Zedruu the Greathearted

Legality

Format Legality
Vintage Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Legacy Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2016 Mythic Rare
MTG: Commander Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Zedruu the Greathearted

Legendary Creature — Minotaur Monk

At the beginning of your upkeep, you gain X life and draw X cards, where X is the number of permanents you own that your opponents control.

Target opponent gains control of target permanent you control.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

2.58 TIX

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Zedruu the Greathearted Discussion

Oloro_Magic on Can I get attacked during ...

1 week ago

Zedruu the Greathearted is the enchanted entity in this case scenario, ownership has no affect on the ability of Invocation of Saint Traft.

From the comprehensive rules:

109.5. The words you and your on an object refer to the objects controller, its would-be controller (if a player is attempting to play, cast, or activate it), or its owner (if it has no controller). For a static ability, this is the current controller of the object its on. For an activated ability, this is the player who activated the ability. For a triggered ability, this is the controller of the object when the ability triggered, unless its a delayed triggered ability. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7df.

603.7d If a spell creates a delayed triggered ability, the source of that delayed triggered ability is that spell. The controller of that delayed triggered ability is the player who controlled that spell as it resolved. #

603.7e If an activated or triggered ability creates a delayed triggered ability, the source of that delayed triggered ability is the same as the source of that other ability. The controller of that delayed triggered ability is the player who controlled that other ability as it resolved. #

603.7f If a static ability generates a replacement effect which causes a delayed triggered ability to be created, the source of that delayed triggered ability is the object with that static ability. The controller of that delayed triggered ability is the same as the controller of that object at the time the replacement effect was applied.

The aura in question gives a triggered ability to the enchanted creature and as the controller of the creature you control the triggered ability without controlling the aura itself. If the aura created the 4/4 instead of giving the ability to the creature then your opponent would control the triggered ability as stated in rule 109.5.

musicmagicmarijuana on Can I get attacked during ...

1 week ago

So if I enchant my Zedruu the Greathearted with Invocation of Saint Traft and then give an opponent control of the enhantment, when I attack with her my opponent will get a tapped 4/4 angel. But it isn't attacking me, correct? Even though the aura specifies tapped and attacking, we ignore the second part because a creature cant attack except on its controllers attack step? Just trying to make sure I understand the 'why' in addition to the interaction itself. Any help on this would be much appreciated. Thanks

------ on Hour of Devastation Spoilers

3 weeks ago

Leave is the bomb for Zedruu the Greathearted decks.

Or with Donate and Illusions of Grandeur

Works like this: cast Illusions, gain 20 life, next turn play Donate or use the Zedruu ability or whatever and give them the bomb and keep 2 mana open, force them to pay 2 mana upkeep because they don't want the 20 damage bomb to explode in their face, end of their turn cast Leave (love the instant speed) and explode the 20 damage in their face while getting Illusions of Grandeur back on your hand so you can cast it again.

Casey4321 on The Deckwatch [Home Base]

3 weeks ago

I love telling good stories and I just got through with another memorable game of EDH so I thought I would share. I was piloting Punch and Judy Raise the Dead my Gisa and Geralf brew I've been playing since Eldritch Moon. The opponents were Zedruu the Greathearted (Pillow Fort shenanigans) and Grenzo, Havoc Raiser (Goblins)

A well timed Noxious Ghoul kept the Goblin Population well in control in spite of a Krenko and a Throne of the God Pharaoh. Remember folks, get your Goblins spayed and neutered.

So it comes down to me and Zedruu Zedruu had Sphere of Safety and Copy Enchantment down as a copy it forced me essentially to find a way around. (Paying 12 per not my idea of a good time.) He passes me Pyromancer's Swath I ditch my hand and top deck... The Scarab God Alright bud...Let's do this! He put the team on his back (Shell?) and carried us to the PROMISELAND! Scry 7 pick one bottom all lands. By the time our opponent drew Rout I was able to use Altar of Dementia to mill them for 70. They gg'ed Point is. He's in.

HarrisonHarry on Zedruu's Chaos

1 month ago

I want to build a EDH group hug deck built around Zedruu the Greathearted that is not quite supposed to win. I will have group hug cards like Ghirapur Orrery and Otherworld Atlas. But I want to create chaos in the game with cards like Goblin Spymaster, Dismiss into Dream, Noble Benefactor, Forced Fruition, Keldon Firebombers, Hive Mind, Rite of the Raging Storm just to name a few, does anyone know of anymore?

Redace878 on How do activated abilities interact ...

2 months ago

Say I have a Zedruu the Greathearted and a Cliffside Lookout. I activate Cliffside Lookout's ability, and while the ability is still on the stack, I activate Zedruu's ability (targeting Cliffside Lookout.) Would my creatures get +1/+1, or would my opponents creatures get +1/+1? I would also like to know if the scenario is the same for things like Oracle of Nectars.

acbooster on How does Celestial Dawn interact ...

2 months ago

Remember to link all cards in your question with double brackets.

Celestial Dawn
Zedruu the Greathearted

You would not have to float any kind of mana beforehand, because of the third ability of Celestial Dawn. It lets you spend white mana as if it were mana of any color, allowing it to work as such.

As far as permanents go, Celestial Dawn only affects permanents you control, so once a permanent leaves your control it will revert to its original color, unless it is in any zone but the battlefield.

oliveoilonyaasscureshemorrhoid on You Wont Need Life Where We Are Going

2 months ago

Ever thought of Zedruu the Greathearted with the same play style? There's also Tajuru Preserver or Sigarda, Host of Herons to get past Lich/ Lich's Tomb, and Kira, Great Glass-Spinner might work too. Maybe abusing Ghave, Guru of Spores's ability with Anointed Procession, Strionic Resonator, etc, but minus the red chaos. Hope this helps!

Load more

Latest Commander