When is a creature targeted? (Willbreaker)

Asked by wanus88 3 years ago

Im about to play Willbreaker in a deck but im not sure when a creature is targeted.

Say I cast Refocus on an enemy creature.

Is that creature targeted when I announce it as a target? Mainly wondering if a creature has been targeted if refocus gets countered.

Although I'm pretty sure it isn't, Id figure i'd check :)

nobu_the_bard says... #1

Generally, if the spell or ability uses the word target, it's targetted. If it doesn't, it's not.

Refocus is targetted.

Devour Flesh targets a player. They "choose" a creature; it doesn't target the creature they choose.

Wrath of God doesn't target anything. Vandalblast only targets if cast normally; if overloaded, it doesn't target.

Edit: Oh. Willbreaker will only break the effect that caused him to trigger (ie cause it to be countered) if his ability causes the creature to become an invalid target. For example, an ability that has "target creature an opponent controls" was on the stack, and now the creature is controlled by you, it will be countered when it tries to resolve on an invalid target.

July 22, 2015 2:17 p.m. Edited.

Slycne says... #2

  • Mainly wondering if a creature has been targeted if refocus gets countered.

Willbreaker's ability doesn't care whether the spell or ability resolves. So yes, if you cast Refocus targeting an opponents creature, Willbreaker's ability is added to the stack. Willbreaker ability resolves and then the original Refocus then tries to resolve. Your opponent can Counterspell Refocus, but it won't stop Willbreaker's ability.

July 22, 2015 2:36 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... #3

Willbreaker triggers when the creature is targeted, and targeting is part of the casting process so it triggers when the spell is cast, not when the spell resolves. This means that even if Refocus is countered with Counterspell or effectively countered by removing all targets by giving them hexproof or some similar protection Willbreaker's trigger will still go on the stack and resolve.

July 22, 2015 2:39 p.m.

wanus88 says... #4

nobu_the_bard, Slycne, FancyTuesday

Thanks all for the excellent answers and the addition explanations :)

Based on what nobu_the_bard said in his edit. What happens in a Willbreaker Combo with Quiet Contemplation or Citadel Siege?

Do I get those creatures tapped on my side?

PS: the deck im referring to is Mind Control

July 22, 2015 5:54 p.m.

Slycne says... Accepted answer #5

wanus88 Because Quiet Contemplation and Citadel Siege target creatures an opponent controls, it's the same outcome nobu_the_bard mentioned. By the time Quiet Contemplation or Citadel Siege's ability is trying to resolve Willbreaker has already taken control of them. So they are no longer legal targets for those abilities and they will be countered.

July 22, 2015 6:03 p.m.

wanus88 says... #6

Bah, can't mark multiple answers :(

But thanks once again :)

July 22, 2015 6:11 p.m. Edited.

jubale says... #7

Add on to this, I think this works: i control Willbreaker. I cast Send to Sleep on their creature. Willbreaker trigger goes onto stack . They cast Gods Willing pro-blue. Now creature has problue and Willbreaker trigger resolves. Because Willbreaker doesn't target (DEBT), I still get the creature. Next Send to Sleep fizzles because Pro-blue qnd it targets.

August 28, 2015 11:21 a.m.

jubale says... #8

August 28, 2015 11:23 a.m.

This discussion has been closed