Harness the Storm

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Heirloom Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Standard Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Casual Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Shadows over Innistrad Rare

Combos Browse all

Harness the Storm

Enchantment

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell form your hand, you may cast target card with the same name as that spell from your graveyard. (You still pay its costs.)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

SOI

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Harness the Storm Discussion

Yesterday on Looking for cards similar to ...

3 weeks ago

Sorry, I should have specified that I was making a Commander deck, so while Harness the Storm is a pretty fun card it won't really help me out in this case. I have actually been looking at making a cycling deck and hadn't considered Dralnu for it, so while I'm not sure Abandoned Sarcophagus fits into this deck I'm building ATM exactly, that could be a fun build to try, so thanks for that!

Mannu_1978 on HOD Standard Mill

3 weeks ago

Hello

I think Geistblast may be used both for control at the beginning and to duplicate mill spells afterwards, instead of SAC lands. Even Harness the Storm can be quite funny...

That would make the deck UR but UR control cards could help while waiting for the Final Millstrike.

That's what I'm planning for my own mill deck (which may even be Grixis).

Torrential Gearhulks are better as plan B vs Thing IMO but to be tested. They can recast a Winds of Rebuke Glimmer or counterspell. Or even abuse Commit/Memory (= recast memory? x2?)

If UR, even Goblin Dark-Dwellers can be nice for Card Advantage.

Tests to do anyway, this enchantment has a lot of potential...

Titanco on

1 month ago

If you're running firebrand archer then you might want to consider adding Thermo-Alchemist as it has a similar affect and a somewhat bulky body (for it's cost that is), which you help you in setting up your Open Into Wonders and the other creatures. Also, this is more of a gimmick suggestion, but what about Harness the Storm?

WowzerBowzer on Deck Rape (Needs Help!)

1 month ago

Thanks Zhorus!

To all those reading:

One issue with Galvanic Bombardment and Take Inventory is that when I Harness the Storm I'm effectively producing counter synergy in regards to future casts. The reason why I'd like Winds of Rebuke and Compelling Argument to remain in this deck is because I want to expedite the process of buffing the Drake as much as possible. I'm really only going to be countering important enemy spells and, thus, taking damage early in the game, so I would like to get Drake huge as quickly as possible. Harness the Storm is there because I want to be able to play 2 Compelling Arguments in the late game to give my enigma Drake +6 power before I swing in for the win.

The only problem with the deck is that I always end up with too much mana. I'm considering Rise from the Tides, like the Thing in the Ice that you suggested, because its expensive and I can throw it in the graveyard in the early game. And I'm afraid of adding more burn because I want to use Baral synergy to ram even more cards into my graveyard. Torrential Gearhulk is just an expensive counterspell that comes with a body, it spends a lot of mana and it's not our win condition but I am considering adding it if I can't find a way to not overflow with lands in the late game. Disallow is too expensive 4 me and a version of this deck contained Censor once and I'm considering adding it again. Thanks for the suggestions!

hyperlocke on Cards cast from GY leave ...

2 months ago

Please remember to link your cards.

[[card:Galvanic Bombardment]]

Galvanic Bombardment, Harness the Storm

When you cast a card, it leaves its current zone (in this case your gy) and is put on the stack. The Bombardment that gets cast from your gy deals 2 damage.


111.1. A spell is a card on the stack. As the first step of being cast (see rule 601, Casting Spells), the card becomes a spell and is moved to the top of the stack from the zone it was in [...]

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. [...]

Airwings on Standard Izzet Harness the Mill ~Get there~

2 months ago

Nice one, man! I've been trying to find a home for my 2 promo Harness the Storm, which you may have found :D

How did you find your matchup?

I have myself a more blue version of mill, that run some Geistblast and Mirrorpool (which I may remove, because I don't have currently enough colorless producer like Aether Hub) for more spell copying and Engulf the Shore for creature control, but I may want to upgrade to your version :P

landofMordor on Is the fact that white ...

2 months ago

Okay, I'm looking it up in the official rulebook.

You still can't include Flash Conscription in Zada, because color identity.

Here's part of Rule 608.2g. "If an effect requires information from the game (such as the number of creatures on the battlefield), the answer is determined only once, when the effect is applied." This is in the "resolving spells" subsection of rules, which is what your question is about. So let's run through some scenarios to flesh out this rule:

You copy Flash Conscription through Ink-Treader Nephilim. Each copy will determine whether W was paid for that copy before it resolves its effect. The answer will be "no", because you didn't pay any mana for the copies. No lifelink.

The same thing (sadly) applies to copies of Kicker spells like Blood Tribute.

Now, that rule does not apply to involuntary "As an additional cost...", because on spells like Lightning Axe, the spell can't legally be cast unless you pay that non-mana cost. If you were able to copy Lightning Axe a few times without paying its mana cost, you would still have to discard or pay the "additional cost" for each copy as you cast it, since that's an effect outside of the mana cost. Yep, it's depressing.

On the other hand, sometimes the answer to information obtained from the game will be "yes". You cast Go for the Throat on Ink-Treader Nephilim (don't ask me how, and don't ask me why). You also control a Arcbound Worker, a Mortician Beetle, and a Jace, Vryn's Prodigy  Flip. The Worker stays alive, while everybody else dies, because each copy of Go for the Throat obtains information before it resolves. If you were able to flip Jace into a PW, he would also stay alive, since he left the battlefield and is now a "new" permanent. Same thing would happen if you used Liquimetal Coating on Jace before the spell resolved. That same reasoning would also apply to secondary effects on combat tricks, such as Fistful of Force -- if you win the clash each time, everybody gets big.

Now, let's say you control Harness the Storm and have a Flash Conscription in your grave, with 12 mana up (again, don't ask me how). You cast Flash Conscription from your hand, then also cast it from your grave using Harness's ability. Both copies would grant lifelink, since you paid W for each one.

Hope that helps! MtG has some notoriously confusing interactions, so I have asked many a question myself on this forum. Best of luck. Hit me up when you finish building and I'll be glad to look at your decklist.

Load more