Edgar Markov's Coffin


Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip

Combos Browse all Suggest



Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Brawl Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Edgar Markov's Coffin

Legendary Artifact

At the beginning of your upkeep, create a 1/1 white and black Vampire creature token with lifelink and put a bloodline counter on this. Then if there are three or more bloodline counters on this, remove those counters and transform this.

Neotrup on How does Edgar, Charmed Groom …

2 years ago

Assuming Infinite Reflection is still enchanting Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip, the creatures will return with their back face up as Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip. They will not be Edgar Markov's Coffin because Infinite Reflection is still making them enter as copies of the creature Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip, not as an actual copy of the card. If they're instructed to transform by some other means, you'll flip the card over, but they'll still be copying Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip.

If Infinite Reflection is no longer in play, the creatures will return on their back face, not copying anything, so as Lord of Lineage and Angelic Enforcer as @Polaris mentioned.

If the transforming double face card isn't a creature on the back side, it will return as the back side regardless of whether Infinite Reflection is still in play, such as Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip returning as Liliana, Defiant Necromancer or Golden Guardian  Flip returning as Gold-Forge Garrison. In the case of the card returning as an aura (such as Faithbound Judge  Flip or Binding Geist  Flip returning as Sinner's Judgment or Spectral Binding) you get to choose the object the aura enchants, and doing so does not target so you can enchant an object with Shroud or Hexproof.

plakjekaas on Oswald Fiddlebender plus Kaldheim Gods?

2 years ago

Transforming Dual-Faced Cards typically have the mana value of the front face (the backside doesn't show a mana value for those) maybe that's where the confusion arose.

The Kaldheim gods and their artifacts, and every other Modal Dual-Faced Card for that matter, have separate costs for the separate sides you can cast. When they're permanents, they only have the mana value of the displayed face.

Oswald Fiddlebender sacrificing a Sword of the Realms won't even register the Halvar, God of Battle  Flip that's printed on the other side, it will have sacrificed an artifact with mana value 2.

Sacrificing Edgar Markov's Coffin will count as an artifact of mana value 4, because it counts the mana value of the front side, Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip.