Ornithopter

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Standard Legal
Frontier Legal
Pauper Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Aether Revolt Uncommon
Masterpiece Series: Kaladesh Inventions Mythic Rare
Magic 2015 Common
2011 Core Set Uncommon
2010 Core Set Uncommon
Tenth Edition Uncommon
Ninth Edition Uncommon
Mirrodin Uncommon
Classic Sixth Edition Uncommon
Fifth Edition Uncommon
Fourth Edition Uncommon
Revised Edition Uncommon
Antiquities Common

Combos Browse all

Ornithopter

Artifact Creature — Thopter

Flying (This creature can't be blocked except by creatures with flying or reach)

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

0.02 TIX $0.18 Foil

Ebay

Ornithopter Discussion

Chaztronaut on Tezzeret's Improvising Clues (Esper)

15 hours ago

ndgipper I think I'll keep the 3xHope of Ghirapur in instead of the Ornithopter, I can't imagine many scenarios where I would want to side board them in instead.

ndgipper on Tezzeret's Improvising Clues (Esper)

16 hours ago

Ornithopter may be ok in sideboard for if opponent is slow and has no flyers

JohnBTY on Pingers, Inc.

1 day ago

I have a very similar deck but have added a whole suite of cards for interaction with Intruder Alarm (and, for Easy Mode, Paradox Engine.)

Part 1 - Mana Dorks. Run Iron Myr, Silver Myr, Palladium Myr, Alloy Myr, and Plague Myr. Also add Opaline Unicorn and Scuttlemutt

Part 2 - add creatures with an inherent self-bounce ability. Shrieking Drake, Man-o'-War, Ancestral Statue, Tradewind Rider. I also recommend adding some 1-cost or maybe even 0-cost creatures to the deck (Goblin Fireslinger, Ornithopter, Cloud of Faeries) to increase the reliability of re-casting one of them repeatedly.

Part 2a - Give yourself the ability to turn any creature into a super-Tradewind Rider for the turn, as a back-up - Banishing Knack and Retraction Helix

Then you've got a redundant engine where any combination of cards from Part 1 that can produce enough mana to repeatedly cast either Shrieking Drake, Man-o'-War, or Ancestral Statue, or any creature at all if you've got Tradewind Rider or a Banishing Knack/Retraction Helix, you can end the game with a single pinger along for the ride. :)

Hydro997 on R/W Metal Weenies Featuring 2 Mana 5/5

2 days ago

2kplus I thought about this and i decided that you are right that Ornithopter serves little purpose so i added in 3 copys of Always Watching and made few other small changes but i want to keep in ornithopter to have a early activation for my artifact reliant creatures

n0bunga on THE ATOG STRIKES BACK

3 days ago

Thought about any cheerios like Ornithopter or Cathar's Shield ?

BioProfDude on Karn's Tapeworms

3 days ago

Ornithopter seems like a good addition-- artifact, flying, good for defense.

Just a thought!

GearNoir on Protection and dual-color DFC interaction.

3 days ago

Scenario 1 - Akroma's Memorial would not protect Ornithopter from Archangel Avacyn  Flip because Avacyn is .

Scenario 2 - Circle of Protection: White would not protect your opponent from Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip as it is transformed and is when the damage is dealt.

Color identity, which is what I beleive you are thinking about, is only really applicable in Commander/EDH to determine if a card can go into the deck; it has to account for both sides of the transform card in case of varied colors.

Double-faced Card Rules:

  • 711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.

  • 711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.

  • 711.4b While a double-faced permanents back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. This is a change from previous rules. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.

Load more

Latest Commander