
Combos Browse all Suggest
Legality
Format | Legality |
1v1 Commander | Legal |
Arena | Legal |
Block Constructed | Legal |
Canadian Highlander | Legal |
Casual | Legal |
Commander / EDH | Legal |
Commander: Rule 0 | Legal |
Custom | Legal |
Duel Commander | Legal |
Gladiator | Legal |
Highlander | Legal |
Historic | Legal |
Historic Brawl | Legal |
Legacy | Legal |
Leviathan | Legal |
Limited | Legal |
Modern | Legal |
Modern Beyond Horizons | Legal |
Oathbreaker | Legal |
Pioneer | Legal |
Planar Constructed | Legal |
Tiny Leaders | Legal |
Vintage | Legal |
Mindlink Mech
Artifact — Vehicle
Flying
Whenever this becomes crewed for the first time each turn, until end of turn, this becomes a copy of target nonlegendary creature that crewed it this turn, except it's a 4/3, it's a Vehicle artifact in addition to its other types, and it has flying.
Crew 1 (Tap any number of creatures you control with total power 1 or more: This Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.)
Chaospyke on Minklink mech and Enduring Glimmers
8 months ago
Checking back on this, wouldn't Mindlink Mech still be an enchantment in addition to its other types, as being an enchantment is not part of its copiable traits, right?
Like if a Clever Impersonator entered as a copy of the reanimated Mindlink Mech, the Clever Impersonator should just be an Artifact Vehicle.
Neotrup on Mindlink Mech crewed by an …
8 months ago
I do believe the ruling is wrong, but it's not entirely clear. The reason Mindlink Mech is different from the other examples is that the copy it becomes is not a creature. Anikthea, Hand of Erebos can set the power and toughness of the copy because it explicitly states that the copy is a creature. Mindlink Mech only states that it's a Vehicle artifact in addition to it's other types. So when it becomes a copy of Mishra's Factory the copy effect makes it an Artifact Land - Vehicle. The reason it's still a creature is that it is still crewed, and if you somehow turn a Mishra's Factory into a creature using a crew ability it will in fact be a 0/0. The issue is, this should also apply to if it becomes a copy of a vehicle, because vehicles can't have power/toughness unless they're crewed, exactly like every other non-creature permanent, so there isn't really a reason to treat them differently in this case.
208.3. A noncreature permanent has no power or toughness, even if it's a card with a power and toughness printed on it (such as a Vehicle). A noncreature object not on the battlefield has power or toughness only if it has a power and toughness printed on it.
The reason to say a vehicle would still be a 4/3 is the next subrule, but it should apply to any permanent (including a land). The reason it might not apply would be that it's discussing power/toughness setting effects (Layer 7) rather than copy effects (Layer 1), but as it doesn't explicitly say such, I believe it would still apply and make the Artifact Land a 4/3.
208.3a If an effect would be created that sets the base power and/or toughness of a noncreature permanent, or otherwise modifies its power and/or toughness, that effect is created even though it doesn’t do anything unless that permanent becomes a creature.
Polaris on Minklink mech and Enduring Glimmers
8 months ago
This is a weird one, but here you go. TL;DR: No. It'll crew fine. Why this is gets strange.
When Mindlink Mech returns, it'll be an Enchantment. It loses the Vehicle subtype since it's not an artifact, per rule 205.1a: If an object's card type is removed, the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are also removed for the entire time the object's card type is removed. It will retain the 4/3 printed in its text box, though this won't do anything while it's not a creature.
Where this gets weird is if you crew it. The first wrinkle is that crew abilities read "this Vehicle becomes an artifact creature until end of turn," which could be problematic since it's not a Vehicle. However, the version of the ability in the comprehensive rules reads thus: "Crew N" means "Tap any number of other untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes an artifact creature until end of turn." (rule 702.122a) So the crew ability still works.
When you do, the crew ability's type-changing effect takes precedence over Enduring Curiosity's type-changing effect due to the newer timestamp. But it gets weirder. Becoming an artifact creature is a specific exception to types being overwritten, per rule 205.1b: Some effects state that an object become an "artifact creature"; these effects also allow the object to retain all of its prior card types and subtypes.
So: when the crew ability resolves, Mindlink Mech will go from being an Enchantment with no power and toughness to an Artifact Enchantment Creature - Vehicle that's a 4/3. Then its "first becomes crewed" triggered ability will resolve and it'll become a copy of target creature and its type line will change to that creature's type line plus Artifact and Vehicle (and it'll remain 4/3 with flying). It will most likely lose the Enchantment type. Then at the end of the turn, both the crew and copy effects will expire, and it will return to being an Enchantment with no subtypes.
Neotrup on How Multiple Archelos, lagoon mystic …
2 years ago
Mindlink Mech cannot target Archelos, Lagoon Mystic as it states "target non-legendary creature," and typically if you did copy Archelos with some other effect it would be subject to the legend rule and you'd need to choose just one to keep. If somehow you did end up with two sticking around with one tapped and the other untapped, each player will chose whether their permanents enter tapped or untapped as Gidgetimer stated.
pedroedmarcos on How Multiple Archelos, lagoon mystic …
2 years ago
Unnusual scenario, but here we go. Lets say that I have a Mindlink Mech crewed by Archelos, Lagoon Mystic. THis way I'll have 2 archelos, one untapped e other tappped. What happen if a permanent enters the battlefield? Will it be tapped or untapped?
lagotripha on
Myrtron
2 years ago
Forsaken monument and sun are exactly the kind of payoff cards that you should be looking for - stuff that cares about your creatures, draws cards and makes more mana.
Myr propogator is a weird one - I've run cloning effects with Followed Footsteps and Cogwork Assembler type effects, which can be strong, but they mostly need something else to make them great.
Propagator is a little slower than them due to the tap + cost, but also a little more resilient due to both myr having the tap effects. If you were shooting for a Myr Galvanizer combo deck propagator will works as a payoff, with a backup where you were sacrificing tokens to trade for cards on a stalled boardstate, or perhaps were generating tons of mana with a myr Priest of Titania (if they print more myr support) it might be great, but it just needs a lot of other cards to work - haste for the tap cost, 3 mana for the price, ands its still a 1/1.
Short of shenaigans with something like Dollhouse of Horrors Necrotic Ooze or Mindlink Mech, I'm not a fan. It just takes a lot of cards to make paying 3 mana for a 1/1 artifact token to be good.
Chino90 on
Heartless Giants
3 years ago
Mindlink Mech T3, Calamity Bearer T4, copy it, hit for 16 in the air.
Gattison on Wierd Interaction
3 years ago
If Mindlink Mech is crewed by a Permeating Mass, then the vehicle will become a Permeating Mass with base p/t of 4/3 that is also a vehicle with flying.
Then when the "Permeating Mass" deals combat damage to a creature, it would copy all of its own, current stats onto the other creature. So I'm pretty sure that the opponent's creature would also become a 4/3 artifact creature - vehicle spirit with flying and the ability to copy itself onto other creatures.
Have (1) | gildan_bladeborn |
Want (0) |