Balance

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
MTGO Legal
Vanguard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Eternal Masters (EMA) Mythic Rare
Vintage Masters (VMA) Mythic Rare
Masters Edition IV (ME4) Rare
From the Vault: Exiled (V09) Mythic Rare
Fourth Edition (4ED) Rare
Revised Edition (3ED) Rare
Unlimited Edition (2ED) Rare
Collector's Edition (CED) Rare
International Collector's Edition (CEI) Rare
Limited Edition Beta (LEB) Rare
Limited Edition Alpha (LEA) Rare
Promo Set (000) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Balance

Sorcery

Each player chooses a number of lands he or she controls equal to the number of lands controlled by the player who controls the fewest, then sacrifices the rest. Players discard cards and sacrifice creatures the same way.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

EMA

V09

4ED

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Balance Discussion

felipe3142 on PĆ³ques

1 month ago

Erich_Zann,The only card that withstood the test in WB was Vindicate. It has been good to get rid of Planeswalkers, enchantments and artifacts that eventually slip through the disruption and get on the battlefield. Black has a hard time dealing with noncreature/nonland permanents and I've always hated diverting mana from the disruption to cast things like Ratchet Bomb early on to start stacking counters.

Lingering Souls is never worth casting. Only later on the game I would have spare mana to get two tokens from the Flashback. It would work if you wanted to be more aggressive rather than focusing 100% on control. Nether Spirit has proven his superiority, I can get him going as soon as turn two and start swinging for damage faster.

I would still keep Innocent Blood over Swords to Plowshares in the Maindeck because of stuff like True-Name Nemesis and Leovold, Emissary of Trest. So there is even less room for Swords in the Sidedeck, it would be too much single creature removal.

And, dude, Balance would be so nice...

Neotrup on Will my opponents have to ...

3 months ago

If you cast Balance without responding first, then none of your opponents respond, Balance resolves. You don't get a chance to cast Teferi's Response because you already passed up that opportunity. You'll want to say along the lines of "Casting Balance and while holding priority casting Teferi's Response" because usually if you cast a spell/activate an ability it's assumed you pass priority unless you state otherwise. Floating the mana and casting spells one at a time is typically a safer strategy because, even though your opponents will suspect your up to something when you cast a Teferi's Response on your own turn while floating mana, you don't open yourself up as much to getting blown out by counterspells or other responses.

Rhadamanthus on Will my opponents have to ...

3 months ago

Yes, this works. The game ignores phased-out permanents completely when making calculations and comparisons for any effect, including Balance.

Note that they aren't treated as "exiled". Rather, as the reminder text says, they're treated as if they don't exist. This is actually an important distinction to make since there are effects in the game that specifically care about exiled cards (for example, the Eldrazi Processors from BfZ block).

Neotrup on Will my opponents have to ...

3 months ago

You won't be considered to control any permanents, so each other player will have to sacrifice all lands and creatures. Note that you have to respond first, not last however. You can also float the mana required to cast both spells, resolve Teferi's Protection, then cast Balance.

Dreykon on Will my opponents have to ...

3 months ago

If I cast Balance, assuming no one else responds, I respond with Teferi's Protection. Once my permanents are phased out Balance resolves. Do I still control any lands or creature? or are they treated as exiled? therefor my opponents have to sacrifice all their lands and creatures.

HelixSnapHelix on Ruhan of the Fomori

3 months ago

Balance is legal in the classic french duel commander which is what my local tournaments go by.

JaceTheSwagSculptor on Ruhan of the Fomori

3 months ago

Unless your playgroup has house rules that allow you to use banned cards, then I would suggest cutting Balance for Cataclysmic Gearhulk.

Load more