Deceiver of Form

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Deceiver of Form

Creature — Eldrazi

( represents colourless mana.)

At the beginning of combat on your turn, reveal the top card of your library. If a creature card is revealed this way, you may have creatures you control other than Deceiver of Form become copies of that card until end of turn. You may put that card on the bottom of your library.

Yesterday on Can you use Deceiver of …

7 months ago

Following up on a question from a few days ago, what happens if you control a face-down creature that doesn't have morph or a variant, and your Deceiver of Form's trigger goes off? I reveal a Scornful Egotist off Deceiver's trigger.

According to the answer in the other thread, if I control an Akroma, Angel of Fury I've cast as a morph creature, I can flip it face-up for U at which point it'll be a face-up Scornful Egotist until end of turn.

If I control a Yargle, Glutton of Urborg that was turned face-down with an Ixidron, can I spend U to turn the Yargle face-up?

And if so... what happens if I've used a Magar of the Magic Strings to reanimate a sorcery spell as a face-down creature? Can I pay U to turn it face-up as a copy of the Egotist until end of turn? Or do the rules that prevent instants and sorceries entering the battlefield prevent you from turning the card face-up even when it's a copy of a creature card?

Rhadamanthus on Interaction between Deceiver of Form …

7 months ago

Yes, that's how it will work. When that first happens they will remain colorless nameless 2/2s due to the fact that they still have the face-down status, but if you go through the process of turning them face-up, the characteristics you use to determine what they will look like when face-up will be the ones defined by the copy effect. In your example that means they will have the Morph cost etc. of the creature shown with Deceiver of Form and that's the cost you will need to pay when turning them face-up.

CamraMaan on Interaction between Deceiver of Form …

7 months ago

So I have multiple face-down morph creatures in play, as well as Deceiver of Form, and at the beginning of combat Deceiver of Form reveals another morph creature on my library... can I pay that card's same morph cost to flip up a face-down morph creature already in play?
Thanks in advance!

CamraMaan on Does Animar, Soul of Elements …

1 year ago

Do Eldrazi like Deceiver of Form still require a colorless mana source to be tapped and used when Animar, Soul of Elements already has enough +1/+1 counters on it to cover the whole cost? I'm assuming Animar covers the whole cost, but I just want to make sure. Thanks in advance!

Good_Old_Phyrexian on Budget Eldrazi Combo Deck

1 year ago

I think that the Deceiver of Form + Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger to then use Conduit of Ruin doesn't work the way intended.

If Conduit of Ruin puts Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger on top of your library, then Deceiver of Form makes all your creatures into copies of Ulamog.

Since Ulamog is legendary, you will have to sacrifice all your creatures, except for one.

TijuanaBachelorParty on Deceiver of Form Combo

1 year ago

Angel_Zero I have thought about a graveyard based approach using a reanimator strategy for the Deceiver of Form and using utility cards such as Reclaim to stack the top of the deck. It could be smoother but we would still need creatures to transform. Perhaps Satyr Wayfinder and Stitcher's Supplier?

Mwonvuli Beast Tracker could be a very useful card in this kind of build too.

Angel_Zero on Deceiver of Form Combo

1 year ago

could try using Persist/Unmarked Grave to cheat out Deceiver of Form since it is 7 mana

TheMeadiator on "The Thing" 1982 Movie Deck

2 years ago

OH GOD that would be so hilarious and also revolting. That's funny about Deceiver of Form revealing Lazav, Dimir Mastermind - I'm trying to think how that would ever work. Was it just a dud trigger at that point, or could you combo off if it?

Sakashima is a crazy good card. Add it if you have it! Also, many thanks for the feedback - I'm so glad you're having fun with it!

Load more
Have (3) JordanSanFran , metalmagic , gildan_bladeborn
Want (0)