Shivan Phoenix

Shivan Phoenix

Creature — Phoenix

Flying

When Shivan Phoenix is put into a graveyard from play, return Shivan Phoenix to its owner's hand.

Browse Alters

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Shivan Phoenix Discussion

rdean14 on Card creation challenge

1 year ago

I think a life-oriented phoenix is the best option, Garza's Assassin is the most similar, but I think red can flavorfully spend life like that, also if a Phoenix costs life to come back, I think it makes sense that it has other life-related abilities:

Bloodflame Phoenix

Creature - Phoenix

Flying, Lifelink

, Pay half your life, rounded up: Return Bloodflame Phoenix from your graveyard to the battlefield. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.

3/3


I'd like to see another Phoenix, but neither a phoenix lord or a repeated method of return.

colton815 on Do I have a window …

4 years ago

you think Shivan Phoenix is bad? you're opponent was essentially just getting a stoppable Lightning Bolt each turn. there are much worse creatures they could have been throwing at you.

Epochalyptik on Do I have a window …

4 years ago

Note that objects in a graveyard can't be destroyed.

You can, however, exile Shivan Phoenix (SV).

SV has a triggered ability that triggers when SV dies. You can respond to this ability by activating Scavenging Ooze's ability.

TitanWalls on Do I have a window …

4 years ago

I was playing a game where my opponent had a Sneak Attack and Shivan Phoenix combo (what a jerk, right?) while I had a Scavenging Ooze in play. I found the wording on the phoenix to be confusing, so is there a period in which the Shivan Phoenix exists in the graveyard, in which I can use my ooze to exile it?

ndgipper on Interaction between Shivan Phoenix and …

4 years ago

Because in Turn to Frog it says "target creature loses all abilities", it means Shivan Phoenix loses its recursion ability. Therefore, because when it went to the graveyard without it's special ability, it no longer had that ability, it stays in the graveyard.

Neotrup on Interaction between Shivan Phoenix and …

4 years ago

Abilities like that of Shivan Phoenix are applied from the battlefield, not the graveyard. If the creature doesn't have the ability when it dies, it doesn't get returned. So no, the card stays in the graveyard. If another creature were a copy of the phoenix, it would be returned, even though the ability isn't on the card.

TitanWalls on Interaction between Shivan Phoenix and …

4 years ago

My buddy attacked me with his Shivan Phoenix and I cast Turn to Frog on him and blocked for lethal damage. At this point he said his card would return to his hand, but I insisted that since the creature had no abilities when it was being put into graveyard, then it wouldn't return. Who's right?