Do multiple Sidisi, Brood Tyrants resolve their ETB triggers before being sacrificed?
Asked by Remyth 4 years ago
I was wondering what would happen if I equipped Blade of Selves to Sidisi, Brood Tyrant? Obviously I would have to sacrifice all but one of the Sidisis, but would the ETB triggers resolve before or after this?
Thanks for the help!
The Legend Rule is a state-based action and is carried out whenever a player would receive priority, that would be before the abilities go on the stack.
Say 2 new Sidisi, Brood Tyrants hit the field and both of their abilities trigger. Trigger doesn't mean go on the stack, triggered abilities must wait for a player to receive priority to go on the stack, so the next time a player gets priority SBAs are carried out then triggers waiting to go on the stack go on. You now have 1 Sidisi, Brood Tyrant and 2 ETB triggers on the stack waiting to be processed.
Sort of a technicality, but the Legend Rule does not "sacrifice" permanents, it simply moves cards to the graveyard as a game action. Abilities like Smothering Abomination looking for a "sacrifice" event will not trigger.
603.2 Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered abilitys trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesnt do anything at this point.
603.3 Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object thats not a card the next time a player would receive priority. ...
704.1 State-based actions are game actions that happen automatically whenever certain conditions (listed below) are met. State-based actions dont use the stack.
704.3 Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, Timing and Priority), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. ...
November 19, 2015 3:51 p.m. Edited.
FancyTuesday: Thanks! That was a very helpful, detailed answer. Answered the question and quite possibly future ones by helping me understand state-based actions a little better.