March of the Machines

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Vintage Legal

March of the Machines

Enchantment

Each noncreature artifact is an artifact creature with power and toughness each equal to its converted mana cost. (Equipment that's a creature can't equip a creature.)

TypicalTimmy on Does Pitiless Plunderer and March …

1 week ago

Pitiless Plunderer has this strange thing where he doesn't care if the creature dying is a token. Normally cards will specify "nontoken creature", in order to try and prevent infinite loops. He, oddly enough, does not.

So if you have March of the Machines out, and a creature you control were to die, you'd create a Treasure token, which is now a 0/0 artifact creature.

Now, I do know that state based actions will check and it'll be sent to the graveyard due to having 0 toughness. According to the official terminology of the game, whenever a permanent is moved from the battlefield (specifically) to the graveyard (specifically) it does in fact "die". So yes, it is accurate to say that the token creature dies to state based actions.

When this token dies, Pitiless Plunderer is going to see this, make a Treasure token, which is created as a 0/0 artifact creature thanks to March of the Machines. When priority is changed and state based actions are checked, it too dies and the cycle continues.

So, this seemingly is a 2-card infinite death-loop, which cards such as Falkenrath Noble will care about. Similarly, if we slide into Grixis, Purphoros, God of the Forge will care when the new Treasure artifact creature ETB.


Long winded wall of text aside, here's my REAL question:

Suppose we are, in fact, in Grixis and I have something such as Fervor in play, such that I am now able to use activated abilities the turn the creature enters the battlefield.

  • My 0/0 Treasure artifact creature is created
  • The game is on pause, waiting for priority to switch to my opponent(s)
  • When this occurs, state based actions are going to see my 0/0 and attempt to move it to the graveyard

So, question:

Can I, at any point in this process, tap and sacrifice it for the mana, since it has haste thanks to Fervor? Because it'll still die (moving from the battlefield to the graveyard), so I'll still continue the loop. But since activating a mana ability does not use the stack, and the permanent in question is sacrificed as part of the cost (and therefore can not be responded to), I should be able to theoretically produce infinite mana of any combination of colors in this way, correct?


  • And be aware, you (or an opponent) must have a means to break this loop. If all you have is Pitiless Plunderer and March of the Machines with no means to end the loop (Removal of Pitiless Plunderer, an enchantment to make the Treasure artifact creature at least a 0/1 so it survives state based actions, etc) you will cause the game to formulate a draw and nobody wins or loses the game, it'll simply end and cease to be.

thefiresoflurve on Eloise, Nephalia Sleuth

1 month ago

Nice build! I really like the flavor in it. Wdyt of Grim Haruspex in place of Morbid Opportunist?

Also, March of the Machines here is clever; I love it. Pitiless Plunderer could possibly be a good combo substitute for your commander in the event taxes get too high to pay, plus some extra ramp outside the combo.

enpc on Mirrym goes infinite with Ganax …

5 months ago

So let's be very clear on terminology here - this is not in fact an infinite combo. This is a draw engine which nets mana each cycle. An "infinite combo" is typically something that can be shortcutted, like Devoted Druid + Vizier of Remedies. Here, you need to keep drawing specifically dragons with power 4+ power (assuming you're using Garruk's Uprising and yes, I know that most dragons fit that bill). If you fail to draw a dragon, you whiff. It by it's very definition makes the combo non-deterministic and therefore cannot be classified as an infinite combo.

At this point you have created a draw card combo which needs 4 cards, at 6, 5, 4 and 3 mana (totalling 18 mana if played in one turn). All of these cards make sense in the deck, however at this point you're still talking about a 4 card combo costing 18 mana.

I do appreciate however that it's a combo you're excited about and I'm sure makes sense in Miirym, Sentinel Wyrm decks. I wouldn't recommend the March of the Machines combo here as it feels way to narrow for the amount of setup required, however the other line seems decent. I would recommend however that any deck trying to sport this have a heavy focus on ramp.

FauxFaux on Card creation challenge

7 months ago

So, sort of like March of the Machines, Starfield of Nyx and Life and Limb?

Ok, sounds fun!


Spell-Sword Pact

Enchantment

Any player may cast a Instant and Sorcery spell from their hand, instead they become X/X colorless Illusion creatures, where X is the mana value of those spells, and gain "Whenever this creature leaves the battlefield, exile this creature."

"The only thing deadlier than a spell, is a spell without a leash."


I think its an interesting take. Basically makes all spells from the hand into impromptu creatures. Would be kinda busted in more limited formats, hence the higher CMV.

Wild!

Necrosis24 on Toxrill the Corrosive

9 months ago

Well to hit all permanents I think using all the cards suggested in tandem will be best.

Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth + Kormus Bell

Now all lands are 1/1 creatures. Where your opponents lands will die to Toxrill, the Corrosive.

Mycosynth Lattice will make all your opponents’ enchantments into artifacts (Their creatures and artifacts don’t really matter since the creatures you can already hit and artifacts are alaready artifacts).

Now cast March of the Machines to make all your opponents’ enchantments and artifacts into creatures. Which can now be affected by Toxrill, the Corrosive.

Your own lands will be safe as Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth + Kormus Bell prevent March of the Machines from turning your lands into creatures as they are already creatures with base power and toughness 1/1. So you keep your board and your opponents will lose their lands immediately then their other permanents overtime.

So it is a four card combo but lets assume you already have a signifiact board state. Killing all lands with Mycosynth Lattice + March of the Machines can be a way to close out the game in a similar fashion to Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth + Kormus Bell.

Necrosis24 on Toxrill the Corrosive

9 months ago

Oops I'm wrong on the token part there since March of the Machines says noncreature artifact. So your creature tokens will be safe.

KBK7101 on Synergistic Win-Cons for Kotori, Pilot …

9 months ago

Not too familiar with vehicles but March of the Machines or similar effects seem like they'd be worth checking out.

Load more
Have (1) metalmagic
Want (1) Cool_Cat