does basalt ravagers ability count creatures that enter the battlefield with basalt ravager?

Asked by brutality420 1 month ago

basalt ravager states that when it enters the battlefield it deals x damage to any target where x is the greatest number of creatures that have a creature type in common, but if it enters the battlefield with multiple other creatures in the stack at the exact same time due to a card ability, do the other creatures count in the type check? would the creatures that came into play with basalt ravager count towards his ability damage if applicable?? i cannot find any rulings on this and its really important for a combo im trying to run. thank you and i hope others benefit from this as much as i will.

Neotrup says... #1

The creatures will come into play, then Basalt Ravager 's trigger will be put on the stack and you'll choose a target. Each player will get priority and have a chance to cast spells or activate abilities, if now player does (or once those spells and abilities resolve), Basalt Ravager 's ability will resolve and at that point you'll count the number of creatures you control that share a type. This means that, yes, it will count the creatures that entered with it, but won't count any creatures that die before the ability resolves.

April 8, 2021 10:04 p.m.

Polaris says... Accepted answer #2

I'm not sure exactly what kind of situation you mean when you say "on the stack at the same time," so here are some examples:

  • You cast a big creature with cascade and cascade into Basalt Ravager . Basalt Ravager will resolve, enter play, and trigger while the cascade creature is still on the stack, so the big creature won't be counted.
  • You cast Basalt Ravager, and when it comes into play you respond to its ability by casting Merfolk Trickster . Merfolk Trickster will resolve and enter play, and it will count for Basalt Ravager's ability.
  • You cast Basalt Ravager and respond with Merfolk Trickster. This works the same as the last example.
  • You cast Genesis Ultimatum and flip Basalt Ravager plus two other creatures. They will all come into play together, and then Basalt Ravager will trigger and see all of them.
  • You cast Emergent Ultimatum and get to cast Basalt Ravager and another creature from it. You pick the order they go on the stack, and Basalt Ravager has to be cast first (so it resolves second) or the other creature won't be in play when the triggered ability happens.
April 9, 2021 12:51 a.m.

brutality420 says... #3

Let's say you had a way to bring out literally every creature in your library at once

April 9, 2021 2:45 p.m.

Neotrup says... #4

As Polaris pointed out, it depends what exactly you mean by that and if they're actually entering at the same time. If you copied Finale of Devastation an infinite number of times, they'll enter sequentially and Basalt Ravager will only see the ones that entered before it. If you're getting all your creatures as the result of Warp World it'll see all of them. That said, the damage is based on the total number that share a type, not just the total number. Also, your opponent will have a chance to respond, so they could cast something like Rout so that 0 damage is dealt.

April 9, 2021 3:20 p.m.

Yesterday says... #5

Maskwood Nexus & The World Tree has them enter at the same time.

Creatures entering the battlefield at the same time see each other entering the battlefield, as creatures dying at the same time see each other dying.

April 10, 2021 12:15 a.m.

In the future, you can link to cards by doing a little something like this:

[[Basalt Ravager]]

That becomes Basalt Ravager , and ergo we can all see the card(s) you're referring to.

All this and more can be found in the "Formatting tips" down below the comment box.

Thanks!

April 13, 2021 2:02 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #7

brutality420: Answers to your question have been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any further follow-ups or corrections to be made, I marked one as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future, you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel best answers your question.

Also for the future: It's best to give examples with specific cards when asking about how certain kinds of effects interact. As you've seen in the discussion here, sometimes the answer can change based on the particular ways different cards work.

April 16, 2021 9:03 a.m.

Please login to comment