Boss's Chauffeur

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Boss's Chauffeur

Creature — Elf Citizen

This enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters on this creature equal to one plus the number of other creatures you control.

Alliance — Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, put a +1/+1 counter on this.

When this dies, create a 1/1 green and white Citizen creature token for each +1/+1 counter on it. (Dying is being put into the graveyard from the battlefield.)

Gidgetimer on Boss's chauffeur and multiple other …

5 months ago

Accepted answers can be changed. I know that. The clone ruling is based on 614.12a, but it talks about choices being made and doesn't specify if a replacement effect modifying how a permanent enters the battlefield requires information from the game. We can use 602.8h, but again we come to the question of "is a permanent on the battlefield as it enters the battlefield?" The wording on Boss's Chauffeur sidesteps answering this by containing the word "other". It might be worth tweeting (X-ing?) Jess Dunks to find out.

614.12a If a replacement effect that modifies how a permanent enters the battlefield requires a choice, that choice is made before the permanent enters the battlefield.

608.2h If an effect requires information from the game (such as the number of creatures on the battlefield), the answer is determined only once, when the effect is applied. If the effect requires information from a specific object, including the source of the ability itself, the effect uses the current information of that object if it’s in the public zone it was expected to be in; if it’s no longer in that zone, or if the effect has moved it from a public zone to a hidden zone, the effect uses the object’s last known information. See rule 113.7a. If an ability states that an object does something, it’s the object as it exists—or as it most recently existed—that does it, not the ability.

Gidgetimer on Boss's chauffeur and multiple other …

5 months ago

My problem is that the first ability isn't an ETB, it is a replacement effect. Creatures must already be on the battlefield to replace how another creatures enters. Clone has a ruling that states "If Clone somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Clone can't become a copy of that creature. You may choose only a creature that's already on the battlefield." This ruling illustrates the point, but I can't find the comprehensive rule this is based on to cite, and Boss's Chauffeur doesn't have a similar ruling on Gatherer.

The Boss's Chauffeur will enter with one counter and then triggers will put two more on it for a total of three.

wallisface on Boss's chauffeur and multiple other …

5 months ago

yes this is how it will work.

If multiple cards enter the battlefield at the same time, they all see each-other, and count each-other for all etb abilities.

So if for example Boss's Chauffeur enters the battlefield at the same time as two other creatures (and assuming you have no other creatures in play), then Boss's Chauffeur will end up with 5 counters on it.

koylucumert on Boss's chauffeur and multiple other …

5 months ago

so Im planning to build a Nethroi, Apex of Death commander deck, and I was thinking of including boss's chauffeur because I thougth if I get Boss's Chauffeur and multiple other cards, the chauffeur will see those creatures both on the battlefield and as they enter the battlefield, and therefore will get two counters for each creature it comes together with. is this how that interaction works? if not, can someone explain what happens?

hiiii on Budget Modular

1 year ago

Ultarian No problem! I totally get that, didn't notice the budget tag haha. Boss's Chauffeur would've been great too but it's not legal in modern. Mentioning it still in case it reminds you of another card.

mx439 on Torens's Onslaught

1 year ago

In:

Botanical Plaza, Windbrisk Heights, Unbreakable Formation.

Out:

Boss's Chauffeur, Hallowed Spiritkeeper, Timely Ward.

This is just to add more lands and reduce the mana curve of the deck.

Have (0)
Want (2) mflint , AjaxSlumbering