Tavern Brawler

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Tavern Brawler

Legendary Enchantment — Background

Commander creatures you own have "At the beginning of your upkeep, exile the top card of your library. This creature gets +X/+0 until end of turn, where X is that card's converted mana cost/mana value. You may play that card this turn."

DadHumanPraetor on Ganax: mono-R Treasure Dragons

11 months ago

I have Tavern Brawler as the background for my ganax deck

seshiro_of_the_orochi on I don't know what's going on, but it is

11 months ago

This is a very cool list, I really like the idea here. I also have some suggestions for you:

Syr Carah, the Bold could be additional card draw for you. Passionate Archaeologist will be a constant source of damage. Tavern Brawler and Outpost Siege draw additional cards.

You already have Blazing Sunsteel + Brash Taunter/Stuffy Doll, so that's an infinite combo you can use to win. Coalhauler Swine is another "masochist" creature. Chain of Plasma can turn your hand into fuel, and the empty hand is something you could utilize via Ghirapur Orrery. One final creature to include is Stormwild Capridor.

legendofa on How background works when your …

1 year ago

The "you" in any spell refers to its controller. If an opponent gains control of Tavern Brawler, then commanders that player owns will have the exile-pump effect while in play, whether or not they control the commander.

Let's say an Avarice Totem has been passed around. You now control an opponent's commander. That opponent controls your Tavern Brawler. When your upkeep starts, you will exile a card off their library, their commander (that you control) will get +X/+0, and you can play the card that you exiled.

If that opponent instead controls their own commander and your Tavern Brawler, that commander would get the exile-pump effect on their own upkeep.

Since Tavern Brawler grants the ability to a commander instead of having an independent effect, whoever controls the commander will gain the effect, regardless of who owns it, and every commander that Tavern Brawler's controller owns will have the effect, regardless of who controls it.

NTakamura on How background works when your …

1 year ago

So if my commander is under an opponent control would my background Tavern Brawler still effect it or do I need to be controlling it during the upkeep?

CommanderNeyo on Isshin, two attacks for one

1 year ago

Have you considered some of the new Backgrounds, such as:

Guild Artisan, to generate (4) treasure tokens.

Veteran Soldier, to create (6) soldier tokens.

Agent of the Shadow Thieves, to allow you to attack recklessly with Isshin.

Tavern Brawler, since it acts as pseudo-card draw.

Popular Entertainer, to goad your opponents' creatures.

I think that since Isshin is so cheap mana-wise, you can reliably have him and generate value out of the backgrounds. Let me know what you think!

Also, I am in love with Fiery Emancipation, and highly recommend it here as well if you have the budget for it.

amarthaler on EDH Rakdos Group Slug

1 year ago

Update!

I will be removing Tavern Brawler and play testing Popular Entertainer. The flavor of the deck kind of fizzles with this new Background's name and artwork, but I suppose we can imagine Sarevok as providing some ruthless, Rakdos-style entertainment as the crowd watches the table receive and inflict damage no matter what they do in a group slug fest!

Enjoy and please provide feedback if I missed something or incorrectly stated a syngery/mechanic.

Load more
Have (0)
Want (1) pombomartins