Sphinx of Enlightenment

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Sphinx of Enlightenment

Creature — Sphinx

Flying

When Sphinx of Enlightenment enters the battlefield, target opponent draws a card and you draw three cards.

DemonDragonJ on Commander Masters Previews and Speculation

3 weeks ago

I would like to see some of the cards that have only ever been printed in the Game Night sets be reprinted, here, simply to increase their availability, such as Avatar of Growth, Fiendish Duo, and Sphinx of Enlightenment.

DemonDragonJ on Kill them With Kindness

4 months ago

I have replaced The Immortal Sun with Sphinx of Enlightenment, which somehow increased this deck's average converted mana cost from 3.44 to 3.50, but the sun did not match with the theme of this deck, whereas the sphinx most certainly does.

ASalesman on Unesh, Ultimate Guide (Tribal)

1 year ago

ACTUALLY

  • Panharmonicon is too good for several reasons. Primarily, the value it gets while it's on the field invaluable. It will absorb at least one removal piece, because if it can't be removed the value train is pretty unstoppable. Secondly, its a great target for Sphinx of Enlightenment. I am taking out one card I find to be underwhelming, Arcane Denial, to make room for Panharmonicon again. I can justify this because I also just recently added 2 other counter spells (Force of Negation & Swan Song).

Rhadamanthus on What effect does Rise from …

2 years ago

It's a Sphinx of Enlightenment that's both Blue and Black, has the creature type "Sphinx Zombie", has the "Flying" and "When (this) enters the battlefield..." abilities, and is a 5/5.

Rise from the Grave only changes the characteristics it specifically talks about in the text. It adds Black to the creature's colors and adds the Zombie type to the creature's types. It doesn't take away any abilities or change power/toughness.

TheRealSpecialK on What effect does Rise from …

2 years ago

Rise from the Grave does not modify the power and toughness of the creature - it only adds to its colors and sub-types. Casting Rise from the Grave targeting your opponent's Sphinx of Enlightenment would get you Sphinx of Enlightenment - the actual card, not a token. However, that card will be modified - it will be a 5/5 Blue/Black Sphinx Zombie. Because it enters the battlefield under your control, target opponent would draw a card, and you would draw three.

Crwhome on What effect does Rise from …

2 years ago

I cast Rise from the Grave and pulled back into play my opponents [[Sphinx of Enlightenment]. Does it come back as a 2/2 Black Zombie or as Sphinx of Enlightenment?

And if as Sphinx of Enlightenment does the action of target opponent draws a card and you draw three cards come into effect? And is the creature a 5/5 in this circumstance

DadHumanPraetor on Thassa, Deep Dwelling edh

2 years ago

Aven Fogbringer not friendly card to bounce Sphinx of Enlightenment friendly card to bounce

ASalesman on Unesh, Ultimate Guide (Tribal)

3 years ago

smashadams83 Thanks for the input!

Rite of Replication: Is that how that works? I'm a little fuzzy on how the legendary rule applies here. I view Rite of Replication as a copy of a sphinx which I think is good, and the kicker option can be huge. The slot that it would have to take I think would be Clever Impersonator or Phyrexian Metamorph. But I prefer the versatility of those cards to the kicker ability. Perhaps its time to take out my trusty Serra Sphinx.

Windreader Sphinx && Sphinx of Enlightenment: I should definitely look into squeezing them in there, to help with draw, drawing cards is probably one of the most important themes of the deck.

Mystic Sanctuary: I agree with you on this one, I should probably take out an Isalnd for it.

Back to Basics: I have thought about this one before, I think its an excellent card that could take the propoganda slot in some matchups. Typically I don't run it because I don't have fun with it, but it definitely deserves a spot. HOWEVER I don't know how to get rid of it when I want to start using my Shrine to Nykthos. There is a little anti synergy here.

I'll have to do more thinking on Mind Over Matter && Dream Halls, I think they have potential. IDK what slot they would take yet, but I can see them putting in work if I include more card draw into the list. What's holding me back from these cards is that they are basically worse versions of Omniscience.

Load more