Does removing a card from a graveyard then putting it back make it an invalid target?

Asked by SorcerersBone 3 years ago

I know when you blink a permanent that it makes the spell or ability have nothing to target, but does the same apply to other zones? Specifically the graveyard? More concisely...

Two Reclaim s and one Harness the Storm . - Reclaim 'A' and a Forest in graveyard, Reclaim 'B' in hand, Harness on the field. - Cast B targeting A. - Harness triggers, Cast A (now outside of the graveyard) targeting a Forest. - A resolves (now back in the graveyard), Forest on top of library.

What happens? Is A still a valid target of B? Or did I pretty much just Cloudshifted my own card?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Whenever any card changes zones, it becomes a new entity with no knowledge of its previous existence. That means that if it's targeted by a spell or ability, it will no longer be a legal target if it changes zones even for a moment.

So no, A is no longer the same target that B had, and therefore B's target has become illegal and it fizzles.

April 5, 2016 1:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed