Chromatic Star

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper Duel Commander Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Chromatic Star

Artifact

, : Sacrifice Chromatic Star: Add one mana of any colour.

When Chromatic Star is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, draw a card.

sergiodelrio on ...Take 3?

1 month ago

Here are some cards you might be interested in:

Experimental Synthesizer - this one is extra spicy, since it basically triggers twice, but suffers from the fact that it needs a sac outlet unless you wanna pay 3 extra mana.

Chromatic Star Chromatic Sphere - very similar to terrarion

Implement of Combustion

Conjurer's Bauble Mishra's Bauble

Also, since your deck is full of artifacts anyway, Galvanic Blast is a Lightning Bolt on steroids, you could put some at least in your sideboard if you ever feel like you need the interaction.

Another interesting card could be Lotus Bloom, maybe even as a 1-of to pair with Goblin Engineer.

So many possibilities - Happy brewing!

HarelNo on

6 months ago

Hey I've been wondering if abilities with Sacrifice in their cost double up with Gandalf ex: Chromatic Star will it produce 2 mana and 2 draw or just 1 mana 2 draw

Andramalech on The Iron Giant

6 months ago

Profet93 pretty sure I saw you on another one if my lists and you had great advice; nice to hear from you again!

I'd be very interested in the feedback and my genuine critiques of my play are as follows:

  • Land count seems fine because I tend to pick up my low-curve pieces in my opening hand.

  • when I DON'T see my low curve pieces early it is pretty feels-bad-man, and so much to the point I put in the double-up lands like Guildless Commons and Ancient Tomb.

  • I'm super surprised at how much draw- like oh my God dude- I need draw super bad. Considering re-slotting in the Chromatic Star and Howling Mine, Memory Jar, etc.

The biggest struggle I have is not making this deck 50 percent ramp and 50 percent gas. I have spot removal, and things.. seem to function.

All in all I give it a 4/10 (current iteration) competitive for the decks I've run previously.

jonjonhholt on Affinity Stones Pauper

8 months ago

Here are some good options to replace Prophetic Prism! Energy Refractor is my goto, the fixing loses you a mana but you keep the card draw. Shire Scarecrow provides a blocker and cheap fixing but no draw. Chromatic Star gives you the card and the lossless fixing but is a one time use. Also not for mana fixing but Myrsmith and All That Glitters just got downshifted to common in CMM and might be fun for this list. Cool deck! :)

wallisface on Confusion with Mishra, Eminent One …

8 months ago

the interactions of Chromatic Star, Aether Spellbomb, or Executioner's Capsule all still happen - whenever a card lists its own name, it’s just meaning “this card”. So you can use all this abilities, and just treat any instance of “CardName” with “ThisCard”.

So specifically:

  • Yes your Mishra’s Warform Chromatic Star can sac itself, and draw a card on going to the grave.

  • Yes your Mishra’s Warform Aether Spellbomb can sac itself for either of those 2 effects.

  • Yes your Mishra’s Warform Executioner's Capsule can sac itself to destroy a nonblack creature.

  • Yes your Mishra’s Warform Reaver Titan will deal the 5 damage on attack.

  • Yes your Mishra’s Warform Skysovereign, Consul Flagship will deal damage on both etb and attack.

jzt0 on Confusion with Mishra, Eminent One …

8 months ago

I made a Mishra, Eminent One artifact deck recently. He creates a token that has a different name of the original non-creature artifact card, meaning...does the leave the battlefield interaction of something such as Chromatic Star , Aether Spellbomb, or Executioner's Capsule not work with the token, as the token's name is Mishra's Warform? Ex) I create a Mishra's Warform 4/4 copy of Executioner's Capsule. I can't sacrifice the Mishra's Warform Executioner's Capsule to destroy a nonblack creature, can I? As there is no "Executioner's Capsule"to sacrifice because the name is Mishra's Warform on the copy. Same question for Reaver Titan or Skysovereign, Consul Flagship. The Mishra's Warform copy won't have the name Reaver Titan, so when it attacks, it doesn't deal 5 damage...correct? Thanks for all your help!

wallisface on

9 months ago

Some thoughts:

  • you have practically no ways to reliably put -1/-1 counters onto your opponents board, which is going to make it very hard to enact any kind of plan. I would suggest considering cards like Grind / Dust, Fume Spitter, Black Sun's Zenith, Skinrender etc.

  • Blue is doing almost nothing for you in this brew, and considering your relatively fragile manabase, i’d suggest ditching it entirely and just going with 2 colours.

  • Nature's Claim is a very weak mainboard card as against a lot of decks it won’t be able to do anything. Chromatic Star also serves no real purpose here other than marginally thinning your deck.

I have my own competitive Hapatra deck here if you wanted some inspiration. I imagine its a bit too expensive for your liking, but might help give you some good ideas on where to take your own brew

FormOverFunction on Need ideas for mishra

11 months ago

I’d look at one-time-use artifacts, or things of the like, as you’re getting a lot of free copies. Chromatic Star is a simple example, I guess, like Conjurer's Bauble but there might be more interesting effects. Maybe something fun like Goblin Boom Keg or Grinning Totem.

Load more