Dread + Michiko Konda, Truth Seeker + Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts - Can an opponent sacrifice the creature that dealt the damage? Will I always get a token from Teysa?

Asked by ShishkyBob 4 years ago

Say I have Dread (or No Mercy ) and Michiko Konda, Truth Seeker out on the field at the same time. Opponent attacks with a creature, deals combat damage. Dread says that that creature must be destroyed. Michiko Konda, Truth Seeker says that the opponent must sacrifice a permanent. Is there a way for the opponent to sacrifice the creature that attacked before it is destroyed pursuant to Dread , thus only losing one permanent? Or do I get to control the triggered abilities (because I control the creatures and their abilities are triggered at the same time) and can put Michiko Konda, Truth Seeker 's trigger down first, then Dread 's, meaning that the creature must be destroyed, and then the opponent must sacrifice a permanent?

Relatedly, let's say I also have Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts out as well. I assume I will always get a token after being attacked by a creature and dealt combat damage, regardless of what trigger I use to destroy it (i.e., regardless of whether it was Dread , No Mercy , or Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts 's trigger that did the destruction) because the Gatherer ruling says "You get a Spirit creature token even if Teysa's triggered ability doesn’t destroy the creature (perhaps because it regenerated or has indestructible)."

merrowMania says... Accepted answer #1

For your first question, since you control both triggers, you can put them on the stack in any order. (Just as you stated:) to achieve the desired result (destruction and sacrifice),you would need to put Michiko on the stack first, then Dread. THis means Dread would resolve first, so when Michiko resolves, the creature is no longer on the battlefield.

You will always get the Teysa token because there is no intervening if clause or a need to destroy the creature to get the token.

August 27, 2016 11:58 a.m.

ShishkyBob says... #2

Perfect, that's what I thought. Thanks for confirming. I guess the only way an opponent could sacrifice the creature that dealt the damage is if the creature had indestructible and thus couldn't be destroyed by Dread, leaving it on the battlefield to be sacrificed.

August 27, 2016 12:03 p.m.

This discussion has been closed