BlueScope Deckspert

...

Please login to comment

Raging_Squiggle is correct, but let me flesh this out with rulings, since you asked for it. The CR don't have anything in particular to say about this case, but the Gatherer rules for Grafted Wargear are relatively clear on the case:

The "becomes unattached" ability triggers if (a) Grafted Wargear leaves the battlefield, (b) the equip ability moves it onto another creature, (c) another effect moves it onto another creature, (d) an effect causes it to become unattached, or (e) the creature leaves the battlefield.

This paragraph is pretty clear about the ability only triggering if the equipment is moved to another creature.

You may activate this cards equip ability targeting the creature that it is currently attached to, even if its the only creature you control. Since the equip ability costs zero, you can do this as many times as you like during your main phases, though it generally wont do anything.

This ruling specifically mentions that it can be equipped an unlimited amount of times onto the same creature, meaning by abstraction that that creature won't have to be sacrificed.

For completeness' sake, what you're trying to do won't work with Lightning Greaves, because your creature will have Shroud.

January 19, 2017 2:23 a.m.

You would be correct - your opponent could return the creature to the battlefield, but they won't even be able to activate the ability (meaning they won't be allowed to sacrifice the Thopter), because there won't be a legal target for it at that point, since that specific object hasn't dealt combat damage to any player.

January 18, 2017 1:24 p.m.

As far as I know, there's nothing that grants Unleash to creatures at this time, but you maybe you're aware of that already.

The rules for Unleash suggest nothing that would make it a redundant ability:

702.97. Unleash

702.97a. Unleash is a keyword that represents two static abilities. "Unleash" means "You may have this permanent enter the battlefield with an additional +1/+1 counter on it" and "This permanent can't block as long as it has a +1/+1 counter on it."

Each ability would allow you to have the creature enter with an additional counter, so yeah, that makes two +1/+1 counters.

January 18, 2017 1:21 p.m.

All you really need is Yahenni to already have two or more counters, meaning two of your opponents' creatures will have to die before you cast Expertise, probably most easily with something like Chandra's Pyrohelix.

Also, since you were asking about the stack in particular, I feel like adding that you would really have to cast whichever card in response to Expertise, as casting it as part of the resolution of Expertise will have creatures with toughness 0 or less because of the -3/-3 effect be put in the graveyard before the spell you cast as part of the resolution resolves. They will still be on the battlefield when you cast the spell (because state-based actions aren't checked until after a spell resolves completely), though, so you could determine any creature with toughness 0 or less as a target for a spell, but that spell will be countered when it would resolve, as Yahenni will be in your graveyard by that time.

January 16, 2017 8:21 a.m.

Please link all cards relevant to your question: Yahenni, Undying Partisan, Yahenni's Expertise, Acrobatic Maneuver

Acrobatic Maneuver simply blinks the creature, meaning nothing happens inbetween the creature leaving and re-entering the battlefield (except for maybe abilities triggering).

The stack always resolves last-in-first-out, meaning Acrobatic Maneuver will blink Yahenni, then Expertise will give -3/-3 to all creatures (including Yahenni). If any creatures your opponents control die, Yahenni's ability will trigger that many times, but since it left the battlefield itself at this time, the abilities will do nothing when they resolve.

Long story short, you would get -3/-3 for all creatures out of this, and nothing else.

January 15, 2017 3:06 p.m.

It doesn't directly, but that's certainly a choice you have. Fabricate 2 will trigger twice, so you have the following choices (assuming everything resolves and nothing else happens):

  • create 4 1/1 Servo tokens
  • put 4 +1/+1 counters on the Enthusiast
  • create 2 1/1 Servo tokens and put 2 +1/+1 counters on the Enthusiast
January 15, 2017 8:55 a.m.

Said on so with the ......

#7

@Raging_Squiggle:

it will be slow play if you are just sitting there quietly while your opponent waits for your answer for an extended amount of time.

I wouldn't see that as slow play, more as stalling or another flavor of unsporting conduct. As I explained above, at any tournament level, independent of the REL, you're required to play at a reasonable pace. Slow play really just means you weren't able to play any faster, but didn't try to stall the game - your example clearly does the latter.

January 11, 2017 1:23 p.m.

Said on so with the ......

#8

Interesting question (in the sense that it's usually not asked this way), and interesting that noone's answered it so far.

There's two concepts your question asks about: Shortcut rules, and Tournament Rules. Let's first cover shortcuts by quoting the relevant rules:

719.2. Taking a shortcut follows the following procedure.

719.2a. At any point in the game, the player with priority may suggest a shortcut by describing a sequence of game choices, for all players, that may be legally taken based on the current game state and the predictable results of the sequence of choices. This sequence may be a non-repetitive series of choices, a loop that repeats a specified number of times, multiple loops, or nested loops, and may even cross multiple turns. It can't include conditional actions, where the outcome of a game event determines the next action a player takes. The ending point of this sequence must be a place where a player has priority, though it need not be the player proposing the shortcut.

719.2b. Each other player, in turn order starting after the player who suggested the shortcut, may either accept the proposed sequence, or shorten it by naming a place where he or she will make a game choice thats different than whats been proposed. (The player doesnt need to specify at this time what the new choice will be.) This place becomes the new ending point of the proposed sequence.

So, 719.2b is what will stop you in your tracks. You can't simply ask a player to go through the motions, but instead you'll have to say at which point, if any, you'd like to intervene. In your case, you may say "I'd like to do something after you created 3 additional tokens."

The first part already clears up the issue about you being able of using the game rules in your advantage for technical reasons. As far as intentions go, the tournament policy applies, which (independant from any RELs) has the following to say in the paragraph labelled "Tournament Violations":

5.5. Slow Play
Players must take their turns in a timely fashion regardless of the complexity of the play situation and adhere to time limits specified for the tournament. Players must maintain a pace to allow the match to be finished in the announced time limit. Stalling is not acceptable. Players may ask a judge to watch their game for slow play; such a request will be granted if feasible.

In other words, you're not allowed to stall the game. Depending on the REL and the exact situation (meaning whether there can be established that you were actually trying to stall, as opposed to slow-playing), this may be handled differently, though as far as I'm aware, you're gong to be DQ'd at any of the RELs at this time for stalling.

If you have a Make Obsolete in hand, the most you can "get" out of that using the game rules is to try to trick the opponent into thinking you're having an endgame by casting it at an unusual time. I don't see much room for that in this scenario, but considering you can survive the turn either way by casting it in the declare blockers step the latest, you shouldn't worry too much about that.

In general, I'd advise against a thinking pattern that tries to exploit the rules or even a given situation to your advantage. Even when you're not going to be breaking any rules and get penalized by judges, players will pick up on that behavior. Last but not least, Magic is a game of luck and skill, and at times, you have to accept that your opponent has had more of the both of them than you and live with it. After all, winning is only rewarding if you won fairly - at least in my opinion.

January 11, 2017 12:43 p.m.

Said on How does the ......

#9

To explain what happens in general:

  • once a creature blocks or becomes blocked, that doesn't change unless the creature is explicitly removed from combat (such as by regenerating).
  • blocked creatures only deal damage to blocking creatures, and vice versa, if both are still on the battlefield.
  • blocked creatures won't deal combat damage to players unless they have trample

Question 1: Elvish Mystic has been blocked, and due to the lack of Trample, it won't deal damage to the defending player even if it's power exceeds the toughness of all blocking creatures. This includes zero blocking creatures, such as in your example. Neither creature will deal damage in this case.

Question 2: As with Typhoid Rats in your first example, only creatures still on the battlefield will deal combat damage. Not only will Elvish Mystic not deal any damage - the defending player wouldn't be able to block it either way, as the creature already left the battlefield.

Question 3: Tapping a creature that has already been declared as a blocker changes nothing. It will still deal and be dealt damage to/by the attacking creature it's blocking.

Question 4: Just as with the previous question, whether a creature is tapped or untapped doesn't matter after it's been declared as an attacker. The creature won't be removed from combat by doing either. Vigilance doesn't change anything about this (and tapping an attacking creature with Vigilance would not do anything largely relevant either).

Question 5 (I can't see a question 6, but it may be included): Attackers are declared at the beginning of the declare attackers step. Declaring attackers is a tunr-based action that doesn't use the stac, meaning once the game enters this step, no player receives priority until attackers are declared, at which point tapping or untapping creatures won't be relevant. This means that the latest possible time to tap a creature to prevent it from attacking is the beginning of combat step.

January 10, 2017 6:13 p.m.

Countryside Crusher will pretty much have you put cards into your graveyard until you reveal a non-land card. This last card will remain on top of your library after being revealed. This whole process is a single ability that's resolving, as you repeat the process as part of the original ability.

All that Lens of Clarity will do for you specifically in this case is knowing whether you will get at least one +1/+1 counter on the Crusher or not, should the card that's on top of your library at any point prior to the Crusher's ability resolving stay where it is.
It will allow you to look at the top card at any point in time, so technically, you will know what card will be revealed next before you actually have to reveal them. However, since no player receives priority while an ability is resolving, you won't be able to do much with this information, as you'll have to wait until the ability has finished resolving.

January 9, 2017 10:18 a.m.

@darkmatter32x: That was never asked - the question was whether you can activate the ability without a card imprinted on it. That could happen as you describe by never imprinting one in the first place, or by some Processor removing it from exile, for example.

January 9, 2017 2:33 a.m.

Said on Jori En and ......

#12

It doesn't. Cards that will cast spells instead of putting a copy of them on the stack will explicitly say so, such as Spelltwine.

January 4, 2017 6:43 a.m.

The above answers are correct, and the reason is that the multiplayer rules only deal with things that are owned or controlled by a player leaving the game. A curse, unless cast by that player onto themselves, is not subject to those rules, so after the aforementioned procedures are handled, the next time a player would get priority, SBAs are checked which see an Aura attached to an illegal object, which causes it to be put into it's owner's graveyard.

January 3, 2017 9:31 a.m.

Decks

Faerie Aggro Draw

Modern BlueScope

SCORE: 15 | 11 COMMENTS | 1483 VIEWS | IN 10 FOLDERS

Flashfire -- Haste'n'Tempo

Modern BlueScope

1 COMMENT | 874 VIEWS

SOI Die Hard

Standard BlueScope

SCORE: 4 | 1 COMMENT | 870 VIEWS | IN 3 FOLDERS

Norin, Chaos Control

Tiny Leaders BlueScope

SCORE: 2 | 3 COMMENTS | 353 VIEWS

Neru of Clan Nel Toth

Commander / EDH BlueScope

96 VIEWS

Cubes

cube chart

The Anti-Cube *P*

BlueScope — 5 months ago

SCORE 0 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 20

Finished Decks 7
Prototype Decks 0
Drafts 0
Playing since Fifth Edition
Avg. deck rating 7.00
T/O Rank 41
Helper Rank 539
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Modern, Limited, Tiny Leaders
Good Card Suggestions 19
Last activity 2 days
Joined 2 years