Valki, God of Lies

Back:

Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor  Flip

Combos Browse all Suggest

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Pre-release Legal
Standard Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal

Valki, God of Lies

Legendary Creature — God

When Valki enters the battlefield, each opponent reveals their hand. For each opponent, exile a creature card they revealed this way until Valki leaves the battlefield.

: Choose a creature card exiled with Valki with converted mana cost X. Valki becomes a copy of that card.

nbarry223 on Viga-BOOM! (Turn 2)

1 week ago

I mean Bring to Light can also hit cards like Valki, God of Lies  Flip, Mila, Crafty Companion  Flip and Extus, Oriq Overlord  Flip and play their flip sides, or even something like the bust side of Boom / Bust, but I want the card to be playable on its own as well (I don't want to regret drawing it). The closest I can think of in that aspect is Crime / Punishment, but I can't really guarantee I can hit anything with the crime side of the card when I need to. The punishment side of that card makes it playable on its own as a targeted wipe, similar to Engineered Explosives.

Delphen7 on MDFC card tries to flip

1 month ago

Say I cast Valki, God of Lies  Flip. My opponent reveals their hand, and among other options, there is a Graveyard Trespasser  Flip in their hand, which I take.

Now it gets weird. Say I make Valki a copy of Graveyard Trespasser:

  1. Does it become day if it wasn't already?
  2. If it becomes night while Valki is a copy of the day face, does he transform into Tibalt? Normally a card wouldn't, but Valki has a back side
  3. If it's night when I try to make Valki a copy, which Graveyard Trespasser face does he copy?

Eldmoi on Burncard

3 months ago

I didn't do so great at the modern clash event at PAX East, quickly lost to my 2nd opponent's burn deck. On the bright side, each player I went up against gave me some tips, so I received more insight into how to improve this deck going forward.

I am considering adding some cards I recently played in Arena like Thoughtseize, Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger, Tinybones, Trinket Thief, Valki, God of Lies  Flip, Rankle, Master of Pranks, Tergrid, God of Fright  Flip along with a few others like Surgical Extraction.

I found that playing full playsets of fewer unique cards is more beneficial than playing 1-3 cards of more varied cards. I prefer making decks with as many different cards that can fit a theme, so I may create a different version of this deck in Commander which would allow that formulaic approach.

I was inspired to start playing paper formats again because of this event however, and will create a new Pioneer deck based on elements of this deck except in Grixis colors using cards like Drown in the Loch, Ashiok, Nightmare Muse and Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip.

Overall, I had a great time playing this deck at PAX and definitely have to treat it with some fresh new sleeves!

Polaris on Prosper Tome Bound Flip side …

5 months ago

Prosper, Tome-Bound just says "you may play that card" with no other stipulations, so you can cast any side you have mana for. If it restricted you to casting creature spells, noncreature spells, spells with certain mana value (restricting the spell cast to a certain mana value was the change made to cascade to stop it being broken with Valki, God of Lies  Flip), etc, this answer could be different, but cards exiled by Prosper can essentially be played just as if they were in your hand.

MagicMarc on Prosper Tome Bound Flip side …

5 months ago

jaymc1130 is correct. You can choose which face of a MDFC to play.

According to Gatherer Rulings under Valki, God of Lies  Flip you can pick which face you want to cast. See the ruling there: Valki, God of Lies @ Gatherer.

Per the rulings;"If an effect allows you to play a specific modal double-faced card, you may cast it as a spell or play it as a land, as determined by which face you choose to play. If an effect allows you to cast (rather than “play”) a specific modal double-faced card, you can't play it as a land." And "If an effect allows you to play a land or cast a spell from among a group of cards, you may play or cast a modal double-faced card with any face that fits the criteria of that effect."

Dammjan on Prosper Tome Bound Flip side …

5 months ago

Hey, if I exile a flip card like Valki, God of Lies  Flip with Prosper, Tome-Bound can I play the other not front facing side of the card so in this case Tibalt, Cosmic Imposter?

Chaospyke on Can card:Havengul Lich cast Adventures/ …

6 months ago

Havengul Lich says I can cast target creature card in a graveyard. It doesn't say thing else limiting that casting. So I assume yes, but I want to be sure.

Adventure and MDFC for reference.

Bonecrusher Giant Valki, God of Lies  Flip

superwill123 on Prosper's Purgatory [Treasure EDH]

6 months ago

If there's any exceptional card I've added in my deck, it's Valki, God of Lies  Flip. The backside in Tibalt is a strong addition to the plan, with practically a +2 of drawing 4 cards that all trigger Prosper, a - 3 that lets you steal an artifact or creature and gain a treasure out of it, and al ultimate that (if you can somehow reach it) makes sure you cannot lose, especially with Prosper out! Personally I have Valki as my commander with prosper as a secret commander, but even if Prosper were the commander, tibalt's power when combined with Prosper cannot be denied!

Load more