Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor

Front:

Valki, God of Lies  Flip

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Pre-release Legal
Standard Legal
Vintage Legal

Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor

Legendary Planeswalker — Tibalt

As Tibalt enters the battlefield, you get an emblem with "You may play cards exiled with Tibalit, Cosmic Impostor, and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any colour to cast those spells."

+2: Exile the top card of each player's library.

-3: Exile target artifact or creature.

-8: Exile all cards from all graveyards. Gain .

Polaris on How MDFC instant and sorceryies …

11 months ago

It is, but if they didn't do it that way there would be a ton of game-breaking weirdness that could ensue. They actually had to change how cascade worked recently (like on Violent Outburst) because it was letting you cascade into Valki, God of Lies  Flip and cast it as Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor for free on turn 2 or 3.

wallisface on Banlist Open Discussion

1 year ago

sergiodelrio SSG was banned super-recently, so there’s zero chance they’re unbanning its twin. Wotcs official statement on the SSG ban was

“ Simian Spirit Guide is a card we’ve had our eye on for some time as an enabler that speeds up fast combo decks.

To slow down that category of combo decks as a whole and give opponents more time to set up interactive plays in the early game, Simian Spirit Guide is banned.”

In general fast mana is an issue prior to turn 2. The big reason the card got banned to begin with was at a time when people could abuse it with Cascade to get out a turn 1-or-2 Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor. The rules for Cascade have since changed, but the risk fast mana in general poses remains, although admittedly Rite of Flame having a cmc of 1 makes it harder to abuse in some of the shells SSG thrived in.

Storm does still exist, but admittedly not with any meaningful percentage. I’m probably channelling my local meta a bit too much there - which has a few storm decks.

Coward_Token on Triple Six, Five, Forked Tongue [Primer]

1 year ago

Ugh sorry, but finally: I think Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor can be cut for similar reasons as Gonti; at MV 7 I think a card should give you a great advantage within a turn at least, but Tibby is a typically gradual value 'Walker.

THAT'S IT, NO MORE NITPICKING FROM ME

(...I hope...)

aszubat on Modifying a Rogue Mill Deck …

1 year ago

Mtg_Mega_Nerds your idea helps me create a rogue deck. But it doesn't really solve my problem. The deck I found is a blue and black deck. Because of that I don't have the red mana to play Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor . I'm searching for a way to eddit the deck I found (because I would like to keep the mill properties) that allows me to play Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor and deffend him so that he's acutally useful. I don't want to simply add red mana, because I think that could destroy some of the synergie with other cards (after all cards like Soaring Thought-Thief and Thieves' Guild Enforcer can do nothing with red mana). That's why I asked if Replicating Ring could do the trick or if there are better options to solve my problem.

zobster on Pioneer Valki?

1 year ago

If I have a Thassa, Deep-Dwelling and bounce Valki, God of Lies  Flip can I have it come back as Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor

Mtg_Mega_Nerds on Is there a way to …

1 year ago

Yes, simply just put the back side within double brackets like: Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor

Neotrup on How does Narset, Enlightened Master …

1 year ago

Narset, Enlightened Master lets you cast noncreature spells from among the exiled cards. As long as the spell your casting is a noncreature spell, such as Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor , you are aloud to cast it, even it it's a creature card like Valki, God of Lies  Flip. Similarly, if Bonecrusher Giant is exiled you can cast Bonecrusher Giant . This does require the noncreature spell to be cast normally, not with an alternate cost, so you can't cast Hypnotic Siren using bestow.

Load more