Eye of the Storm

Eye of the Storm

Enchantment

Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery card, exile it. Then that player copies each instant or sorcery card exiled with Eye of the Storm. For each copy, the player may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) metalmagic
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Eye of the Storm Discussion

Gidgetimer on Veyran, Voice of Duality, what …

1 month ago

Your first two points are correct, So I am not going to address anything you said in them. I will address the rest of the question in the order the ideas are presented. Though it isn't going to be a nice ordered list, because some of your numbered points are mixing cards that operate differently.

Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind triggers off of drawing cards, not casting spells. The effect of the spell triggered Niv, not the casting of the spell, so Veyran, Voice of Duality has no interaction. Baral is the same. As is anything that doesn't trigger from casting a spell.

No cards in MtG need an extra cost to trigger. They trigger and go on the stack, and then have an optional cost to have an effect. Lunar Mystic and Mirari will trigger twice. You can pay as each trigger resolves to get the effect. You can pay for none, one, or both.

An instant or sorcery that triggers Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm will trigger them twice. Knowledge Pool requires you to exile the spell to have an effect, so only the first to resolve will have an effect, though there will be two triggers. Eye of the Storm doesn't require you to have exiled the spell to get the effect, so both triggers will have an effect.

Primal Wellspring and Pyromancer's Goggles trigger off of casting an instant or sorcery and so will trigger twice and make two copies.

Spellweaver Volute is an interesting case. I will look up the rules to copying objects that have left the expected zone and get back to you on it. My gut feeling is that 2 copies of the instant will be made.

cooknathan on Veyran, Voice of Duality, what …

1 month ago

I'm probably not the only one confused with which triggers Veyran, Voice of Duality works with.

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger condition or event], [effect]. [Instructions (if any).]”

  1. So cards like Guttersnipe or cards with magecraft clearly work (she triggers her own magecraft), cool, no problem.

  2. There seems to be a consensus that cards with prowess and similar ( Stormchaser Mage , Aetherflux Reservoir , Wavebreak Hippocamp ) also work so long as it triggers with an instant or sorcery and not another card type. Ok, so maybe the permanent's trigger condition does not need to say 'instant' or 'sorcery'.

  3. What about if something like Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind was triggered with a Brainstorm ? Does the permanent's trigger condition need to say 'cast' too? What 'causes' the triggered ability to trigger? Is it the casting or the drawing? Same question with Baral, Chief of Compliance .

  4. What about cards that need an extra cost to trigger Lunar Mystic or Mirari ? Do we (or can we, or can't we) pay the extra cost when Veyran triggers it an additional time?

  5. What about cards like Knowledge Pool or Eye of the Storm which also requires the card to exile?

  6. What about Primal Wellspring or Pyromancer's Goggles do you get two copies?

  7. If Runaway Steam-Kin has two counters and you cast a red instant, does it end up with four counters? Does Aria of Flame or Sphinx-Bone Wand get one or two counters? How about Mizzix of the Izmagnus ?

  8. How does Spellweaver Volute work? DO you get two copies of the same instant?

  9. I think that covers everything. If anyone has any weird edge cases, this might be a good place to post it. Do any of these cards not work for some reason? Sunbird's Invocation , Jori En, Ruin Diver .

Thanks!

JustcallmeSoul on Use My Hand? Why?

1 month ago

What about just randomly sticking in the best enchantment ever printed, Eye of the Storm .

hellokitty6666666666666 on New hubs to be added

3 months ago

legendofa I guess just decks whose main theme is causing chaos for the table lol. Shuffling permanents or spells around, cheating others' creatures or permanents out, randomly countering spells, just causing general chaos.

Cards like Grip of Chaos , Planar Chaos , Possibility Storm , Hive Mind , Eye of the Storm , Chaos Warp , Scrambleverse , Warp World , Wild Evocation , etc. come to mind.

Searching decks and forums on here brings up quite a lot of results. I would consider my deck here: Giving Good People Bad Permanents a chaos deck. EDHREC has a 'Chaos' theme hub as well if you're interested in looking there.

Romer on Riku's Replicants

3 months ago

Hey Forceofnature1, thanks for the positive feedback!

Yep, I've played this deck many times over the past decade. It was my first commander deck, way back in 2011, and I've continued updating it over time. Riku's definitely a target when he comes out but there are so many other sources of replication that I can often still be a threat with big board presence without him.

Hmm, I'm not super into chaos playstyles myself but if you were looking to go in that direction I'm thinking you'd want things that let you cast spells for free so you could save your mana to copy those spells or copy the creatures as they enter the battlefield. Things like:

You could also look at things that have this effort for all players, banking on your ability to create additional copies of spells, letting you pull ahead of other players in value:

Trying to think of other chaotic effects - maybe Genesis Ultimatum ? You could copy the Ultimatum itself, plus any creatures that ETB from it you could make copies of, too.

You mentioned reworking your Riku deck with Sakashima at the helm - did it become mono-blue or did you use the new Sakashima partnered with someone green/red?

Neotrup on Eye of the storm and …

4 months ago

As Omniscience_is_life alluded to in their last post, assuming the cascade spell is an instant or sorcery, you'll be able to cast Wheel of Fortune at least twice, but you'll also cascade again which means if you hit another instant or sorcery, you'll be able to repeat the process, casting another Wheel of Fortune and cascading again. This process will keep going until you cascade into a permanent spell, or run out of spells to cascade into (which if you are casting Wheel of Fortune may be fairly soon, as you could run out of library entirely).

It's also worth who controls Eye of the Storm and how it's ability and cascade go on the stack. Assuming you control both, you'll probably want to resolve it as has been described, but if you're opponent controls it, and you're casting on your turn (possibly because the cascade spell is a sorcery), you'll resolve Eye of the Storm first. This means you'll exile the spell (and cast a copy), then cascade, then cast Wheel of Fortune starting the iterative process, assuming you wiff of that cascade, you'll only cast Wheel once, but you will get another chance to cascade once all the spells resolve, which could restart the process again.

Omniscience_is_life on Eye of the storm and …

4 months ago

Cascade doesn't copy the spell, merely allows you to cast the card off your library. Interestingly enough, if it was only copied, and not cast as the physical card, Eye of the Storm wouldn't trigger since it only cares about cards, not just spells

Omniscience_is_life on Eye of the storm and …

4 months ago

If you put two brackets (these guys > [, ]) on either side of a card's name, (four total) it'll put a link to the card and people can see it much easier. This and more important information can be found in the comment tutorial link beneath the comment box, found whilst in threads, decks, profile pages, or Q&A sections.

Now! To your question! If you have Eye of the Storm in play, you cast a spell and cascade into a Wheel of Fortune, what happens is as follows:

Cascade triggers while the 4 cmc spell is on the stack. You hit the Wheel and it goes to be cast--except the Eye triggers and exiles it. You may then cast all cards under the Eye without playing their mana costs. The Wheel stays exiled until you cast another instant or sorcery spell: presumably after all that jazz we went over

Load more