synergies or picking one and going all-in on it. and using the other as a bonus. Yours feels like you want to lean more towards the creatures, which is great but you'll probably want a couple more beefy critters. Just my opinion, but I have suggested some good synergies below for you
Clever Impersonator occurrence in decks from the last year
Commander / EDH:
All decks: 0.05%