What happens if Pristine Angel, Concerted Effort, & Empty-Shrine Kannushi/Pledge of Loyalty for a combo?

Asked by BMHKain 6 months ago

Pristine Angel + Concerted Effort + Empty-Shrine Kannushi / Pledge of Loyalty

Do I get protection from Pristine Angel, & even from Colorless from the third part (Even from colorless Artifacts?)? Do I get protection from Creature Types, other Card Types, Multicolor, etc.? Also is there a card in Boros that spreads all this to the Player?

Also, I apologize for asking a similar question not too long ago, but I wanted to be sure that the effects to my creatures (& Potentially, me.) really is legit, & how it works step by step. Thanks anyway! ^_^

Kogarashi says... #1

With the listed cards, your creatures will get flying and protection from all colors and artifacts from Pristine Angel, and protection from colors of permanents you control from Empty-Shrine Kannushi/Pledge of Loyalty (which is redundant with Pristine Angel's "all colors").

Colorless is not a color, so your creatures won't get protection from colorless things. However Pristine Angel will give your creatures protection from artifacts, regardless of whether or not those artifacts are colored.

None of the listed cards will grant protection from any creature types, any card types other than artifacts, or specifically "multicolor," but the protection from all colors will cover multicolored creatures.

None of the listed cards will grant this to you. The only cards I can find in Boros that give you protection of any sort are Runed Halo (specifically named card) and Teferi's Protection (only until your next turn).

Additionally, be aware that using Pristine Angel with Concerted Effort will mean that any auras (other than colorless ones, if they exist) and equipment will "fall off" of your creatures due to the protection.

October 10, 2018 4:53 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

It's worth noting that Pledge of Loyalty and Concerted Effort interact poorly. Concerted Effort will give your creatures protection from white (and maybe other colors) which will make Pledge of Loyalty fall off, making the trigger less useful next turn.

October 10, 2018 9:31 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

And in fact that will happen with any auras you control that grant protection from their own color, such as Flickering Ward or Floating Shield (if you choose white). While these auras contain clauses or rulings that specify that they don't cause themselves to fall off if you choose white, if the enchanted creature gains protection from white in any other way, including Concerted Effort duplicating the protection from white from those auras, they will fall off as a state-based action because the "this effect doesn't cause this enchantment to fall off" clause is not copied over, same as with Pristine Angel's "must be untapped" clause.

This also applies to Spectra Ward. Even though it doesn't cause any auras already on a creature to fall off, you can't add new ones afterward, and Concerted Effort will give the enchanted creature another instance of "protection from all colors," which will make Spectra Ward fall off.

In short, Concerted Effort is basically a non-bo with many protection-granting auras.

October 11, 2018 8:50 a.m.

BMHKain says... #4

Alright, I got some things down:

*Protection from all colors/Artifacts

*Empty-Shrine Kannushi/Pledge of Loyalty are both useless

*Protection from Multicolor (& naturally in this sense, Monocolored)

*No protection from Eldrazi or other Colorless things w/o Artifact Form.

*Aura's Blow.

But I still have some questions left lingering:

  1. Does this mean Protection from (Creature Type) given the colors of such a thing?

  2. Did I get my facts above right, based on what you guys said?

These are still unanswered. I just want these answered, & I'll decide my answer for this. :)

October 11, 2018 10:25 a.m.

Neotrup says... #5

Empty-Shrine Kannushi works, and protection from goblins means protection from goblins, not red. Protection doesn't have to be based on color, there's also protection from instants, protection from lands, protection from a chosen player, and even protection from everything.

October 11, 2018 6:17 p.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #6

Examples of cards with protection that aren't protection from specific colors:

Warren-Scourge Elf - Protection from Goblins (goblins can't block or target it, but other creature types can, even other red creatures)

Emrakul, the Promised End - Protection from instants (you can still point a sorcery or enchantment at it)

Emrakul, the Aeons Torn - Protection from colored spells (you can still target it with abilities or colorless spells)

Horizon Drake - Protection from Lands (lands that turn into creatures can't block or damage it, lands that target with an ability can't target it)

Polis Crusher - Protection from enchantments (no Auras allowed, but non-enchantment spells are fine)

True-Name Nemesis - Protection from a chosen player (that player can't do anything to the Nemesis, but other players can)

Progenitus - Protection from everything (you basically can't do anything to it)

Remember that something with protection can't be:

  1. Damaged by sources with the specified quality (Goblins, lands, everything, etc.)

  2. Enchanted or Equipped by permanents with the specified quality

  3. Blocked by creatures with the specified quality

  4. Targeted by spells with the specified quality, or by abilities from sources of that quality

The quality in question doesn't have to be a color.

October 12, 2018 12:15 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #7

And aside from Neotrup's answer, your other facts seem correct. As long as you're using Pristine Angel and Concerted Effort, you're best off skipping auras and equipment.

October 12, 2018 12:17 a.m.

Please login to comment