Giant Spider

Giant Spider

Creature — Spider

Reach (This creature can block creatures with flying.)

Browse Alters View at Gatherer
Set Price Alerts Price Chart

MYS1

Show All Prices

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Mystery Booster (MYS1) Common
Core Set 2019 (M19) Common
Global Series: Jiang Yanggu & Mu Yanling (GS1) None
Amonkhet (AKH) Common
Magic 2014 (M14) Common
2012 Core Set (M12) Common
2011 Core Set (M11) Common
Duels of the Planeswalkers (DPA) Common
2010 Core Set (M10) Common
Tenth Edition (10E) Common
Ninth Edition (9ED) Common
Ninth Edition Foreign Black Border (9EDFBB) Common
Eighth Edition (8ED) Common
Seventh Edition (7ED) Common
Classic Sixth Edition (6ED) Common
Anthologies (ATH) Common
Portal (POR) Common
Fifth Edition (5ED) Common
Fourth Edition (4ED) Common
4th Edition Foreign Black Border (4EDFBB) Common
Revised Edition (3ED) Common
Revised Foreign Black Border (3EDFBB) Common
Unlimited Edition (2ED) Common
Collector's Edition (CED) Common
International Collector's Edition (CEI) Common
Limited Edition Beta (LEB) Common
Limited Edition Alpha (LEA) Common

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Canadian Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Vintage Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Limited Legal
Arena Legal
Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Casual Legal
Pioneer Legal
Leviathan Legal
Unformat Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Modern Legal
Pauper Legal
1v1 Commander Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Giant Spider Discussion

rdean14 on Card creation challenge

3 months ago

Ravages of War is a functional reprint of Armageddon

Kodama's Reach is a functional reprint of Cultivate

Counsel of the Soratami is a functional reprint of Divination

Hardened-Scale Armor is a functional reprint of Oakenform

I'd consider Towering Indrik to be a functional reprint of Giant Spider

There are loads more, but for examples.

Hellsing on Semi-regular reminder that Global Series …

1 year ago

DiverDown Did some small digging on the issue, and I have found at least one common denominator.
The following cards from Magic Game Night - (GNT) have incorrect legality:

All other cards from this set do have a functioning legality.
And in Global Series: Jiang Yanggu & Mu Yanling - (GS1), only the cards listed below works:
The rest of them have incorrect legality.

This shows that only NEW entries in the database are affected by this bug, cards that existed before which only got an updated image in the sets didn't get affected.
I have tried to edit cards(using the "fix card" function) but that does not yield any result at all, everything looks okay in the forms when submitting the cards.
I also tried submitting an entry of an existing card in another set/expansion to see if it changed something, but it didn't.
So the entries in the database are probably corrupted, manual deletion and readding is maybe a way to go for individual cards. But what causes the bug I have no idea of.

To investigate this issue further it would be good if I have more cards to look at, so tag them here if you find any.


Arvail : I hope not, except for this bug I think it works somewhat good.

DemonDragonJ on Ultimate spoiler season

1 year ago

Another card that I really wish to see reprinted is Ancient Spider, and this would have been a great set in which to reprint it, preferably demoted to an uncommon. For only a slightly stricter casting cost over Giant Spider, it is generally superior to that card in every way.

MJS154 on Arachnophobia (Budget Spiders)

1 year ago

I can understand that actually. Giant Spider was in the first welcome deck i played in.

juiicyfruities on Arachnophobia (Budget Spiders)

1 year ago

Mostly, I just have a soft spot for Giant Spider, but you're right. Blightwidow is pretty much just a better version of it.

MJS154 on Arachnophobia (Budget Spiders)

1 year ago

Actually, curious why you have 2 Blightwidows and 2 Giant Spiders when the Blight is just a Giant Spider with Infect. The price seems about even. Variety?

Caerwyn on Question for a Tetsuko Umezawa …

2 years ago

First, for future reference, the Commander Deck Help forum is used when you have questions about a deck you are building. If you have questions about how a certain card works, or the interaction between multiple cards, please use the Rules Q&A section of this site. There's usually a couple players lurking there who will answer your questions in fairly short order. I've taken the liberty of moving your thread.


Moving on to your question, this will not work.

Identity Thief's trigger occurs during the declare attackers step. Once you declare it as an attacker, its ability goes on the stack and resolves, still during the declare attackers step.

Base power/Toughness are values that are copied. So, when you use your Identity Thief to copy a Giant Spider, Identity Thief will now be a 2/4.

Then we move into the declare blockers step. At this point, your Identity Thief no longer has a power or toughness less than 1, so it can be blocked.

Compare to Dwarven Warriors. If Dwarven Warriors activated its ability targeting Identity Thief, Identity Thief could not be blocked even after it transforms. Dwarven Warriors, unlike Tetsuko Umezawa, Fugitive, only cares about Power at the time the ability is activated. This would have a lasting impact on Identity Thief, even after Identity Theif's power became greater than 2. In fact, this was referenced in the card's Alpha text: Dwarven Warriors.

Caerwyn on Mindslaver vs rule 903.12

2 years ago

For your future reference, this site has a Rules Q&A section for use when you have questions about individual cards or card interactions. The Commander Deck Help Forum is for discussing general deck-building. I've moved your question to the Rules Q&A Section (though it seems to have played some games with your code blocks, and for that I apologize).


To answer your questions:

Example 1: Mindslaver allows you to make all decisions that player can make. This includes the decision to send their commander into the command zone.

Example 2: Aminatou, the Fateshifter cannot target the card. Let's explain why, pretending the stolen card is Giant Spider.

  1. Player A initially controls and owns Giant Spider.

  2. Player B takes Giant Spider - B controls the Spider; A owns the spider.

  3. When A Mindslaves B, it is still technically B taking all of B's actions. You might be making the decisions, but ultimately B is still the player who is acting. As such, you cannot force B to make an illegal decision such as having Player B target a permanent another player owns, regardless of whether it is your creature or not.

Since the above answer does not get to your second round of questions under Example 2, Let's change the hypothetical: let's say Aminatou, the Fateshifter's ability read "permanent you control" instead of "you own."

In this situation, the Giant Spider would return to the battlefield under Player B's control. This is for the same reason as the above--while Player A might be making the decisions, it is still Player B taking the actions.

Load more