Sword of the Realms

Front:

Halvar, God of Battle  Flip

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Sword of the Realms

Legendary Artifact — Equipment

Equipped creature gets +2/+0 and has vigilance.

Whenever equipped creature dies, return it to its owner’s hand. (Dying is being put into the graveyard from the battlefield. Tokens cease to exist when they leave the battlefield.)

Equip (: Attach this to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery. This enters the battlefield unattached and stays on the battlefield if the creature this card is attached to leaves the battlefield.)

EDH 2 / 2
Sunhome, Fortress of the Legion feature for Weapon X
EDH 0 / 0
Syr Gwyn, Hero of Ashvale feature for New Syr Gwyn

BarfQuackers on Bug Report: Sword of the …

2 months ago

Decided to add Sword of the Realms  Flip to my deck. After adding it, it switches my Commander Sram, Senior Edificer to the main board giving me two copies, 101 cards and Sword of the Realms  Flip doesn't show in the list. When I remove the additional Sram, it completely removes my commander, sets it to 99 cards and SotR still doesn't appear. Works fine in the playtester but as far as the list goes it's completely borked.

Here's the list You are Over-Encumbered

Swebb87 on MDFC graveyard Interaction with quintorius, …

3 months ago

If i have Halvar, God of Battle  Flip in the graveyard, can I target the Sword of the Realms  Flip side of it with Quintorius, Loremaster as a non creature, non land card? I know some effects allow for the land (back side) MDFCs to be played from graveyards but wasn't sure if quintorius would only see the halvar side of the card??

Gidgetimer on Does Liesa return Sword of …

3 months ago

LTB triggers (including "dies" triggers) check the existence of objects right before the triggering event happens. So what Liesa, Forgotten Archangel sees for the purposes of triggering is that an artifact was put into the graveyard. For the same reason something like Disciple of the Vault would trigger when Sword of the Realms  Flip is put into a graveyard, despite it being Halvar, God of Battle  Flip the entire time the card exists in the graveyard.

603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

Quickspell on Does Liesa return Sword of …

3 months ago

I probably can answer this to myself, but I need to make sure.

When Sword of the Realms  Flip is out into a graveyard, it becomes the creature Halvar, God of Battle  Flip again, since that is the face side of the MDFC card.

Since it was an artifact when put into a graveyard, it did not die and therefore Halvar will not be returned with Liesa, Forgotten Archangel, is that correct?

plakjekaas on Oswald Fiddlebender plus Kaldheim Gods?

2 years ago

Transforming Dual-Faced Cards typically have the mana value of the front face (the backside doesn't show a mana value for those) maybe that's where the confusion arose.

The Kaldheim gods and their artifacts, and every other Modal Dual-Faced Card for that matter, have separate costs for the separate sides you can cast. When they're permanents, they only have the mana value of the displayed face.

Oswald Fiddlebender sacrificing a Sword of the Realms won't even register the Halvar, God of Battle  Flip that's printed on the other side, it will have sacrificed an artifact with mana value 2.

Sacrificing Edgar Markov's Coffin will count as an artifact of mana value 4, because it counts the mana value of the front side, Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip.

Neotrup on Chalice of the void vs …

2 years ago

Because Caerwyn mentioned mana value being the cost of the front face, I do feel the need to mention another big exception: On the stack and battlefield the mana value of an Modal Double Face Card (like Halvar, God of Battle  Flip) is the side that is currently up. So Sword of the Realms has a mana value of 2, not 4 when cast as such or on the battlefield. In all other zones it will just be Halvar, God of Battle  Flip and have a mana value of 4. There's also some really niche stuff with TDFCs, but those are never transformed on the stack so it wouldn't interact with Chalice of the Void .

Lord_0f_chaos on How to add custom categories …

3 years ago

So I like to add custom categories into my decks, shows my thinking in the deck. With the modal cards becoming more common I have a question regarding the 2. In one deck I use Halvar, God of Battle  Flip and I would like to denote him and Sword of the Realms in my Commander deck. I would like to denote both halves of the card in different categories which I do now by having all the categories linked to the front card. Now do to commander rules you are only allowed to have 100 cards in the mainboard deck so I can't add a second card for Sword of the Realms . Is there a way to denote the 2 sides but only one card?

Load more