Grim Affliction


Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Masters 2015 Edition (MM2) Common
New Phyrexia (NPH) Common

Combos Browse all

Grim Affliction


Put a -1/-1 counter on target creature, then proliferate.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts




Grim Affliction Discussion

HeretekAuger on Pauper Sultai Infect

1 week ago

Thanks for the advice. Virulent Wound looks great.Viridian Longbow isn't useful in this deck though, since i want to use pump spells.

As far as proliferate goes, i can only think of Fuel for the Cause and Grim Affliction right now.

PerfektJade on Skullbro, the Stomping Grave

1 week ago

My thought on Buried Alive was to only use it to grab Brawn, Filth and Death's Shadow. Not so much to reanimate, but just to get them to the yard. Death's Shadow would die as it ETB, then I could use Varolz to scavenge it for 13 counters on Skullbriar. Not bad for 2 black mana. Again, though, not sure how consistently useful it would be.

I may try Grim Affliction for a bit. There are going to be some cards I can't order just yet, so if nothing else, it'll be a decent placeholder.

I have a spare Decree of Pain that I could throw in to try. Not sure how I feel about 9 drop board wipes, but if I can find a spare of either I'll give one a try. Languish and Hazardous Conditions wouldn't do much in my play group, unfortunately. Lots of big creatures, voltrons and +1 styles.

Thanks for the feedback!

Grimpachi9918 on 3DH Hapatrah

2 weeks ago

Alright so just a few things that have made my list because they are amamzing and are budget could be:Ammit EternalCarnifex DemonWickerbough ElderShamanic RevelationContagion ClaspGrim AfflictionThrone of the God-Pharaoh

sonnet666 on Proliferate and Hapatra, vizier of ...

1 month ago

Yep. Hapatra triggers on each event that places 1 or more counters.

Grim Affliction has two effects, therefore those effects create separate events.

  • 609.1. An effect is something that happens in the game as a result of a spell or ability. When a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability resolves, it may create one or more one-shot or continuous effects. Static abilities may create one or more continuous effects. Text itself is never an effect.

  • 700.1. Anything that happens in a game is an event. Multiple events may take place during the resolution of a spell or ability. The text of triggered abilities and replacement effects defines the event they're looking for. One 'happening" may be treated as a single event by one ability and as multiple events by another.

Example: If an attacking creature is blocked by two creatures, this is one event for a triggered ability that reads "Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked" but two events for a triggered ability that reads "Whenever [this creature] becomes blocked by a creature."

  • 603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability's trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn't do anything at this point.

And Dusk Urchins WILL give you additional draws if it gets more -1/-1 counters on it before SBA's are checked. This can turn Black Sun's Zenith into a large draw spell.

Tyrant-Thanatos on Proliferate and Hapatra, vizier of ...

1 month ago

I do believe that you are correct cdkime about Grim Affliction placing the two counters as separate events and triggering Hapatra twice though. Triggered abilities only go onto the stack once a player gains priority, but that doesn't stop them triggering more than once before that happens.

cdkime on Proliferate and Hapatra, vizier of ...

1 month ago

I was being silly--I was thinking about 704.2 ("State-based actions are checked throughout the game and are not controlled by any player."), and forgot the timing element of Rule 704.3 (SBAs are checked when a player gains priority. Ignore my response to your second and third questions, and listen to Tyrant-Thanatos instead!

Tyrant-Thanatos on Proliferate and Hapatra, vizier of ...

1 month ago

-1/-1 Counters don't kill a creature until SBAs are checked, which doesn't happen until after the entire effect resolves. If you cast Grim Affliction targeting an X/1 creature, you can proliferate a second counter onto said X/1 because it will not die until after the entire effect resolves.

Also, you can respond to Dusk Urchins' triggered ability with Grim Affliction to give it two more counters, but it would die before its own trigger resolves, and would only have 4 counters on it at the time (assuming you have no +Toughness effect on it).

cdkime on Proliferate and Hapatra, vizier of ...

1 month ago

You would get two snakes, and the creature would die before you could proliferate.

When a card has a "then" statement, it is an event which occurs after the first event. You or an opponent cannot respond between these events, however (i.e. they cannot let you get a -1/-1 counter, then counter just the proliferate trigger).

I cannot find the specific rule in the comprehensive rules on "then" statements on cards, but the rulings on Grim Affliction should be sufficient if anyone asks for a rules clarification. Per the ruling on June 1, 2011: You may choose the creature you put the -1/-1 counter on to get another -1/-1 counter when proliferating.

This shows that the -1/-1 counter from the card is placed on the creature before the proliferation. If this were not the case, then you could not target the recently added -1/-1 counter with proliferate. Since these are separate events, they will trigger Hapatra twice.

Likewise, if you kill the creature with the first -1/-1 counter, it will no longer be around when the proliferate mechanic triggers, so you cannot place an additional -1/-1 counter.

For your third question, you cannot play Grim Affliction in response to getting the third -1/-1 counter from attacking. Your creature will die instantaneously as a state-based action, and you cannot respond at instant speed.

Load more