pie chart

Noble Visions of Dread

Noble

KorApprentice


Description

Introducing Noble: the Format. The combo in this deck is fairly simple; use Vision Charm or Reality Ripple to negate the sacrifice effect of Phyrexian Dreadnought and protect him with cheap blue counter magic and 4x Force of Will as the uncommon. He can drop turn 1 with Lotus Petal, so this is probably going to make him a Ban Target. Comments and suggestions are always appreciated!

Updates

Comments

Zarum says... #1

Can I ask how this negates the trigger?

I haven't played with phasing so i don't know how it works.

April 8, 2012 10:59 p.m.

KorApprentice says... #2

When a permanent is phased out, it is treated as though it does not exist. When Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought's enter the battlefield ability triggers, you cast Vision CharmMTG Card: Vision Charm and phase him out. The charm will resolve first, then you choose to sacrifice the dreadnought for his trigger, but when you try to sacrifice him he will not exist so you cannot sacrifice him. While a permanent is phased out, it is still on the battlefield, it doesn't go anywhere but cannot be interacted with. It doesn't technically enter the battlefield when it phases in, so Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought's ability will not trigger again and it will not have summoning sickness.

April 8, 2012 11:09 p.m.

elbenji says... #3

http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Phasing

It doesn't go into any zones...it kind of just floats until the turn after and so no ETB effects occur.

April 8, 2012 11:10 p.m.

Zarum says... #4

that is insane

April 8, 2012 11:11 p.m.

KorApprentice says... #5

I know, a turn one 12/12 trample is certainly bannable.

April 8, 2012 11:12 p.m.

Zarum says... #6

but doom blade is an option

April 8, 2012 11:12 p.m.

KorApprentice says... #7

DispelMTG Card: Dispel and Force of WillMTG Card: Force of Will say cool story bro. He will phase in during the untap step without using the stack, so by the time they receive priority to use instant speed removal, I will have plenty of mana open for one of those 20 counterspells in the deck.

April 8, 2012 11:17 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #8

He still needs to resolve on the stack before you can Phase him, I thought? You still need to sacrifice those creatures don't you then you can Phase him with no ill effects?

I am assuming this is the case or we would see more of this play in Legacy/Vintage.

April 8, 2012 11:39 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #9

Sidenote, is BatterskullMTG Card: Batterskull just a reanimated shell or maybe a makeshift JuggernautMTG Card: Juggernaut out of a shell of a Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought?

April 8, 2012 11:50 p.m.

KorApprentice says... #10

Minousmancer, here are the relevant ruling from the MTG Comprehensive Rulebook:

502.1. First, all phased-in permanents with phasing that the active player controls phase out, and all phased-out permanents that the active player controlled when they phased out phase in. This all happens simultaneously. This turn-based action doesnt use the stack. See rule 702.24, Phasing.

702.24b If a permanent phases out, its status changes to phased out. Except for rules and effects that specifically mention phased-out permanents, a phased-out permanent is treated as though it does not exist. It cant affect or be affected by anything else in the game.

You have to sacrifice Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought because you cannot sacrifice enough creatures who's power adds up to 12. However, Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought will be safely phased out and cannot be affected by anything else in the game, including a forced sacrifice.

April 8, 2012 11:55 p.m.

elbenji says... #11

Checked the ruling, Phasing stops ETB abilities to work.

April 8, 2012 11:55 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #12

Well that's just broken, sad, I was looking forward to playing with my old friend :(

April 9, 2012 midnight

KorApprentice says... #13

Yeah, I'm sorry, I saw your dreadnought deck and I was thinking that this would be a better way to play him. I wasn't really trying to get him banned at first :(

April 9, 2012 12:07 a.m.

Minousmancer says... #14

A 12/12 for (1) is broken but the limit they put on it was nice, phasing tis' lame(well at least I'm annoyed with it at the moment).

April 9, 2012 12:16 a.m.

KorApprentice says... #15

It's extremely ironic to me that the two were introduced in the same block, but Wizards says they try not to appease combo players. Sneaky sneaky.

April 9, 2012 12:18 a.m.

graft says... #16

Makes me wish Mental MisstepMTG Card: Mental Misstep was common. * Le sigh *. Unless I think of a reasonable answer to this combo before my next update/post, Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought will be banned. Thanks Kor!

April 9, 2012 1:10 p.m.

Minousmancer says... #17

graft if you Google Image search Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought, someone Photoshopped one into the artwork of Mental MisstepMTG Card: Mental Misstep, I thought it was kinda cool.

April 9, 2012 3:28 p.m.

Please login to comment




Compare to inventory
Date added 5 years
Last updated 5 years
Legality

This deck is Noble legal.

Cards 61
Avg. CMC 1.77
Views 1749