Brain in a Jar

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Heirloom Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Casual Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Shadows over Innistrad (SOI) Rare

Combos Browse all

Brain in a Jar

Artifact

, : Put a charge counter on Brain in a Jar, then you may cast an instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Brain in a Jar from your hand without paying its mana cost.

, , Remove X charge counters from Brain in a Jar: Scry X.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

SOI

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Brain in a Jar Discussion

bushido_man96 on Pass me the Lungs Will You? [[HELP NEEDED]]

2 weeks ago

Brain in a Jar seems like it would be a bit clunkier, but it might work well once you get it going.

bushido_man96 on Pass me the Lungs Will You? [[HELP NEEDED]]

2 weeks ago

Sensei's Divining Top would help do that, too, but its tad pricey. Soothsaying will really help you with that, and I'm glad to see you included it. A more budget option that might provide you with some interesting plays is Brain in a Jar. Freed from the Real would be another way to untap Geralf. You might need to up the creature count in your deck, too, unless you plan on simply exiling the creature cards from other player's libraries.

Hyperalgialysis on Jeskai Black

3 weeks ago

Its all good, honestly I forgot all about frontier. Looks really good for that format, think you could work in a single Silumgar's Command in place of a land? When Brain in a Jar was a solid deck it did so much work for me, I can imagine it would have the same utility here.

Hyperalgialysis on How does one count split ...

1 month ago

You are making sense. Yes, you only need mana for whichever half you are casting. Because of cards like Brain in a Jar people would cast the bust half of Boom/Bust when a Brain in a Jar only had 2 counters on it. Wizards corrected the rule with aftermath cards. I just wanted to make sure you werent trying to get a much cheaper spell than the rules permit now. As far as the mana, you would figure out how you plan to use the card, for your example I personally would want to cast both halves the same turn so I would count it as a 4 drop. But if you plan to cast 1 half at a time count it as a 2 drop

Hyperalgialysis on How does one count split ...

1 month ago

The rules changed for these cards recently. The converted mana cost for Reduce / Rubble for example is 6. However, when on the stack, each half is only 3. Brain in a Jar would need 6 counters on it to cast Reduce / Rubble and would only be able to cast reduce, as the other part would need to be in the graveyard.

BlueScope on What does Riptide Replicator summon ...

2 months ago

For reference, you could do this with Mairsil and only one additional card if you cage that card and activate its ability, such as Brain in a Jar or Lux Cannon. If you have to do it all on the same turn, Gemstone Array delivers without tapping it. It looks like Mairsil is actually pretty great to build around charge counters, seeing as there are quite a number of options.

demonicgrizzly on Buggy cards

2 months ago

That is accurate. Split cards now have a combined CMC when not on the stack to prevent split card costs being cheated by things like Brain in a Jar

reelronin on grixis in a jar

3 months ago

Oops I missed it, it was Brain in a Jar.

Load more