Not legal in any format
Combos Browse all
Creature — Elf Shaman
Spells and abilities your opponents control can't cause you to sacrifice permanents.
Price & Acquistion
Tajuru Preserver Discussion
4 weeks ago
Cool deck though. +1.
1 month ago
Being facetious, I take it, as far as ramp? I have tried Gilt-Leaf Archdruid but with this build he doesn't have enough Druids to play with, or rather, cutting someone out for him is too big a loss (Warcaller is too helpful). I'd also probably have to run Craterhoof Behemoth in place of Ezuri, Renegade Leader, and Ezuri just does so much work it's hard to try to replace him. In my tests, he seems to be a bit better, but have you tried a similar build? Maybe I'll give ol' lake-foot more opportunity.
Yap, I'm gonna put that stuff in the sideboard. And I need Tajuru Preserver in there to help against Eldrazi.
1 month ago
Neotrup is correct. Critical to understanding their answer is that it matters what you do specifically when casting Ulamog because you have a choice in the matter.
Scenario 1: Grave Pact triggers resolve before Ulamog's is cast, and thus before Ulamog's cast trigger goes on to the stack
- As you alluded to earlier, mana abilities (formally mana sources) are special in MTG in that they do not use the stack and do not offer a chance to respond. In that, at least, they are "faster" than instant speed
- You sacrifice your Eldrazi tokens, putting mana in to your mana pool and Grave Pact triggers on the stack
- You must now wait for those triggers to resolve to cast Ulamog
- Once the stack is empty you may cast Ulamog, triggering his cast triggered ability, putting it on the stack on top of Ulamog
The advantage here is that you don't need to reveal you're casting Ulamog until you've seen what creatures your opponents are sacrificing. You might want to do this if your opponent has a creature such as Elgaud Shieldmate granting your real target hexproof.
Scenario 2: Grave Pact triggers hit the stack at the same time as Ulamog's cast trigger, and you order them the way you like
- This requires that you announce first that you're casting Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre
- As part of the action of casting the spell, you activate the mana abilities of your Eldrazi tokens, triggering Grave Pact
- Triggers do not go on the stack until a player gets priority
- Priority will not return to you until the process of casting the spell is complete
- When priority has returned to you, you now have X Grave Pact triggers and 1 Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre cast trigger waiting to go on to the stack with Ulamog itself at the bottom of the stack
- You control all of those triggers, you order them how you like
This method requires a more robust understanding of the rules governing the casting of spells than above. The principle is that you don't need to add all necessary mana to your mana pool then announce the spell, you can activate mana abilities as part of the process itself. See below for rules.
116.5 Each time a player would get priority, the game first performs all applicable state-based actions as a single event, then repeats this process until no state-based actions are performed. Then triggered abilities are put on the stack. ... Then the player who would have received priority does so.
601.2 To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f–h). To cast a spell, a player follows the steps listed below, in order. ...
601.2g If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.
605.1a An activated ability is a mana ability if it meets all of the following criteria: it doesn’t have a target, it could add mana to a player’s mana pool when it resolves, and it’s not a loyalty ability. (See rule 606, “Loyalty Abilities.”)
603.2 Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.
603.3 Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. ...
601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2a–h are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as it’s cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell’s controller had priority before casting it, they get priority.
3 months ago
I love what you've done here; the deck's balance strikes me as such that it will always be amazingly fun to play, against just about any kind of opponent!
As for suggestions, a ramp card I was thinking about was Weathered Wayfarer; would work very well in a deck without a whole lot of lands. In terms of protection, Mother of Runes, Aegis of the Gods, Tajuru Preserver and Grand Abolisher sprang to mind. And since Karador can reduce costs so much, how about Blazing Archon? Personally I might find a spot for Angel of Serenity; as an additional control option.
3 months ago
4 months ago
4 months ago
Thanks for the suggestions!
- Nullmage Shepherd: I didn't know this card but I like it. I don't have this card, but I am definitely giong to look out for it
- Tajuru Preserver: Sacrifice does not happen very often in my playing group and it doesn't hurt me that much. I will keep this card in mind for now.-Eladamri, Lord of Leaves: It takes my regenerate ability away but gives them cheap protection against target removal and forestwalk. This is a card that will certainly give me a boost.
- Fierce Empath: Why didn't I think about this myself?
- Lys Alana Huntmaster: I have already tried this card but in my opinion it was a little too slow. But of course this was when my deck was still casual. Maybe I'll give it another chance...
- I was perhaps a bit too busy with my own gameplan that I forgot these green staple removals, I'll find a place for these cards.
I will update my deck soon!