Combos Browse all Suggest
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
|Commander: Rule 0||Legal|
- Excactly when does a player die?
- Dread + Michiko Konda, Truth Seeker + Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts - Can an opponent sacrifice the creature that dealt the damage? Will I always get a token from Teysa?
- Does No Mercy destroy creatures that deal damage with abilities?
- Does No Mercy trigger before Lich's Mirror?
- Interaction between Death Pits of Rath and No Mercy
Whenever a creature deals damage to you, destroy it.
1 month ago
This looks nice. I would point out though, that your 2nd method of winning (attacking with Raine) is made more difficult because of the following:
- You've only included two spells (three if you count the wipe) that can deal with taxes/restrictions on your attacks (Ghostly Prison, No Mercy, Propaganda, Sphere of Safety, Ensnaring Bridge etc.). Considering such taxation is rather popular amongst players AND the lack of tutors in the deck to find your destructive spells, this will probably be an issue. I'd therefore recommend to add more stuff that can deal with these cards like Heliod's Intervention, Banishing Light, Grasp of Fate, etc. In case you don't run into any taxes, these spells are all great to use against other stuff too, so they won't be wasted slots in any way.
- There's no protection for Raine in the deck. So every attack he does against players that have blockers, you can pretty much guarantee that he will be a primary target and will get killed. Adding some cards that ensure his survival during attacks therefore wouldn't hurt. Specifically, I'm thinking Bastion Protector, Reconnaissance, Dolmen Gate or maybe just something like Darksteel Plate.
Hope this helped, good luck with the brew.
1 month ago
In this example where both of the effects are from triggered abilities (abilities that start with one of the words "when", "whenever" or "at"), the answer depends on who controls them and whose turn it is.
If No Mercy and Dissipation Field are controlled by the same player, that player gets to choose. If multiple triggered abilities controlled by the same player are trying to go onto the stack at the same time, that player puts them onto the stack in the order of their choice. Whichever one ends up on top of the stack will resolve first and then the rest will follow in order. In your example the second trigger to resolve won't do anything since the creature it would have affected has already changed zones, causing the effect to lose track of it.
If No Mercy and Dissipation Field are controlled by different players, then the active player (the player whose turn it is) will put their trigger onto the stack first and the non-active player will put their trigger onto the stack on top of the other one. This means the non-active player's trigger will resolve first.
1 month ago
if a card is supposed to be sent to both the graveyard and your hand simultaneously, where does it go?
2 months ago
Elder Brain: slow, but could be funny
Sword of War and Peace: could help punish the card draw
you may want to up the number of counterspells to deal with the fact you're helping your opponents dig, combo decks will ruin your day.
I might trade out some of the 3 drop rocks for signets or talismans
It may not be a bad idea to have some other cheap combo line to pull off when playing against combo decks as well since you're digging so much with the draw (Consecrated Sphinx could help here too)
the big worry is needing to speed the deck up which involves somewhat expensive mana rocks:
3 months ago
3 months ago
4 months ago
what the heck is a "tax and stax war"?
also, I think that I will replace Cast Down with No Mercy considering it will counter my friend's (possible) double strike ability Atarka, his Thunderbreak Regent, and his Drakuseth, Maw of Flames, or just any dragon that manages to hit me.