Tawnos's Coffin

Tawnos's Coffin

Artifact

You may choose not to untap Tawnos's Coffin during your untap step.

(3), Tap: Remove target creature and all Auras attached to it from the game. Note the number and kind of counters that were on that creature. When Tawnos's Coffin leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped, return the removed card to play under its owner's control tapped with the noted number and kind of counters on it, and if you do, return the removed Aura cards to play under their owner's control attached to that permanent.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer
Set Price Alerts Price Chart

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Pauper Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Limited Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Highlander Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Unformat Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pauper EDH Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Tawnos's Coffin Discussion

sdidonato on Ib Halfheart, Goblin Sac-tician [PRIMER]

4 months ago

I just ordered 2 Tawnos's Coffin because it was way below market value, but I'm wondering if it might go well in here. It would syngergize well with Dockside Extortionist, Imperial Recruiter, Muxus, Goblin Grandee, Purphoros, God of the Forge, Goblin Recruiter, etc... you could even "exile" one of your creatures then Skirk Fire Marshal the world.

Perrodequeso on 93/94 Rasputin Tricks

5 months ago

I like it! Ever consider Tawnos's Coffin to reset Rasputin? Although with four copies you wouldn't necessarily need to.

shifthappen1 on Breya Revels in Riches (and Thopters) [Primer]

6 months ago

I've been 5hinking, since this deck is heavily token based, what are you usually tutoring and/or recuring from the graveyard? There's great utility with daretti and co, but there's no artifact that ends the game right there or is a huge threat all by itself. I guess what I mean is, how do you approach the game when you got tutors and/or recur engines available?

Also, for the control aspect, while there's a bunch of staples, a lot of them don't synergise all that. Have you concidered gettin control stuff that also adds tokens like Bake into a Pie, Spell Swindle, Confirm Suspicions, and others? And/or, using artifact based blinks like Voyager Staff or Tawnos's Coffin, or more artifact based control like Spine of Ish Sah, Duplicant, or a bunch of others.

Gosh, so many options, it'll take a while for me to decide how to actually build my version.

triproberts12 on What personal values do you …

11 months ago

Don't just blatantly lie to the table. "I won't attack you next turn. [attacks next turn] What? It was an opportunity to kill you, so I took it."

I understand if you wanna proxy a Tawnos's Coffin or something, because you want the deck ready to play before you can afford some integral piece, but stop proxying absurd cards that would be in every deck if they weren't multiple Benjamins. There's nothing clever about incorporating ABU Duals and Mana Crypt into every manabase. Again, if you need a second Sacred Foundry to enable some weird combo, cool, but "so I have perfect mana with my Farseek, Nature's Lore, and proxied Three Visits" is not cool.

Be welcoming of letting others into your playgroup. I move a lot, and it's a hell of a lot easier when someone comes in and you actually make an effort to let them know when a new game is starting, or chat them up while they get a read on what kind of decks and playstyles are going on around them.

Fallerup on B/U Phenax mill wall EDH

1 year ago

Fleet Swallower is great, it mills half their library in one swing and it only has to attack, so you can pull it back with something like Maze of Ith so you just get the attack trigger. You don't play white, so you don't get access to Reconnaissance, but Maze of Ith is a good colorless alternative. Hedron Crab like wideline1414 said is great too. If you play vs decks that have any eldrazi titans in their decks, you will never win unless you can exile the titan, so cards that exile creatures are good too. Scour from Existence is an option here, but at 7 mana its equite expensive. Tawnos's Coffin is slightly cheaper, but they can just remove it to get their creature back, so your only real option is Scour from Existence and I would add it to the deck if you play vs anyone that plays ulamog or kozilek and that sort of thing in your play group, because as soon as ulamog hits the graveyard, their graveyard gets reshuffled into their library = you can never win.

Sylvanrush on I'll walk a thousand miles to the maze's end

1 year ago

Here's my version of the deck, thanks for the inspiration, Enral!:

Golos, Maze Pilgrim

Combos/notes on my take:

  • One thing I didn't realize initially was that that Golos' ability still observes timing rules, so you don't want to activate him on an off turn, as you can't play the lands.

There are some notable differences between our decks, the biggest of which is I don't run Ghostly Flicker - I'm looking for more repeatable flickering via Conjurer's Closet , Tawnos's Coffin and Soulherder - I had considered putting a Gilded Drake to take people stuff and then get back with flickering, but that takes away from the primary purpose of the deck as a Maze's End build.

Again, thanks for making the primer, and hopefully I can offer some ideas back to you or others on their builds.

Rhadamanthus on Do enchantments stay on creatures …

1 year ago

The aura will become unattached and go to the graveyard. When an object changes zones, the game treats it as a totally new object with no relation to what it was before (except for a few exceptions needed to make things work properly; they don't apply in this situation). In this situation, as far as the game is concerned, the creature that the aura used to be attached to is gone.

An aura will only be flickered along with the object it's attached to if the flickering effect specifically says to do that ( Flickerform , Tawnos's Coffin , Oubliette ). Otherwise it stays on the battlefield.

PhotogenicParasympathetic on Tawnos's Coffin + transform

1 year ago

Hey all,

I'm wondering, since Tawnos's Coffin tracks counters on a permanent, does it also track the transformed status of the permanent? For example, if I have a Cunning Bandit that has transformed, and has two ki counters on it, and I exile it with the coffin then untap the coffin, does it return as a Bandit with two counters, or as Azamuki with two counters?

Thanks much!

Load more