Koma, Cosmos Serpernt Rules & Interactions

Asked by Samus_Saran 4 years ago

Koma, Cosmos Serpent

  1. The First Abillity doesnt stop the Effect of a Permanent if a Opponent activate it as a response? Or they activate something, so in response with Koma the Effect couldnt be stopped? Then for what ist the first Abillity good on Koma? Can u give me some Examples (better all detailed Examples)? I know Planeswalkers can be stopped I'm right?

  2. If i have 2 Copys of Koma and someone wanna Boardwipe all Creatures, can I use the Second Abillity of 1 Koma to give every Koma Indestructible? Or must I Sacrifice for each Koma separately? Because there stand no Target its say only a Cardname, so I think all Komas getting it?

Polaris says... #1

  1. There are quite a few uses for this ability. Planeswalkers are definitely one, but there are also tons of cards with situational abilities or ones that want to be responding to other things. For example, sacrifice decks will run things like Viscera Seer to be able to sacrifice creatures in response to removal to get the correct death triggers. You can also use it on, say, Mother of Runes to get a removal spell through; even if they activate her on the creature you're trying to remove you can just cast your Pit Fight or whatever in response.
June 27, 2021 10:38 a.m.

Polaris says... Accepted answer #2

  1. No. When a card uses its own name, it means "this card," not "cards named this." Each Koma would need to be protected by its own activation.

As a side note, normally you can't have two copies of Koma, Cosmos Serpent in play. Having multiple legendary permanents with the same name under your control forces you to sacrifice until there's only one of them. The only way you can do it is with things like Spark Double or Double Major that make nonlegendary copies.

June 27, 2021 10:47 a.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Another way the first mode can be useful is to stop abilities with timing restrictions. Just like how it stops planeswalker abilities, it can be used to stop something like Pyre of Heroes that cannot be activated in response. Typically you'll want to activate Koma, Cosmos Serpent during their upkeep for this type of use.

I also wanted to add to what Polaris said regarding the legend rule. Beyond making a non-legendary copy you can also ignore the rule entirely with effects like Mirror Gallery or Sakashima of a Thousand Faces.

June 27, 2021 1:01 p.m.

Please login to comment