acbooster Memelord Alpha


acbooster here, 20-year old aspiring judge from the Akron, Ohio area! My favorite formats are EDH and Pauper, and I plan to start getting into Modern soon. I love answering rules questions and deckbuilding, though when I work with EDH decks I don't build for power more than I build for flavor. EDH to me is a casual format that's meant to be a slower, more relaxed format than the 60-card constructed formats.


Current EDH deck: 30-05-16-jank-primers-mishra-copy

Next EDH deck: The Secret Star of the Hero Association

Current project: The Secret Star of the Hero Association


As of June 8th, 2015, after playing since RTR and spending who knows how much on Magic, I opened my first foil mythic from a pack of MM15, a foil Mox Opal


2austin5 says... #1

No worries, figured I might as well ask in case you held onto it for being the first foil mythic you opened lol. I remember mine was a Phyrexian Obliterator

March 8, 2017 2:48 p.m.

Argeaux says... #2

Wow nice Mox Opal crack.

I cracked a Chandra, Torch of Defiance from a Kaladesh Bundle.

Let's talk Humility.

So it stops all the Creatures from having stuff like Flying, makes them 1/1 but any +1/+1 Counters on them will still increase their P/T, and they still retain their Creature types and names.

Is that right?

February 26, 2017 9:24 a.m.

KIngWiggins says... #3

Sadly though, the only thing I have current interest in is Noxious Gearhulk. I could replace it with a date stamped foil and such but I doubt that interests you.

February 21, 2017 10:01 p.m.

Please login to comment

You would be correct.

Since Infect affects all damage, any damage Stuffy Doll deals to players will be in poison counters, and any damage dealt to creatures will be in -1/-1 counters.

March 18, 2017 2:06 p.m.

You will still control the Licid, but timestamp order means your opponent will control the creature. Since both it and Puca's Mischief are saying who controls what, the most recent effect takes precedence. You can detach the Licid at any time (it's a special action and can be used whenever you have priority). If you detach the Licid after the Mischief's ability has resolved, the opponent you gave the creature to will still control it.

For the second question, it is not possible as the Licid will be put in the graveyard as a state-based action for being an Aura enchanted on nothing before anyone gets priority.

March 18, 2017 2:04 p.m.

Your opponent will.

In your situation, this is how the stack looks like:

Bottom: Yasova Dragonclaw's ability targeting Ezuri, Claw of Progress
Top: Bazaar Trader's ability targeting Ezuri, Claw of Progress and yourself

The top item will resolve, giving you control of your Ezuri (which you already have). Then the bottom item will resolve, giving your opponent control of your Ezuri.

There's no way in this situation to make sure you keep your Ezuri, though having Homeward Path would allow you to get him back.

March 18, 2017 12:43 p.m.

Note that all of them will have their counters multiplied by 8. The trigger says to double the number of +1/+1 counters on each creature you control, meaning each trigger will affect each Hydra.

March 18, 2017 2:05 a.m.

Yes. Each one gives all other permanents you control Hexproof. Since to each one the other is another permanent, they will give each other Hexproof.

March 18, 2017 2:03 a.m.

That's really a difficult question to answer without knowing what factors play into it. Some playgroups like to use a point system where points are allocated to a player for certain things determined by the group as a whole.

The answer really is that the game would end in a draw, and with the information we're given there's no way to resolve the tie other than playing another game.

March 16, 2017 1:53 a.m.

Said on How exactly do ......

#7

The empty piles do count as piles, the card has reminder text at the end that says that this is possible. Since they count towards the total of 3 piles, your opponent basically has a 1/3 chance to sacrifice everything they had, but a 2/3 chance to not sacrifice anything.

March 15, 2017 11:35 a.m.

Yes you will.

When a creature with first or double strike is involved in combat, there are two combat damage steps. The first one is for creatures with first strike or double strike, and the second is for creatures with double strike or without either ability. Combat damage is dealt in two separate instances so you will get 2 sliver tokens during the first combat damage step, then another 2 during the second combat damage step.

March 15, 2017 12:35 a.m.

Yeah it sounds like the judge needs to brush up on their rules knowledge. Make sure to mark an answer so this leaves the unanswered queue.

March 14, 2017 5:54 p.m.

Remember to link all cards in your question.

Drana, Liberator of Malakir

When creatures with first or double strike are in combat, they deal their combat damage in the first combat damage step. Any abilities that trigger will go onto the stack after damage is dealt and state-based actions are checked (for example, if a creature has lethal damage marked). These abilities will resolve and the game moves onto the second combat damage step, where creatures with double strike and normal creatures will deal their combat damage.

In short, the counters will be put on your creatures before regular combat damage is dealt if Drana deals combat damage to your opponent.

March 14, 2017 5:38 p.m.

Said on mindbreaktrap...

#11

Lotleth Troll

No you cannot. By the time they resolve they are no longer spells and are rather permanents. Spells are only spells on the stack, permanents on the battlefield, and cards anywhere else.

It's also worth noting that Vengevine is not being cast so you would have to pay the for it because your opponent only cast two spells.

March 14, 2017 10:43 a.m.

A small thing to note - Instants and sorceries are never put on the battlefield. Every spell cast or ability activated or triggered goes onto the stack, and any creature, artifact, enchantment, or planeswalker spell will end up on the battlefield when it resolves. Instants and sorceries go straight from the stack to the graveyard upon resolution.

March 13, 2017 4:49 a.m.
  1. The game will rewind to before the spell was cast, any lands being tapped to pay for it being untapped.

  2. The game will rewind to before the land was sacrificed.

In both of these cases, since an action was taken illegally and was caught right away, the game is made to rewind to before the action was taken and the game proceeds as normal.

March 13, 2017 3:33 a.m.

Said on Teysa and soul ......

#14

Good catch, I didn't even read the card because I thought it was the other Teysa.

March 12, 2017 6:40 p.m.

Said on Teysa and soul ......

#15

Yes.

Soulbond only cares if the permanent you're pairing it with is a creature. So long as they're both creatures when one or the other enters the battlefield, they can be paired and will remain paired until one of them leaves the battlefield.

March 12, 2017 2:36 p.m.

Said on If I cast ......

#16

Panharmonicon doesn't affect Metallic Mimic at all.

Triggered abilities always start with "When", "Whenever", or "At". Metallic Mimic has an ability that modifies how it enters the battlefield, but it's not an ability that triggers when it enters the battlefield.

However if you were to have two and have Human named on one and Werewolf on the other, both will have the Village Messenger  Flip enter with a +1/+1 counter. Again though, this is not a triggered ability and Panharmonicon won't affect it.

March 12, 2017 11:33 a.m.

Slight correction: You can pay a total of four, but only if there's a cost increase or reduction applied. e.g. Thalia, Guardian of Thraben being out and you cast Release the Gremlins for X=1, or Baral, Chief of Compliance is out and you cast it for X=2.

March 12, 2017 8:30 a.m.

Said on turn 1 lose ......

#18

The Q&A is for rules questions only. This will probably go better in the General or Legacy forums.

Storm Crow being good is a joke from Alliances when it was first printed alongside Force of Will. The joke is that any blue card is good because you can pitch it to Force.

March 11, 2017 1:11 p.m.

Decks

[S] Cascade

Commander / EDH* acbooster

SCORE: 10 | 20 COMMENTS | 2169 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Steve's Argyle Socks

Casual acbooster

SCORE: 4 | 6 COMMENTS | 565 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Amalgamation of Corruption

Commander / EDH acbooster

SCORE: 4 | 10 COMMENTS | 734 VIEWS

The Shell Game Redux

Commander / EDH acbooster

SCORE: 10 | 16 COMMENTS | 892 VIEWS

Thalia's Debt Collectors

Commander / EDH acbooster

SCORE: 21 | 28 COMMENTS | 2740 VIEWS | IN 6 FOLDERS

My Stomach Was Making the Rumblies

Commander / EDH* acbooster

SCORE: 4 | 4 COMMENTS | 256 VIEWS

The Acromantula Barrens

Commander / EDH* acbooster

SCORE: 2 | 3 COMMENTS | 154 VIEWS

The Secret Star of the Hero Association

Commander / EDH* acbooster

SCORE: 2 | 310 VIEWS

Finished Decks 25
Prototype Decks 14
Drafts 22
Playing since Return to Ravnica
Cube Drafts 1
Points 4306
Avg. deck rating 7.73
T/O Rank 18
Helper Rank 225
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Casual
Good Card Suggestions 65
Venues Underhill Games, Derium's CCGs
Last activity 4 days
Joined 4 years