Skelly Mannder

Custom Cards forum

Posted on Aug. 3, 2022, 12:18 a.m. by Stardragon

A simple Skelly commander with some synergy with self mill strategies

also worked hard to make the flavor text both solemn and forlorn

Woud have a pic but i'm have trouble with the MTG.Design url pic up load thing

TypicalTimmy says... #2


Already banned, I see ;p

Hope my link advice works.

August 3, 2022 12:22 a.m.

Stardragon says... #3

TypicalTimmy the card showed up in the preview so IDK why it not now

August 3, 2022 12:31 a.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #4

Paste the URL and I'll link it ^_^

August 3, 2022 12:45 a.m.

Stardragon says... #5


August 3, 2022 1:54 a.m. Edited.

TypicalTimmy says... #6

King of Marrow

August 3, 2022 2:12 a.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #7

August 3, 2022 3:49 a.m.

legendofa says... #8

Beautiful. I might have to proxy this up. It's got just about everything I want. Good times with Conspiracy, Golgari Grave-Troll, and a discard outlet.

August 3, 2022 4:04 a.m.

Stardragon says... #9

TypicalTimmy Thank you I don't what i did wrong

August 3, 2022 12:43 p.m.

legendofa says... #10

Further tweaking will be required, and it probably won't see live play (heavily proxied) for a while, but here's my first draft.

What the Silent King Told Me

Commander: Rule 0* legendofa


First impressions are that Asceticism and Maskwood Nexus are vicious with this guy. Earsplitting Rats with Pestilence and a dredger dumps your deck fast.

August 4, 2022 2:11 a.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #11

I would have a rules question pertaining to his current wording.

When a creature "regenerates", what actually happens is a "regeneration shield" is placed on that permanent. It waits to see if that creature would die. If it does die, it instead remains on the battlefield, all damage marked upon it is removed, and it is tapped if it isn't already tapped. Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, it is removed from combat.

So, when we say a creature "regenerates", are we specifically looking toward when the regeneration shield is activated and dying is prevented, or are we speaking about whenever that shield is implemented in the first place?

Because I could see some confusion with someone going;

  • "I pay BBBBBBBB and regenerate this Skeleton 8 times, so I mill 16 and draw 8 cards."

Maybe reword it as;

  • "Whenever a creature you control regenerates for the first time each turn (...)"?
August 4, 2022 3:20 a.m. Edited.

legendofa says... #12

I believe the regeneration happens when the "shield" actually gets used to prevent a creature from dying. Before that, it's just setting up a potential replacement effect. The actual regeneration is the replacement effect in action.

Paying just means when the creature dies, you choose one of the eight replacement effects to resolve. It only regenerates once, so King of Marrow only triggers once.

Now, if you spread those eight s among eight creatures, you got yourself some fun times.

August 4, 2022 3:29 a.m.

legendofa says... #13

If you expect the creature to die eight times in rapid succession, you can activate the regeneration ability before each death. Still, it needs to use one shield before it's worth it to set up another.

August 4, 2022 3:31 a.m.

Stardragon says... #14

TypicalTimmy I thought regenerate work like this. Creature dies pay the regenerate cost it returns to the battlefield tapped. I didn't know about this regen "shield" stuff

August 4, 2022 1:38 p.m. Edited.

TypicalTimmy says... #15

You must have the regeneration "shield" on the creature prior to it dying.

Think of it more like this:

: Put a regeneration counter on target Skeleton you control. It has "Remove a regeneration counter: The next time this creature would die this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. Remove it from combat."

August 4, 2022 1:58 p.m.

Stardragon says... #16

TypicalTimmy oh I see... I guess it does need a little rewording but idk how to reword it hmmm

August 4, 2022 2:13 p.m.

legendofa says... #17

Stardragon The wording's fine as is. A regenerating creature doesn't leave the battlefield or change zones. It just sits there and refuses to die.

If this changes how you want the card to work, then yeah, it's going to need tweaking. As it stands now, though, it's complete and correct.

August 4, 2022 3:07 p.m.

TypicalTimmy says... #18

I also need to make a correction. When I said that a creature whose toughness is reduced to zero, a la -X/-X, it's complicated.

It does "die", because "dying" is a term meant to denote moving from the battlefield, specifically, to the graveyard, specifically.

When toughness is reduced to 0, be it through combat damage, non-combat damage, or -X/-X, the creature does in fact die.

The difference here is that a creature who dies thanks to combat damage or noncombat damage is also "destroyed".

Destroyed is prevented with indestructible.

But you do not "destroy" a creature with a spell such as Death Wind. This is why a card such as Heliod, God of the Sun can die to a Death Wind but not a Murder.

The point here is that there becomes a little bit of confusion as to how these all interaction with Regenerate.

If a creature was hit by a Terminate or a Lightning Bolt or blocked by a huge 7/7, it would have either been outright Destroyed, sustained lethal noncombat damage, or been dealt lethal combat damage.

It dies.

Regenerate then says;

  • "Wooah there partner! Just one darn tootin' second here! You can't go to the graveyard just yet. Get that damage outta here, and bingo bango bongo your ass is tapped."

Problem is, -X/-X isn't damage.

It isn't removed.

So it's toughness is still zero.

So the next time state based actions occur, if it still has Toughness 0, to the graveyard it goes.

August 4, 2022 3:25 p.m.

Stardragon says... #19

legendofa if the wording fine than there no as I don't really want to change how the card works i like as is.

August 4, 2022 10:42 p.m.

Please login to comment