Stifle

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planar Constructed Legal
Planechase Legal
Premodern Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Stifle

Instant

Counter target activated or triggered ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)

hiddengibbons on Card creation challenge

2 weeks ago

It That Cannot Be Named

Legendary Artifact Creature - Phyrexian Eldrazi Construct

~ Can’t be cast if it’s owner controls a blue permanent

Trample, Annihilator 6

When ~ is on the stack, you can’t cast any other spells this turn.

If ~ would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, exile it instead.

When ~ enters the battlefield it’s owner sacrifices all other permanents he or she controls and loses the game at the beginning of his or her next upkeep.

20/20

I tried to create a new Phyrexian Dreadnought of sorts that can’t be played with Stifle or Dress Down but can win the game if you manage to use it immediately. Create a card that grants infect to instants and sorceries

Polaris on inalla, archmage ritualist ability copied …

3 months ago

It does not remove the second trigger. Let's go through this step by step:

  1. You cast a generic non-token Wizard.
  2. Priority passes around the table to take instant-speed actions.
  3. All players pass priority without doing anything; the Wizard resolves and enters the battlefield. This fulfills the trigger for Inalla, Archmage Ritualistfoil. Players have not gotten priority yet.
  4. As Inalla would trigger, Naban, Dean of Iteration's replacement effect applies. Inalla triggers twice. Players have not gotten priority yet.
  5. You, the active player (presumably, since it's your turn unless maybe you cast the Wizard with flash), would get priority. Inalla's two triggers are immediately put on the stack, then you get priority.
  6. You pass priority. Your opponent gets priority and casts Stifle targeting one of your Inalla triggers.
  7. Priority passes around the table again; assuming no one does anything, Stifle resolves and counters its target.
  8. Priority passes around again, then Inalla's remaining trigger resolves. At this point you decide whether to pay to make a copy of your Wizard.

Notably, one Inalla trigger has to go uncountered in this scenario. Naban's replacement effect can't be responded to; by the time anyone can take an action, two Inalla triggers are on the stack. Paying is also part of the resolution of the ability, so the player has to counter your Inalla triggers before you pay any mana to them.

Swebb87 on inalla, archmage ritualist ability copied …

3 months ago

Hi, I have Inalla, Archmage Ritualistfoil and Naban, Dean of Iteration out, I cast any generic non-token wizard. My opponent plays Stifle on Inalla's initial triggered ability, does that also remove the trigger that nabaan creates or are all associated copies of the ability countered as the original trigger from Inalla was countered?

SufferFromEDHD on SufferFromEDHD

4 months ago

Psychic Vortex

I'm determined to make a deck where this is the engine piece. If anyone out there can read this tell me your favorite combos!

I constantly run Ensnaring Bridge because of my fondness for Null Brooch so this is a clear point of synergy. I'm thinking there are enough Crucible of Worlds effects now to nullify the land sacrifice. Extra mana rocks would help too. If you are running Stifle tempo tech it can also address the end of turn tax. It feeds reanimation and flashback smoothly. There is a small list of commanders where this is an auto include due to the strategy (Muldrotha) or the clear synergy (Damia)

Neotrup on Question regarding Gyrus, Waker of …

5 months ago

Gyrus, Waker of Corpsesfoil second ability creates a delayed triggered ability. If you end the turn before that ability triggers, it will still trigger the next time the applicable condition is met. That is, if you activate Sundial of the Infinite before the end of combat step on the turn you create the token, the ability will trigger to exile the token during your opponent's end of combat step on the next turn.

If you wait for the ability to trigger (which is what you most likely want to do anyways so that combat damage is dealt) and end the turn during your end of combat step, the ability will be exiled and fail to resolve, so you'll keep the token. Since it already triggered, it won't trigger again. If the ability was granted to the creature (such as if Gyrusfoil said "It gain's "Exile this token at end of combat"") that ability would trigger at ever end of combat step rather than just once. As written though, you'll keep the token.

TL;DR - Yes, you can use Sundial of the Infinite to "Stifle" the exile and keep the token.

Neotrup on Copying Omnath, Locus of Creation …

8 months ago

If a player casts Stiflefoil in response to Strionic Resonator's activation targeting the same ability as the Resonator it will counter that ability removing it from the stack. That will cause the activation to no longer have a legal target when it tries to resolve, effectively countering both the original trigger and the activation.

As a note, Strionic Resonator would copy the landfall ability as a whole. When Omnath, Locus of Creation's ability resolves, it checks how many times the ability has resolved, not how many times it triggered, or which trigger it was. Copying the second trigger will make the copy add and make the actual trigger deal 4 damage to each opponent and each planeswalker you don't control, even though it was the second trigger, as it is now the third time the ability is resolving.

builderboy7 on Copying Omnath, Locus of Creation …

8 months ago

If player A controls an Omnath, Locus of Creation and plays their second land for turn, holds priority, and copies Omnath's triggered ability to add 4 mana to their mana pool with a Strionic Resonator. If then player B elects to cast Stiflefoil on the Omnath ability, what happens to the copy of the ability on the stack?

Coward_Token on How Are Red, Black, and …

1 year ago

Green getting Stifle-type effects is actually a pet peeve of mine. It's too subtle and I feel it doesn't really fill a necessary role in the color's strength the same way Fog effects do. Really should go to white as a secondary ability, the non-lethal flavor is fitting and its similar to the color's existing mechanical ability of tapping things down

Load more
Created with Highcharts 9.3.3DatePricePrice historySCG000CNSAKHMPSWC04MB2Sep - 2021Jan - 2022May - 2022Sep - 2022Jan - 2023May - 2023Sep - 2023Jan - 2024May - 2024Sep - 2024Jan - 2025May - 2025$0$25$50$75$100$125$150
Have (2) Azdranax , metalmagic
Want (1) ACrispyTaco