Mirror Gallery

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Betrayers of Kamigawa (BOK) Rare

Combos Browse all

Mirror Gallery

Artifact

The "legend rule" doesn't apply.

Mirror Gallery Discussion

TypicalTimmy on Commander damage when dealing with ...

1 week ago

So I am putting some finishing adjustments on my Silumgar Deck where I aim to make many copies of Dragons, and flood the board with tokens that gain the Dragon subtype. It's not meant to be a competitive deck, just a casual one for my laid back LGS and friends. It's actually a lot of fun to play.

Anywho, I realized a while ago that using either Helm of the Host on Silumgar, the Drifting Death OR using Mirror Gallery and hitting him for copies such as Rite of Replication is just bonkers fun.

But I had not considered until just now how the copies handle combat damage toward players.

So, if I swing at an opponent with a legal token copy of Silumgar, the Drifting Death , does that token copy deal Commander Damage? Or is it only the original physical card that deals that?

Kilrane on Blackblade Reforged

1 month ago

For some upgrades I'd suggest Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth + Lashwrithe and/or Nightmare Lash as a bonus you don't have to worry about losing Mirror Gallery . Essentially, it'll give you twice the potential plus harder deal with. Something on theme would be Bloodforged Battle-Axe .

CaptainBanana42 on Etrata, the Silencer (First EDH)

2 months ago

Another fun card with Etrata is Helm of the Host . If you put Mirror Gallery in your deck as suggested you should consider Rite of Replication . This card is realy funny in commander.

I agree with DRmagic2017 that you should put in some board wipes and more mana fixing. The tutors are not a must have in a deck. They are very good but you don't have to put them in a budget deck especially if the other players in your playgroup don't run them.

The_Epic_Dog on How far does protection from ...

2 months ago

The card in question is Progenitus .

• Does protection from everything protect it from the legends rule? (Can i have two of Progenitus out at the same time without a Mirror Gallery or Helm of the Host ?)

• Does it protect it from sacrifice effects like Merciless Eviction or All Is Dust ? What about Razaketh, the Foulblooded ?

• Does it protect it from bounce effects like Cyclonic Rift ?

Thanks

cdkime on Taysir's Challenge: No Creature Superfriends

2 months ago

With regards to the Legend Rule, you are "getting this right" as a planeswalker's subtype does not have any bearing on the Legend Rule. You are also correct that you do not need Mirror Gallery in this deck.

One slight clarification: "the Subtype of a Planeswalker makes no difference unless it has the same name as another the same player also controls" is not a 100% correct statement.

Technically, this statement should read:

The Subtype of a Planeswalker makes no difference unless it has the same name as another legendary permanent the same player also controls.

The Legend Rule only cares about Legendary permanents with the same name--if you have a legendary permanent and a non-legendary permanent with the same name, the Legend Rule will not be applied.

Normally, this is a situation which does not come up--the Legendary supertype is copied, so usually will be retained by copy effects. However, there are two recent cards where this particular rules nuance makes a difference. Jace, Cunning Castaway's ultimate will result in one Legendary Jace, and two non-legendary Jace tokens. These cards will all have the same name, but the Legend Rule is not implicated. Helm of the Host can be attached to a planeswalker-turned-creature (such as a Gideon), and will create a non-legendary copy of that planeswalker (the copy will be in planeswalker form, not transformed into a creature). Thus, you can use Helm of the Host to get multiple copies of some planeswalkers on the field.

Both are mediocre cards in a Planeswalker deck, so it's unlikely the situation would come up, but I wanted to clarify for the sake of accuracy.

BMHKain on Taysir's Challenge: No Creature Superfriends

2 months ago

@cdkime: Huh... Now I might know at least something, I guess... I read that post you written; I guess I could remove a particular ruling for this deck challenge (This is Regarding Planeswalker Types & how many one can put...)... Basically, if I'm getting this right, the Subtype of a Planeswalker makes no difference unless it has the same name as another the same player also controls. Well, either way, Mirror Gallery doesn't need to be on the Decklist anyway then; I'm actually glad I changed back to Lazav, the Multifarious... :/

cdkime on Taysir's Challenge: No Creature Superfriends

2 months ago

With regards to your questions on the Legend Rule, the questions do not make sense. You refer to "legendary" as a subtype, when it is, in fact, a supertype. You further do not seem to understand what Mirror Gallery does, and your question is a tad nonsensical as a result. Still, in the interest of helping you, I have written a mini lecture on the Legend Rule, with a particular focus on how it interacts with planeswalkers.

The Legend Rule reads:

704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.”

Wizards has had some trouble getting "legendary" and the Legend Rule correct. This was further complicated by the similar "Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule" which has subsequently been removed. Planeswalkers now fall within the confines of the regular Legend Rule:

306.4. Previously, planeswalkers were subject to a “planeswalker uniqueness rule” that stopped a player from controlling two planeswalkers of the same planeswalker type. This rule has been removed and planeswalker cards printed before this change have received errata in the Oracle card reference to have the legendary supertype. Like other legendary permanents, they are subject to the “legend rule” (see rule 704.5j).


Rules out of the way, how does this work for Planeswalkers?

First, all planeswalkers have received the "Legendary" supertype as errata. So, where Narset Transcendent previously said "Planeswalker - Narset" her Oracle text, which controls, reads "Legendary Planeswalker - Narset".

Next, it's the same rule as with creatures, artifacts, or other legendary permenants - if you control two legendary permanents with the same exact card name, one is sent to the graveyard as a state-based action. The subtype (i.e. the planeswalker type) is irrelevant. This might be a change from the Planeswalker uniqueness rule, but it is in line with other permanents--after all, you can control two "Legendary Creature - Elf Warrior" so long as the card names do not match (ex. you can control both Grand Warlord Radha and Radha, Heir to Keld).

So, looking at planeswalkers specifically, this means you can control both Jace, the Mind Sculptor and Jace, Unraveler of Secrets at the same time. However, you would not be able to control two Jace, the Mind Sculptor.


Mirror Gallery is an odd card that says Rule 704.5j no longer applies--permanents are not sent to the graveyard as a state-based action if you control two copies with the same name. With Mirror Gallery in play, you (or your opponents) can have as many copies of Grand Warlord Radha on the battlefield as you want.

Mirror Gallery does not remove the legendary supertype, or any cards that interact with Legendary permanents--it merely stops the state-based action from occurring.

As previously discussed, planeswalkers initially were not covered by the Legend Rule, but by the Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule. However, with this rule removed, Mirror Gallery applies to planeswalkers as well. With a Mirror Gallery in play, you (or your opponents) can control multiple cards named Jace, the Mind Sculptor.


With regards to the deck, you can cut Mu Yanling. She's a bad card to begin with, made worse by almost all your creatures being tokens.

Load more

Mirror Gallery occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.0%