Rivaz of the Claw
Start Commander Deck

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Modern Beyond Horizons Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planar Constructed Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Standard Brawl Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Rivaz of the Claw

Legendary Creature — Lizard Warlock

Menace (This creature can't be blocked except by two or more creatures.)

: Add two mana in any combination of colours. Spend this mana only to cast Dragon creature spells.

Once during each of your turns, you may cast a Dragon creature spell from your from your graveyard.

When you cast a Dragon creature spell from your graveyard, it gains "When this creature dies, exile it."

Recommendations View more recommendations

Defiant Thundermaw
Plundering Predator
Embermouth Sentinel
Dragon's Prey
Molten Exhale
Kolaghan Warmonger

NV_1980 on The Ur-Dragon

16 hours ago

Rivaz of the Claw deserves a place in here. His mana-ability is awesome, but the effect he can grant to have destroyed dragons return to the battlefield might be just as good, if not better. And all that for just CMC3!

AlistarFiend on How to Train Ūr-Dragon

1 year ago

Profet93 You would think I would need to add more mana rocks, but honestly it has not been much of a problem getting The Ur-Dragon in to the battlefield. Ancient Copper Dragon, Cavern-Hoard Dragon, Decadent Dragon, Goldspan Dragon, Klauth, Unrivaled Ancient, Morophon, the Boundless, Old Gnawbone, Rivaz of the Claw and Sarkhan, Soul Aflame all work very well as mana ramp in this deck.

NV_1980 on Ur-Destruction Dragon

1 year ago

Looks great; well done on the brew! Rivaz of the Claw could be an excellent addition; not just for his mana-dorkiness, but also for his excellent recurrence abilities.

wallisface on does paying an activated ability …

1 year ago

Both abilities and spells use the stack, so i’d suggest ignoring that as an indicator of anything.

A spell is “cast” only when you’re paying its casting cost, or if another effect/ability specifically states you may “cast” it for an alternate cost.

As an example, Gravecrawler explicitly lets you “cast” it from the graveyard - this will be a cast trigger. Conversely, Reassembling Skeleton has an ability that returns it to play, but nowhere does it state that this effect counts towards being cast, so its not - its just an activated ability.

In the case of your Boneyard Scourge, its just a triggered ability that has taken place. As the effect doesn’t mention anything about being “cast”, it isn’t.

You cannot use the mana ability of Rivaz of the Claw to activate the Boneyard Scourge ability, because its not being spent to “cast a dragon spell”.

plakjekaas on does paying an activated ability …

1 year ago

Boneyard Scourge has a triggered ability that puts it on the battlefield, that's not casting a spell.

Casting a spell means moving it to the stack, paying the casting cost in the process. Casting spells typically happens from your hand, but there's cards that allow you to cast spells from elsewhere. Cards with Flashback like Angelfire Ignition allow you to cast the spell again from graveyard for an alternative cost. Rivaz of the Claw allows you to do that with any dragon spell, but only once per turn. Spells with Cascade (Bloodbraid Elf ) allow you to cast a spell from exile from the top of your library for free. What these cards all have in common, is their reminder text (italic, in brackets) literally mentions "You may cast". If it says "Return to battlefield" or "Put onto the battlefield" then it's an ability or an effect from another source, but you didn't cast the creature.

Casting Reanimate on a dragon in your graveyard is not casting the dragon. Ebondeath, Dracolich can be cast from your graveyard whenever any other creature died this turn. If you do that with Rivaz in play, thàt one will get exiled if it would die again.

Hope that helps '^^

Loyalty on does paying an activated ability …

1 year ago

If I pay to return Boneyard Scourge to the battlefield with Rivaz of the Claw out, will it become exiled the next time it dies?

I guess it's more a question about what counts as "casting".

Thanks.

droslag on Dragons,Speed, and Control

2 years ago

I see you’ve already added Invasion of Tarkir  Flip already got my set, decided to make rakdos dragons. Have you considered Bloodtithe Harvester , Fable of the Mirror-Breaker  Flip and Rivaz of the Claw ??

This is my list right now, seems a lot of fun in testing.

Rivaz’ rakdos dramgans

Load more
Have (0)
Want (1) C0LDE