Oracle of Bones
Creature — Minotaur Shaman
Tribute 2 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may place two +1/+1 counters on it.)
When Oracle of Bones enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, you may cast an instant or sorcery card from your hand without paying its mana cost.
Printings View all
|Born of the Gods (BNG)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Latest Decks as Commander
Oracle of Bones Discussion
2 months ago
The Tribute ability isn't an ETB trigger. It is a replacement effect. All abilities that say "[This thing] enters as", "As [something] enters", or "[This thing] enters with" are all replacement effects. The reminder text for Tribute on Oracle of Bones states that the Tribute is made as the Oracle enters the battlefield. Because of this, Panharmonicon doesn't affect Tribute.
Hope this helps!!
2 months ago
With the new Sethron legendary I've been looking at minotaurs and the possibility of adding in Panharmonicon for a giggle.
To my knowledge (correct me if I'm wrong and the rest can be ignored), Panharmonicon can double the triggers of something entering (such as if Fanatic of Mogis etb's with Pan on the field, you get two etb triggers) but I'm unsure on how the Tribute on Oracle of Bones would work.
Would I get:
- One trigger for an opponent to put 2 counters on, then get to play 2 instants/soceries if tribute wasn't paid
- One trigger for an opponent to put 2 counters on, then get to play 1 instant/sorcery for each instance of tribute wasn't paid
- Neither of the above, which if so, can someone kindly explain the result
9 months ago
funnily enough I happened to receive 4x Oracle of Bones the other day (a seller used them to pad out/protect other cards i bought).
that thing would indeed be awesome, if it weren't 5cmc... sad :(
but maybe running 1 copy to fetch with Deathbellow War Cry is worth thinking about?
11 months ago
I am thinking about making another deck that focuses on using Minotaur shamans such as Oracle of Bones , then using Repeated Reverberation with various lightning-related spells. Another options could be Reverberate , Reversal of Fortune and Pyromancer Ascension .
1 year ago
When determining the total cost of a spell in order to cast it, rule 601.2e says (just the relevant portion):
The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions.
Your opponent would need to pay the additional for the Shock , even though they get the alternative cost of "without paying its mana cost."
1 year ago
Kopala, Warden of Waves on the board, my opponent plays Oracle of Bones , tribute is not paid for Oracle of Bones , opponent has 1 untapped land and wants to cast Shock on a merfolk... I feel as though free or zero cast spell or not, if my merfolk is being targeted he has to pay the 2... Am i wrong? Please cite rulings.
2 years ago
GoblinsBeatElves, I use Oracle of Bones to combo with Dictate of the Twin Gods, that allows me to do double dmg with everything i have and the best combo is with Flurry of Horns, allowing me to put 3 hasty minotaurs in field for only 3 mana, most of the time.
2 years ago
You’re welcome. The deck looks better, so nice job on that. I do have one question, however. How is Oracle of Bones performing for you? It seems like it would be more in place of a deck with instants/sorceries like Apex of Power and other super expensive spells. I can see how it would sort of work in this deck, being either a 3/1 hasty creature that gets to save 2 or 3 mana on an instant, or a 5/3 hasty creature, so I don’t know.