Merieke Ri Berit

Merieke Ri Berit

Legendary Creature — Human

Merieke Ri Berit doesn't untap during your untap step.

: Gain control of target creature as long as you control Merieke Ri Berit. When Merieke Ri Berit leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped, destroy that creature. It can't be regenerated.

Start Commander Deck Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) CompleteWaste
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Merieke Ri Berit Discussion

CamraMaan on Can Glorious Protector help Merieke …

2 months ago

That does help to clear up some of my confusion and misunderstandings... but I'm still not 100% on it all yet. I think I just need to re-read all that a few times and digest it more.

So if I'm understanding it correctly, I can tap Merieke Ri Berit to gain control of a creature, untap her with something before it resolves, tap her to gain control of another creature, then let her tapping resolve to take possession of the two creatures, but before her untap-to-destroy effect resolves I could then tap Whisper, Blood Liturgist and sacrifice the two creatures to reanimate one of my creatures...?

CamraMaan on Can Glorious Protector help Merieke …

2 months ago

I read recently that Merieke Ri Berit can stack stealing creatures with a series of untaps in the mix on the stack (say with Pemmin's Aura ), all before she officially untaps (on the stack) to destroy those creatures. Assuming this is true, can I also use Glorious Protector in this mix to exile all the stolen creatures before Merieke officially untaps, allowing me to permanently bring them all back under my control when Glorious Protector leave the battlefield...? I assume I can, but what would be the proper order of actions to successfully keep the creatures?

Also, all of this relies on the concept that I can untap Merieke before her tap ability resolves, then tap her to take another creature, untap her, tap to take another, etc. But my own logic thinks this has flaws in the process. If I tap her to take a creature, but untap her before it resolves, then I haven't taken possession of the creature yet, right? It must resolve in order for me to actually take possession of their creature, no? If untapping Merieke prevents her tap ability from resolving, and therefore her 'untap-to-destroy' from resolving, then it should also prevent her from taking possession of the creature until it resolves, right? It seems that if she gains control of the creature, and I take possession, then it naturally comes over with her untap trigger stuck to it. And then by untapping her to take another creature, that her untap trigger will then be on the stack, no?

I really want this to all work, but I know I can't explain it all correctly to my playgroup at the moment. Thanks in advance! :)

Named_Tawyny on Interaction between Quicksilver Elemental and …

2 months ago

Merieke Ri Berit 's second ability sets up a delayed trigger, but it is all one ability. Once it begins, it exists independently of it's source.

The words "Merieke Ri Berit" in the ability mean "This card", so they WOULD apply to the Quicksilver Elemental . When the Elemental becomes untapped (even after the end of the turn) the creature taken will be destroyed.

CamraMaan on Interaction between Merieke Ri Berit, …

2 months ago

So I steal my opponent's commander with Merieke Ri Berit , untap her to destroy the commander/creature, then Nightmare Shepherd can in theory exile the commander to copy it as a 1/1. But the wording on Nightmare Shepherd is where I'm stuck... when the creature dies, I can exile it and copy it, but does my opponent get to exile it first, putting it into the command zone, preventing me from copying it...?

CamraMaan on Interaction between Quicksilver Elemental and …

2 months ago

When Quicksilver Elemental gains Merieke Ri Berit 's activated ability, does it keep her name in the ability, or replace it with Quicksilver's name...? Sorry, I'm reading some old rulings, so I'm not sure what today's rules say.

CamraMaan on Interaction between Quicksilver Elemental and …

2 months ago

If I have Merieke Ri Berit on the battlefield, then use Quicksilver Elemental to gain Merieke's abilities until end of turn, then tap it to gain control of an opponent's creature, I understand the Quicksilver Elemental untapping won't affect the creature it took, but will my original Merieke untapping destroy that creature...? It gains the activated ability in total, which includes the untap-destruction clause, but refers specifically to Merieke untapping... but she didn't acquire anything, so.... I'm lost on how the rules will handle all of this.

Ideally, with all the untap-cards in the deck, I can untap and reuse the Quicksilver Elemental to grab as many creatures as possible, without the threat of Merieke's untap-destroy mechanic entering the scheme of things, but I'm not sure it actually avoids her untap-destroy mechanic.

Thanks!

CamraMaan on Planeswalker ability timing question, when …

2 months ago

Simply put, I have Lithoform Engine on the BF, as well as Merieke Ri Berit and a host of creatures that tap to untap her, or tap to do other things, and all of them have been tapped out early in my turn. I also have Jace, Ingenious Mind-Mage on the BF and +1 him to untap all my creatures, then use Lithoform Engine's first ability to copy the activated ability of Jace. My question is if, after the initial untap-round from Jace, I can then tap creatures to use their abilities before the second round of Jace untaps hit? Do I need to sequence it a certain way for it to work, or do planeswalker abilities limit what I can do between the Jace effects...?

CamraMaan on Can I target an untapped …

3 months ago

This regards Dismiss into Dream and Willbreaker 's creature triggers, since it's in my Merieke Ri Berit deck with lots of cards that untap creatures, and I'm hoping I can target my opponent's untapped creatures with cards/creatures that specifically say only "untap" target creature/permanent. Since the cards don't say "untap target tapped creature" I'm assuming I can target them... yes...?

Load more