Rules Lawyer

Rules Lawyer

Artifact Creature — Cyborg Advisor

State-based actions don't apply to you or other permanents you control. (You don't lose the game due to having 0 or less life or drawing from an empty library. Your creatures aren't destroyed due to damage or deathtouch and aren't put into a graveyard due to having 0 or less toughness. Your planeswalkers aren't put into a graveyard if they have 0 loyalty. You don't put a legendary permanent into a graveyard if you control two with the same name. Counters aren't removed from your permanents due to game rules. Permanents you control attached or combined illegally remain on the battlefield. For complete rules and regulations, see rule 704.)

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Unstable (UN3) Rare
Promo Set (000) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Rules Lawyer Discussion

Yesterday on Non equipment equipments

5 months ago

There are a number of ways to turn Equipment into creatures in black-bordered Magic, so when we were playing with this card we followed Gidgetimer's quotes rule above.

However, we' re in silver-border territory here. So, if you were to have an Equipment that isn't a creature already be attached to a creature (such as by having Phoebe, Head of S.N.E.A.K. steal the text box of both Thassa, God of the Sea and Do-It-Yourself Seraph (and an Equipment via Seraph's ability either before or after Pheobe stole it)), and you control a Rules Lawyer when that equipment becomes a creature again, the state-based actions which cause the creature Equipment to detach from the equipped creature would not apply to those permanents, so you could have the Equipment also be a creature while it stays attached to the other creature and gives it the benefits. In that case, the Equipment creature would be able to tap and attack as a normal creature even while it's attached to the other creature which could also tap and attack as normal.

Rules Lawyer is hilarious, though also usually a bit of a nightmare for everybody involved in the game, including its controller. I'd recommend at least having a skim through the comprehensive rules on state-based actions if you plan on frunning it.

Wolfishhalfling on Hanna, Ship's Hedron Aligner

6 months ago

Hey man, I absolutely love the deck!

I also noticed that you have a heap of ETB creatures and thought a combo could be fun and help you tutor up all the pieces you need to get those pesky Hedrons where they belong!

If you use Fiend Hunter , Lumbering Battlement , and something like Wormfang Drake you can get infinite ETB effects with any other creature on the field when you play them! This is probably pretty clunky and not awesome but hopefully it should be quite fun to pull off.

Also, if you are using Mycosynth Lattice , Karn, the Great Creator is PRETTY good.

Not sure how hard you want to lean into Rules Lawyer but he has some nice synergy with Planeswalkers and their counters. Karn cannot die for having 0 counters on him, so that's fun! And don't forget that tokens can now live in the Graveyard and in exile :D

Caerwyn on Garruk Relentless at 0 Loyalty

1 year ago

Garruk dies before he transforms as a state-based action. State-based actions resolve before state-triggered abilities.

You'll need to add loyalty to him before the damage is dealt--a card with proliferate for example.

(I guess that's not 100% accurate: Rules Lawyer will allow him to transform if you hit 0 loyalty, but that's both an un-card and not in Green's colour identity).

Edit: Here's the rule:

Rule 704.3: Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, Timing and Priority), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player gets priority. This process also occurs during the cleanup step (see rule 514), except that if no state-based actions are performed as the result of the steps first check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, then no player gets priority and the step ends.

Guftders on Pattern Recognition #54A - Keyword ...

2 years ago

Great article as always! Just to point out, Rules Lawyer does not have deathtouch, it's just referenced in the reminder text, so really there's just two white cards with deathtouch regardless of how you look at it

PartyJ on legends of the seeker

2 years ago

Karakas and after the 15th of januari Rules Lawyer will also be banned.

Sorin_Markov_1947 on Rules Lawyer #2OP?

2 years ago

Is Rules Lawyer just too over-powered? I mean, you can't lose, your creatures can't die or lose counters, you just can't do anything against him.