Bloodline Necromancer

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2017 (C17) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Bloodline Necromancer

Creature — Vampire Wizard

Lifelink

When Bloodline Necromancer enters the battlefield, you may return target Vampire or Wizard creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

C17

Ebay

Have (2) Unjust_DiabIo , KillDatBUG
Want (1) GoldGhost012

Recent Decks

Load more

Bloodline Necromancer Discussion

Neotrup on Does this Bloodline Necromancer combo ...

1 week ago

Ashes of the Fallen naming Vampire, Bloodline Necromancer, Body Double, and Goblin Bombardment would let you loop for infinite damage. Alternatively Bloodline Necromancer, Ashnod's Altar, and Inalla, Archmage Ritualist, either in the command zone or on the battlefield, would let you loop to produce infinite colorless mana and hasted creature tokens, with fewer cards, so there's that.

slim_chanc3 on Does this Bloodline Necromancer combo ...

1 week ago

I like the direction Monomanamaniac went. Could I target Clone or some other Shapeshifter/changeling with Bloodline Necromancer? All creature types right?

Lame_Duck on Does this Bloodline Necromancer combo ...

1 week ago

No. You need to choose a target for Bloodline Necromancer's ability when that ability is put on the stack, not when it resolves, at which point the Necromancer isn't in the graveyard and so isn't a valid target for the ability.

Rhadamanthus on Does this Bloodline Necromancer combo ...

1 week ago

Unfortunately this doesn't work. If a triggered ability has targets then you need to choose them at the time it's first put onto the stack. In your example the Bloodline Necromancer isn't in the graveyard at the time you have to choose a target for its ability (and you don't have an opportunity to make a response in-between the Necromancer entering the battlefield and the ability triggering).

If you can find something else for the Necromancer to target that can keep the loop rolling then you can make this work, but the Necromancer can't do it by itself.

Just in case it's relevant: if you're wondering why this doesn't work the same way as some Sharuum the Hegemon combos you may have heard of, it's because many of those loops rely on the specific ways state-based actions (SBAs) and triggered abilities work differently from one another. SBAs like the Legend Rule are processed right before each time a player would get priority, and a triggered ability that triggers is put onto the stack right at the next time a player would get priority. This is why a Sharuum killed by the Legend Rule can target herself with her own triggered ability.

slim_chanc3 on Does this Bloodline Necromancer combo ...

1 week ago

My format is EDH. Applicable board state as follow: 1) Goblin Bombardment is on the battlefield. 2) Bloodline Necromancer in hand. I cast Bloodline Necromancer from my hand. It resolves and enters the battlefield. It's triggered ability is put onto the stack. In response I sacrifice my Bloodline Necromancer with Goblin Bombardment and add "Goblin Bombardment deals 1 damage to target creature or player." to the top of the stack. Then the stack resolves. First the damage then the ETB trigger from the Bloodline Necromancer that I elect to target the Bloodline Necromancer in my graveyard. As Bloodline Necromancer enters the battlefield the cycle repeats from the point of the initial spell resolving. This cycles 1 damage at a time until all enemies have been taken to 0 life total.

slim_chanc3 on Wizards of the Storm

2 weeks ago

Ashnod's Altar would let you go with Bloodline Necromancer and your commander's Eminence ability. All the tokens have haste too. I think if you do it right you end up with infinite Bloodline Necromancer tokens with haste that you have to sac at end of turn. It would also allow you to cash in your wizard tokens for after paying for the extra wizard and it's fielding effects. Or there are several other sac outlets that will give you a mana not 2. Most of them are listed on my Marchesa deck here: Counting turns ’til it’s over, my friends....

ThrunTheTroll628 on [List - Multiplayer] EDH Generals by Tier

3 weeks ago

n0bunga, that is a much more thorough version of what I said, though I averaged out our reanimate spell to cost ~. Which seem a bit more likely.

If that was all it took to win I would have no doubts about it, my issue is that it also will only kill players that get hit, I know creatures aren't really a thing in cEDH (lol) but they are out there.

I missed the Bloodline Necromancer, seems pretty sweet.

Anyways you've convinced me to start brewing. I might have a list to post soon!

n0bunga on [List - Multiplayer] EDH Generals by Tier

3 weeks ago

ThrunTheTroll628 Her Eminence can be abused for multiple ETB triggers. And the Wanderwine is one of the wincons but it's more formidable that I think you make it out to be:1. Cast Wanderwine Prophets.

  1. Stack triggers so that Inalla resolves first, and Wanderwine's Champion is last.

  2. Pay for Eminence, make a token

  3. Put its Champion trigger on the stack.

  4. Exile the original Wanderwine Prophet

  5. Attack with the token, dealing cbt dmg.

  6. Sacrifice the token its damage trigger, and take an extra turn.

  7. Champion trigger puts the original Wanderwine Prophet back into play.

  8. Stack triggers in the same order

  9. Pay for Eminence and make another token

  10. Put its Champion trigger on the stack, exiling the original Wanderwine once again.

  11. Move to end step, exiling token.

  12. Champion trigger puts the original back into play.

  13. Stack in the same order, paying the mana, making the token.

  14. Token's Champion Trigger on the stack, Exile the original Wanderwine Prophet to the token's trigger.

  15. Move to next turn, since we're past the beginning of the end step the token stays for next combat.

If you're using Reanimate you're only paying for the initial reanimate, and an additional for the number of Eminence triggers per turn. Assuming we're budgetless, operating on all of the cheap/free mana rocks at our disposal this shouldn't be too problematic.

On top of that, assuming an opponent has infinite life, and Wanderwine's beats can't chip away, Jace, the Mind Sculptor is used to exile a library with all the extra turns.

The additional wincon is the ridiculous new Bloodline Necromancer. It and Ashnod's Altar can make an infinite number of hasty tokens. Similar to Wanderwine, when you cast the Necromancer, have Eminence resolve first, making a token, and before the token's ETB resolves, sac the original to Ashnod, making . Token ETBs, bring OG back, pay Eminence, make another token, sac the original, rinse and repeat.

And finally, as per most reanimate targets the lockdown with Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur and Sire Of Insanity are also reanimate targets. Neither specifically bear any synergy with Inalla, but are just great cards.

Load more