How does Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip interact with Infinite Reflection and transform creatures?

Asked by marboso 2 years ago

I know that if a card without transform becomes a copy and enters transformed it doesn't enter at all. But I'm not sure what happens with creatures with transform like Bloodline Keeper  Flip or Enduring Angel  Flip.

Polaris says... #1

If a transforming double-faced card is instructed to transform, it will, unless it can't for some reason (like a daybound/nightbound card). Bloodline Keeper  Flip and Enduring Angel  Flip as copies of Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip will come back into play as their back sides (Lord of Lineage and Angelic Enforcer), regardless of what side they were on when they became copies of Edgar.

December 5, 2021 6:12 p.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

Assuming Infinite Reflection is still enchanting Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip, the creatures will return with their back face up as Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip. They will not be Edgar Markov's Coffin because Infinite Reflection is still making them enter as copies of the creature Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip, not as an actual copy of the card. If they're instructed to transform by some other means, you'll flip the card over, but they'll still be copying Edgar, Charmed Groom  Flip.

If Infinite Reflection is no longer in play, the creatures will return on their back face, not copying anything, so as Lord of Lineage and Angelic Enforcer as @Polaris mentioned.

If the transforming double face card isn't a creature on the back side, it will return as the back side regardless of whether Infinite Reflection is still in play, such as Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip returning as Liliana, Defiant Necromancer or Golden Guardian  Flip returning as Gold-Forge Garrison. In the case of the card returning as an aura (such as Faithbound Judge  Flip or Binding Geist  Flip returning as Sinner's Judgment or Spectral Binding) you get to choose the object the aura enchants, and doing so does not target so you can enchant an object with Shroud or Hexproof.

December 5, 2021 8:11 p.m.

Polaris says... #3

Ah, my bad. I read too fast and took Infinite Reflection as an instant, not an Aura.

December 5, 2021 10:09 p.m.

Caerwyn says... #4

In the future, please remember to hit the green "Mark as Answer" button to indicate your question has been resolved. Since this question has been answered for several days without any follow-ups, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

December 10, 2021 10:10 p.m.

Please login to comment