Shrouds limits

Asked by ToastyCandy7 13 years ago

Does Reverse damage work on a creature with Whisper silk cloak on them?

metalmagic says... #1

Reverse damage? Elaborate what you mean by 'reverse damage,' and then I, or someone else, should be able to help.

January 1, 2012 12:29 a.m.

WorkAround says... #2

A creature with shroud can't be the target of spells or abilities. Any card that says target, or enchant will not work on a creature with shroud.

If you mean remove x +1 counters when the creature is delt damage then yes you still remove them.

January 1, 2012 1:17 a.m.

bcurran says... #3

I'm not sure what you mean by "Reverse Damage", but I will outline what is covered by shroud, and you should be able to answer the question from there.

An instance of Shroud on a permanent means "This permanent can't be the target of spells or abilities."

In order for a spell or ability to target, it must either:

1) Specifically use the word "target" in its text, for example, Swords to Plowshares targets a creature, Force of Will targets a spell on the stack, and Vindicate targets a permanent; or

2) Be an Aura spell on the stack, which targets the permanent that it will be attached to when in comes into play, for example, Spreading Seas targets a land, and Splinter Twin targets a creature. Note that Auras only target when they are cast as spells. Auras put directly onto the battlefield, say, returned by Sun Titan , do not target. You can enchant a Sphinx of Jwar Isle with Pacifism by putting it into play with Open the Vaults , but not by actually casting the Pacifism .

Anything that does not meet either of the two above options does not target in the rules sense, and is unaffected by shroud, for example, the copy effect of Phyrexian Metamorph or the triggered ability of Sundering Titan . The following rule is relevant:

114.9a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesnt make that object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the word target in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, its not a target.

So, whatever you mean by "Reverse Damage," you should be able to answer your question based on this response.

January 1, 2012 1:37 a.m.

BadumPsh says... #4

To clarify, I believe he means the white instant, Reverse Damage .

January 1, 2012 1:51 a.m.

bcurran says... Accepted answer #5

I've actually never seen that card before. For future reference, you get card links by enclosing the name in a double set of [ ].

So the answer is, of course, yes it does work on a creature with shroud. The word target does not appear in the text of Reverse Damage .

January 1, 2012 1:57 a.m.

This discussion has been closed