Mana Cannons

Combos Browse all Suggest


Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Mana Cannons


Whenever you cast a multicoloured spell, Mana Cannons deals X damage to any target (creature, player or planeswalker), where X is the number of colours that spell is.

Jaroc249 on

1 year ago

Baron_Pretzels okay. The reason I put some of the cards in is because it's not just the multicolour but I also wanted each solo colour to be represented by at least one creature and one spell:


White: Sisay, Weatherlight Captain, Odric, Lunarch Marshal

Blue: Esior, Wardwing Familiar

Black: Drana, Liberator of Malakir

Red: Kari Zev, Skyship Raider

Green: Sakura-Tribe Elder, Fallaji Wayfarer, Esika, God of the Tree  Flip, Kolvori, God of Kinship  Flip


White: Path to Exile, Swords to Plowshares, Urza's Ruinous Blast

Blue: Negate

Black: Yawgmoth's Vile Offering

Red: Mana Cannons

Green: Beast Within, Kodama's Reach, Cultivate, Farseek, Nature's Lore

Another Blue creature I was thinking was Fblthp, the Lost

Reason I put The World Tree was probably cause I've put Esika in.

Caerwyn on Questions regarding color identity/color interaction

1 year ago

In the future, please use the Rules Q&A section of the site if you have questions about rules, cards or card interactions. That section has some added functionalities, like the ability to "mark as answer" a question and indicate you had your question resolved. I went ahead and moved it for you.

Moving on to your questions:

Question 1: You are incorrect in your understanding. Jodah provides an alternative cost for a spell, but does not change the mana cost of the spell, nor does it change the colour of a spell. A Phyrexian Hulk cast with Jodah's ability will still have a mana cost of 6 and it will still be a colorless spell.

As such, you cannot use Obsidian Obelisk's "mana of any color" ability to cast non-multicoloured cards with Jodah and you will not receive triggers on cards like Mana Cannons and Widespread Thieving.

Question 2: Faeburrow Elder only looks at color, not color identity (it does not specifically say "color identity" akin to Command Tower). As such, with only those two permanents there would not be any Black mana added.

Rhonir on Questions regarding color identity/color interaction

1 year ago

Good day,

I'm building a Jodah, Archmage Eternal deck and have two questions regarding the alternative cost and color identity of Jodah.

  1. As far as I understand it, Jodah's ability sets the cmc for a spell to WUBRG for the action "casting". After resolving the spell gets back its former cmc and therefore colorization. Is it right that cards like Obsidian Obelisk, Mana Cannons and Widespread Thieving therefore interact with spells that I cast for WUBRG although they are monocolored since those cards interact with the "casting" action?

  2. If I have those two permanents on the battlefield: Faeburrow Elder and Jodah, Archmage Eternal. Does Faeburrow Elder give me WURG (WUR from Jodah, G from Faeburrow Elder) or WUBRG from Jodah's color identity?

Many thanks in advance and I hope this is the right forum for these questions.