|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Commander 2016 (C16)||Rare|
|Promo Set (000)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Creature — Human Wizard
Evolve (Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, if that creature has greater power or toughness than this creature, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.)
Whenever a +1/+1 counter is placed on Fathom Mage, you may draw a card.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (40)||Pelli , Mousemke , jstn.mrrtt , buildingadeck , silvereh , TThors , DarkMagician , joshw335 , bakunet , The_Munchkin , twistedmage , killstars , Reliva , Dyobsemaj , saj0219 , pskinn01 , mazrimtaim , philktoken8998 , vashaclarens , mziter501 , orzhov_is_relatively_okay819 , ShishkyBob , REV666 , Tiddilywinkus , Hootiequack , accioali , Nemesis , Friedrice24 , frederiklw , thetechzombie , Unlife , darthnuchi , bradyofportdetroit , Famicomania , Espi14 , rockleemyhero , acbooster , AlucardZain , Swamy , rakdos24|
Fathom Mage Discussion
3 weeks ago
Yes. The phrase "enters the battlefield with" is a Replacement Effect, defined by Rule 614 (the relevant subsections are 614.1 and 614.1c).
Replacement effects change how a card fundamentally works. In this case, the replacement effect means the creature actualizes on the battlefield with X counters, where X is Master Biomancer's power.
As such, the creature enters the battlefield as a 4/4, triggering Fathom Mage.
Let's look at a slightly different example, by way of contrast. Cathars' Crusade triggers when a creature enters the battlefield. This card triggers in response to a creature entering the battlefield. The new creature would enter as a 2/2, failing to trigger Fathom Mage, as the counter would be placed after the creature actualizes as a permanent.
Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615), replacement effects apply continuously as events happenthey arent locked in ahead of time. Such effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event with a different event. They act like shields around whatever theyre affecting.
Effects that read [This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . , As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . , or [This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . are replacement effects.
3 weeks ago
Because the new creature enters the battlefield with counters, as opposed to entering and then getting counters, it will trigger abilities based on the modified power/toughness. Fathom Mage will evolve.
3 weeks ago
If I have Master Biomancer and Fathom Mage on the field and I play a creature whose original power and toughness are equal to fathom mages current power and toughness but then gets boosted above her power and toughness due to master biomancer being on the field, will that then also trigger fathom mage to get the counters?
3 weeks ago
Not to be a creeper, but I saw your questions pop up on the comment stream, and wanted to provide you a swift answer, particularly since the person whose profile you posted on has had no activity for 2 years.
When Channeler Initiate enters the battlefield, you can place the counters either on itself or on another creature you control. Generally you will want to put the counters onto Channeler Initiate.
You must remove -1/-1 counters from Chaneller Initiate to activate its second ability--you cannot remove them from any other creature. The removal of a -1/-1 counter from Channeler Initiate is an additional cost, and must be paid for the ability to be activated. If Channeller Initiate has no -1/-1 counters, you cannot activate the ability.
Regarding your Fathom Mage question, no, you will not receive +1/+1 counters if you remove -1/-1 counters from it. +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters cancel one another out--they are equally removed from the creature. Rule 121.3 (reproduced below). In this situation, Fathom Mage would merely be a 1/1, with no counters on it.
Rule 121.3. If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it as a state-based action, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it. See rule 704.
As a sidebar, if you have questions about the rules, I highly recommend the Rules Q&A section of this website. There are plenty of knowledgeable, helpful individuals who will quickly provide the answers you need.
3 weeks ago
A technical question came up as I was going over this deck. Channeler Initiate confuses me because it says to place the -1/-1c's on a target creature you control, then to tap Channeler Initiate to remove a -1/-1c from itself. If it actually is meant to say tap Channeler Initiate and remove -1/-1c from the target creature, I wonder about something else. If Fathom Mage has three +1/+1c on it, then Channeler Initiateenters the battlefield placing three -1/-1c on Fathom Mage with the "tap to remove one -1/-1c for mana" ability, would each removal of a -1/-1c mean the addition of a +1/+1c, and so a card pickup from Fathom Mage's inherent ability? And if that's the case, would it be multiplied by Corpsejack Menace and Hardened Scales?
Or, you can only remove -1/-1 counters from Chaneller initiate even though you can place them on any creature you control?
3 weeks ago
Illusionist's Bracers would go nicely with Kumena and several of your creatures.
I don't know if there's a way to fit her in your deck, but Fathom Mage gives me always amazing results.
1 month ago
Deck looks good, I like the Hellkite, I'm gonna make two lists of suggested cards, one for combo pieces and one for value.
All of these I would 100% want in the deck
Fathom Mage*** 100% want
Farseek* good with a breeding pool
Seedborn Muse* I know this is expensive now but it's strictly better than Murkfiend Liege
Heroic Intervention* better than some of the janky +1 counter regen stuff
Uncage the Menagerie* Not 100% on this one but there's some 2 card 2 drop combos with Kraj
The stuff I'd recommend dropping are cards that aren't combo pieces, removal/protection, ramp or card draw/tutors. Cards like Nissa (that I recommend), master biomancer and forgotten ancient are good for getting the combo going, so I'd slot them in last if you've filled the combo piece etc slots. Kruphix, for example, doesn't offer anything to this deck.