Reality Ripple

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Mirage (MIR) Common

Combos Browse all

Reality Ripple

Instant

Target artifact, creature, or land phases out.

Reality Ripple Discussion

Yesterday on What is the point of ...

6 days ago

702.25f When a permanent phases out, any Auras, Equipment, or Fortifications attached to that permanent phase out at the same time. This alternate way of phasing out is known as phasing out “indirectly.” An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification that phased out indirectly won’t phase in by itself, but instead phases in along with the permanent it’s attached to.

702.25g If an object would simultaneously phase out directly and indirectly, it just phases out indirectly.

The rules also specifically mention that an Aura or Equipment or Fortification that directly phases out will phase back in attached to what it was originally attached to, if that object is still on the battlefield. So I'm not sure what the purpose of this specific distinction is. Is it required because of the case that; if a creature would phase in at the same time as an attached Equipment would phase in, and both of those permanents had directly phased out, the Equipment is unable to phase in attached to the creature?

I'll make an example here. An Equipment (let's say Sword of Sinew and Steel , though it's not relevant) is attached to a Crystal Golem , and a Reality Ripple resolves targeting the Sword and causing it to directly phase out. And the end of that turn, the Crystal Golem phases out via its triggered ability. At the beginning of your next untap step, both the Sword and the Crystal Golem attempt to phase in. Is the Sword still attached to the Golem when they do?

If they do both enter attached, then in which scenario does it ever matter whether a permanent is directly or indirectly phased out?

ClockworkSwordfish on [Blue Phasing] I Disappear

8 months ago

If you want to phase your opponent's stuff out, a way to really make it hurt is by throwing in Sands of Time . Permanents phase in or out during the untap step, meaning if a card's phased out and you skip the untap step, then it will never come back!

Problem is, if there's no untap step, then cards with phasing aren't phasing out either, so you need a way to manually move them. Reality Ripple is an option in-colour, but the real trick is to use Equipoise . Keep your board slim, and your opponent's creatures, artifact and even lands will phase out en masse.

MushroomKing30 on One Punch Man, Okaun Voltron

11 months ago

It’s seems we’re going both the same route in which we don’t want every coinflip card in our okaun/zndrsplt decks, tbh they’re quite bad with a few exceptions, such as those instant speed once, Desperate Gambit, Aleatory, Chaotic Strike, since you can use them as combit tricks to give you that one last flip for the KO. I’m also surprised you included tenza, but not Godo, Bandit Warlord himself. Godo (and basically any other extra combat creature) seems really good with these two, plus he can tutor any equipment i.e. greaves. I like keys to the city, i never thought about it but you actually end up with a lot of cards in your hand once you get 3 or more flips with zndrsplt, that would otherwise go to waste and just discarded at end of turn. Also, i would highly recommend Vanishing and Reality Ripple for any blue voltron commander, as phasing out is op, it’s better than hexproof and indestructable combined!

chosenone124 on Masterful Ninja and Phasing

1 year ago

I reveal Masterful Ninja from my hand and attack with it. My opponent Reality Ripples it. Can I cast it again since it is still in my hand?

Tyrant-Thanatos on Animate Library and Phasing

1 year ago

Honestly it's essentially the same thing. We just have to remember that a card and the object it represents are two entirely separate things. If I control a Tarmogoyf and you cast a Reality Ripple on it, it's not as if the physical card itself doesn't exist, just the goyf that the card represents doesn't exist. In the case of Animate Library, just because the creature that your library is representing is phased out, doesn't mean the cards in your library are phased out. Cards don't phase, objects do, permanents, specifically. And because MTG cards don't refer to permanent cards that are on the battlefield, but rather the permanents themselves, this is something that in most practical application, makes no difference.

chosenone124 on Animate Library and Phasing

1 year ago

My opponent uses Animate Library on their library. I Reality Ripple it on my opponent's upkeep.

According to 702.25b If a permanent phases out, its status changes to phased out. Except for rules and effects that specifically mention phased-out permanents, a phased-out permanent is treated as though it does not exist.

Since rule 120.1 does not specifically mention phased-out permanents, does that mean my opponent cannot draw a card from their library and loses the game?

Bringiton4 on Red/Blue Dragons

1 year ago

I would take Flash and Reality Ripple out and replace with 4x Lightning Bolt and 1x Seething Song

Load more

No data for this card yet.